We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Garden of Eden.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Zanzibari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Zanzibari to your Saves list
The Zanzibari
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi Road, Nungwi 10437, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Garden of Eden.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the zanzibari Hotel a couple of weeks ago after our fabulous ' Secret Tanzania ' safari . The safari was wonderful but our stay at this hotel was the 'icing on the cake' .
we were very lucky to be upgraded to our very own piece of paradise , a two story house with a garden with plunge pool and backing right onto the beach !!

it was a special holiday for us as it was our Golden Aniversary . The staff Mr Rashheed , Paulo and zvisori ( garden expert ) and all the staff including Rosie( she left little messages with flower petals on our bed ) and Messanger were SO friendly , nothing was too much trouble .
The food was to die for , so special . Wonderful cocktails every evening .

We enjoyed a nice walk along the beach to the village nearby , watching with interest the women of the village walking far out at low tide to collect squid which they carried in buckets on their heads , singing as they went ,
it was very hard to say goodbye and we hope to return .
Thankyou the staff of the zanzibari for a wonderful experience .
Mike and Pat A

Room Tip: all rooms lovely , the views pf the garden and sea are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    35
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
112
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
worcs
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

firstly let me emphasize the good points.The hotel in very nicely set and the staff are friendly and no doubt try there best ) seemingly with very little training.They dont speak very good english and service takes forever.Now for the problems.We were not met on arrival at the airport as arranged and had to take a taxi.The food is quite nicely cooked but mostly anglicised and very bland whereas we wanted local .there is no choice except with the main course.They are absolutely incapable of serving beer or wine cold ( or even cool ) yet everywhere on the beach serves at the right temperature.The cocktail list offers many alternatives so on the first night we tried two.They were a joke!!The first was almost pure lime juice ( could take the enamel off your teeth,and the other had a complete soda water added to it instead of a splash.The rooms are not at all bad but water pressure is very low and only a dribble comes out of the taps...that is...until the second night when the tap exploded off the wall and water cascaded all over shoes and medicines and rapidly flooded the bathroom.In this emergency I looked for the phone ( then discovered the rooms dont have them.!!) Dressed quickly and rushed to get the duty manager ( in the 5 days we were there I saw the manager Paolo for the sum total of circa 1 minute (( to arrange a trip to stone town which they seemingly forgot about the next day)) Any way eventually the flood was fixed and I explained to Rashid that we had suffered damages to clothes and medicines.No response either then or on departure when I mentioned it again.( about £200 of damage)The next day we thought we would have a shower as the pressure was now good.However we couldnt because scalding water came out of both the hot and cold taps at all times.This time they said it couldnt be fixed.In summary I would say that although they try and are very friendly you really should go somewhere else.To add insult to injury we were told on checkout that 5% would be charged as a premium for any credit card used !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

In August 2013 we spent one week with our two daughters (17 and 15) in this nice hotel after a safari tour through Tanzania. There are only 11 rooms and 2 suites, so it is very calm and perfect to relax. The hotel is in front of a wonderful beach where you can observe the curious tides. All the meals were also very good. Especially we woud like to mention the friendly staff from the hotel. Everybody is ready to help, give some advice and make your stay in Zanzibar unforgettable. On the beach you can enjoy a relaxing massage. We enjoyed our stay in the Zanzibari Hotel very much and recommend it for all the people who are looking for a small, familiar and peaceful hotel near the beach.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor have nicer views to the ocean, downstairs you can enjoy the wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Welcome to paradise. After a week on safari this was just heaven. Our large room overlooked a beautiful garden and had been decorated with flowers. We had a kettle and a fridge and a door on the bathroom!!!

Greeted by Paulo and a cold drink he explains what they can offer you by way of trips and how the hotel works, and believe him when he says they want to make your stay special.

The hotel serves wonderful food in a dining room full of furniture made from old dhows.

There is a pool and a man-made beach and at low tide steps lead down to clean white sand where you can walk in either direction.

