We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Zanzibari

Save Saved
You added The Zanzibari to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Zanzibari
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi Road, Nungwi 10437, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Welcome to paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Welcome to paradise. After a week on safari this was just heaven. Our large room overlooked a beautiful garden and had been decorated with flowers. We had a kettle and a fridge and a door on the bathroom!!!

Greeted by Paulo and a cold drink he explains what they can offer you by way of trips and how the hotel works, and believe him when he says they want to make your stay special.

The hotel serves wonderful food in a dining room full of furniture made from old dhows.

There is a pool and a man-made beach and at low tide steps lead down to clean white sand where you can walk in either direction.

At this hotel you can be as active or as lazy as you wish. We took some trips which were professionally organised with private guides and cars to ensure our safety. We were also given a local Massai who took us for a walk around the village and we were able to visit places we would never have ventured on our own.

On site we were treated to coconuts cut straight from the tree just for us to drink, you can't get fresher than that. On our final evening we had dinner next to a fire on their beach, treated to our own dancing Massai and special sea food dinner. With the waves of the ocean crashing. the breeze tapping the palm tree fronds together and the stars out this was a perfect end to a perfect holiday.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    34
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
30
109
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

After 8 days on safari in Kenya, we were ready for some relaxation by the beach. We arrived to a very warm welcome by all the staff and were shown to our beautiful and very clean air conditioned room. The bed was huge! And provided a very comfortable nights sleep. The bathroom was beautiful too, with a waterfall shower. We hadn't eaten, and although we had arrived quite late we were able to go down for dinner. The chef at this hotel is a genius with food. Every meal was beautiful with more courses than we could count! The gardens at this hotel are stunning, beautiful pathways that lead to different seating areas and the pool. As there are not very many rooms, the hotel is very quiet and it is very easy to find yourself an area to sunbathe to yourselves. As honeymooners this was a very pleasant surprise, as we often felt we were the only two people on a paradise island. There are plenty of excursions on offer through the hotel, but most memorable for us were the treats we were surprised with for being on our honeymoon. These included a couples deep tissue massage, a sunset dhow trip around the island, a private candlelit dinner by the beach with a Masai dance to celebrate our marriage, a surprise platter of fruit and bottle of champagne in our room. Friendly staff who were very eager to please and clearly love their jobs along with a picturesque setting gave us a honeymoon that was better than we could have imagined. Thank you!

Room Tip: You would be pleased with any of the rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I spend few nights in The Zanzibari with my wife on our trip throught the Zanzibar Island. On our trip we were in few hotels, but only this one was absolutely perfect and looks like real paradise.

The hotel is very beautiful with smart details of pure kind of this country. All areas of hotel are very nice, comfortable, discreet and only for you of course :) Everytime was very easy to call staff, which were very polite and helpful (and this is sometimes problem in this country :)) and they help you with anything you want.

Restaurant of hotel is located in big local building and all tables are everytime perfectly prepare for lunch or dinner. For food next "star" for hotel management and staff, because food is amazing and services are like no other.

But the best thing (except very nice rooms) is the beach. The beach and pool area is the best in Zanzibar (and we saw a lot of them on our trip) and one of the most beautiful beaches where I ever been.

I recomend The Zanzibari for all travellers which want the best beach, service, food and accomodation in Zanzibar Island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We are a familiy of 5 adults, and now in July 2013 we spent 7 days and nights at the lovely Zanzibari,- actually we extended our stay by 2 nights because it was so fantastic. The hotel is like a big tropical garden. The Frangipani Sea View Suite easily accomodated all 5 of us. Real luxury, nice and clean! Private pool ++. The staff was superb, always friendly and attentive, and although it is almost unfair to single out any one person in special, we have to mention Mr Rashidi,- thank you very much! Manager Paolo also did his very best to make our stay pleasant. Food was also splendid,- we never went anywhere else! We really loved it.
The only downside that you need to know about is that the beach, although beautifully white and sandy and wonderful to walk along and to watch the sunrise from, isn't really very good for swimming,- then again very few beaches on the north eastern side are, due to tidal changes of sea level. This is more than compensated for by the pools and jacuzzis within the hotel area!

Room Tip: Go for the Seaview Suites Frangipani where you have a whole house directly at the beachside for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Its a boutique hotel, very calm and relaxing with a staff "smiling all the time"! We have stayed in one of the two Frangipane suits which was fantastic! A very good choice for honeymooners. :) The chef has a fabulous taste in making food, they were all yummy !
Staff is very friendly and do their best to make you comfortable. They are very lovely people even sometimes they get anxious unnecessarily that they would do wrong.
Try the coctails, they are very well made, very tasty :)
By the end of June, season just starting, there are a very few people, so if you want romance away from people, its a very good time to go! Just a quick tip: Get out and explore Nungwi village, definately go to spice tour, for Stone Town, I recommend you explore by yourself. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed at Zanzi 2 nights and wished could have stayed longer! Liked everything about it. As someone who travels around the globe and enjoys hotels normally but always has a comment...this one is just perfect. Manager Paolo gave me a good deal, staff was very friendly (john the best waiter I saw last 5 months, thx John!) food amazing, clean, loved the warm afternoon cookies and so on and on...first time that i write a review but so well deserved!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at Zanzibari with my family for four nights in July 2013 and had a truly wonderful experience. For me it was the attention to detail, the excellent and helpful management (led by Paolo) and all the staff were very good and the clean rooms, clear blue water and private area to sunbathe. The food was fantastic and management organised a personal masaai traditional song and dance with a meal around the fire place for the family to celebrate our honeymoon. I would highly recommend this Hotel and wish them all the best for the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Zanzibari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zanzibari

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi 10437, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zanzibari 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zanzibari is located in Nungwi on the northeastern tip of Zanzibar. Set above the beach on a low coral cliff with easy access to the sea you are offered privacy, peace and tranquility while taking in the stunning views of the Indian Ocean. The hotel has many high quality facilities, including our infinity pool, spa and famous Dhow Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Zanzibari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zanzibari Hotel Nungwi
The Zanzibari Zanzibar/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Zanzibari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.