At this hotel you can be as active or as lazy as you wish. We took some trips which were professionally organised with private guides and cars to ensure our safety. We were also given a local Massai who took us for a walk around the village and we were able to visit places we would never have ventured on our own.

On site we were treated to coconuts cut straight from the tree just for us to drink, you can't get fresher than that. On our final evening we had dinner next to a fire on their beach, treated to our own dancing Massai and special sea food dinner. With the waves of the ocean crashing. the breeze tapping the palm tree fronds together and the stars out this was a perfect end to a perfect holiday.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

After 8 days on safari in Kenya, we were ready for some relaxation by the beach. We arrived to a very warm welcome by all the staff and were shown to our beautiful and very clean air conditioned room. The bed was huge! And provided a very comfortable nights sleep. The bathroom was beautiful too, with a waterfall shower. We hadn't eaten, and although we had arrived quite late we were able to go down for dinner. The chef at this hotel is a genius with food. Every meal was beautiful with more courses than we could count! The gardens at this hotel are stunning, beautiful pathways that lead to different seating areas and the pool. As there are not very many rooms, the hotel is very quiet and it is very easy to find yourself an area to sunbathe to yourselves. As honeymooners this was a very pleasant surprise, as we often felt we were the only two people on a paradise island. There are plenty of excursions on offer through the hotel, but most memorable for us were the treats we were surprised with for being on our honeymoon. These included a couples deep tissue massage, a sunset dhow trip around the island, a private candlelit dinner by the beach with a Masai dance to celebrate our marriage, a surprise platter of fruit and bottle of champagne in our room. Friendly staff who were very eager to please and clearly love their jobs along with a picturesque setting gave us a honeymoon that was better than we could have imagined. Thank you!

Room Tip: You would be pleased with any of the rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I spend few nights in The Zanzibari with my wife on our trip throught the Zanzibar Island. On our trip we were in few hotels, but only this one was absolutely perfect and looks like real paradise.

The hotel is very beautiful with smart details of pure kind of this country. All areas of hotel are very nice, comfortable, discreet and only for you of course :) Everytime was very easy to call staff, which were very polite and helpful (and this is sometimes problem in this country :)) and they help you with anything you want.

Restaurant of hotel is located in big local building and all tables are everytime perfectly prepare for lunch or dinner. For food next "star" for hotel management and staff, because food is amazing and services are like no other.

But the best thing (except very nice rooms) is the beach. The beach and pool area is the best in Zanzibar (and we saw a lot of them on our trip) and one of the most beautiful beaches where I ever been.

I recomend The Zanzibari for all travellers which want the best beach, service, food and accomodation in Zanzibar Island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We are a familiy of 5 adults, and now in July 2013 we spent 7 days and nights at the lovely Zanzibari,- actually we extended our stay by 2 nights because it was so fantastic. The hotel is like a big tropical garden. The Frangipani Sea View Suite easily accomodated all 5 of us. Real luxury, nice and clean! Private pool ++. The staff was superb, always friendly and attentive, and although it is almost unfair to single out any one person in special, we have to mention Mr Rashidi,- thank you very much! Manager Paolo also did his very best to make our stay pleasant. Food was also splendid,- we never went anywhere else! We really loved it.
The only downside that you need to know about is that the beach, although beautifully white and sandy and wonderful to walk along and to watch the sunrise from, isn't really very good for swimming,- then again very few beaches on the north eastern side are, due to tidal changes of sea level. This is more than compensated for by the pools and jacuzzis within the hotel area!

Room Tip: Go for the Seaview Suites Frangipani where you have a whole house directly at the beachside for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Zanzibari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zanzibari

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi 10437, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zanzibari 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zanzibari is located in Nungwi on the northeastern tip of Zanzibar. Set above the beach on a low coral cliff with easy access to the sea you are offered privacy, peace and tranquility while taking in the stunning views of the Indian Ocean. The hotel has many high quality facilities, including our infinity pool, spa and famous Dhow Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Zanzibari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zanzibari Hotel Nungwi
The Zanzibari Zanzibar/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Zanzibari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.