We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Petite Hotel with Nice Grounds and Seclusion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Zanzibari

Save Saved
You added The Zanzibari to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Zanzibari
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi Road, Nungwi 10437, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
601 reviews 601 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
437 helpful votes 437 helpful votes
“Petite Hotel with Nice Grounds and Seclusion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is for relaxation and rest after your treks through the Tanzanian mainland.

The hotel grounds are situated at the North side of the Zanzibar island and about a 10 minute walk from the Nungwi. This layout of the hotel is widely spread for privacy and for the feeling you are the only guests. The grounds are well maintained and the guards keep the ground secure and even offer to walk you into the village.

The Ocean side is coral flat with stone. You will need sandals or Crocs to walk out into the sea. There is a sand beach about a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. There are these great single person pools you can stand it and watch the ocean and dhows sail out at the evening time. There are ocean kayaks and snorkeling gear for use.

The staff is extremely kind, helpful, and courteous. Anything you desire they will do their best to arrange.

The food is delicious and portions just perfect. The selections were always done well. Daily there is a choice of seafood, meat or chicken, and a veg option for dinner.

The rooms are spacious and appointed with dhow wood furniture. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms fully functional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    31
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
28
106
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for six days after our safari. We loved everything about it except there was no beach. Because it is small, we felt like we had the pool to ourselves regardless. The staff could not have been better and the food was superb. While I was there I suffered a serious bout of dehydration and the Manager didn't hesitate to send one of the staff to the village to get rehydration salts for me and offered to get a doctor as well. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay because it is small, quiet and if you want relaxation after a safari this is a fantastic place to do it. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Spent a few days here after climbing Mount Kili and going on safari. It was the perfect place to wind down and relax. The service was excellent as was the food. Our frangipani (?) was very nice with our own private little pool and little beach. There is no actual sand beach ( coral flats) at this resort but access is just a few minutes walk away.The grounds are beautiful and there is a big pool for swimming. I partook in a spa treatment and massage which was really amazing. This is not a place to be if you want a party resort as it is small and quiet for the most part which was perfect for me and, I believe, my travel companions. Thank you all for my wonderful stay at the Zanzibari!!!!!

Room Tip: Frangipani suites are great and right on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München, Deutschland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed there with a friend for one week. It is a small place, no mass of people, just perfect for relaxation. Other beaches are reachable within a few minutes walk, so is the scuba diving center Aquarius (very good!) at Ras Nungwi Hotel.
Food and rooms were very good and I want to remark that hotel staff was outstanding. Especially the assistant manager Amani helped me with great efforts to get out of my misery ("lost" all my money, passport, credit/debit cards - but NOT in The Zanzibari) - special thanks and honour to this man!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taplow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I got married here in December and it was the best ever. Paul and his staff were absolutely brilliant. Everything was done wonderfully for me so there was no stress. The hotel, the food, the staff, the location, infact everything is wonderful. It is such a friendly place and you feel so special while you are there. The wedding was magical from the masai guard of hour, Joyce and Candice throwing petals in a beautifully decorated garden as I walked to meet my future husband, the decorated beach for my wedding to the cold champagne and cake waiting for us after the ceremony. It was all low key but extremely beautiful.....

If you want a beautiful, peaceful and special holiday in a wonderful location, you cannot beat this place.

We cannot wait to come back, missing it all the time

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was a beautiful place with gorgeous gardens and great food. The owner and staff were great. The pool is very nice. The resort is right on the beach. Our room was beautiful, with a view and a luxurious bed (complete with flower petals). Amenities available included manicures, pedicures, henna tattoos...I only wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had hoped to spend the duration of our stay here but due to booking agent issues we were unable to. These problems had nothing to do with the hotel, we had vouchers with a company that didn’t book this hotel. So when we arrived in Nungwi we found the hotel and decided to treat ourselves, we had one night at the Zanzibari hotel in December and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

The rooms are bright and clean with a good size bathroom, the usual flowers on the bed made a nice welcome.

The meal which was included in the price of $190.00 (for the 2 of us) a night was fantastic, 5 courses of beautifully presented dishes served by genuinely friendly staff who seem to really want to make your stay enjoyable.

The grounds of the hotel were well kept, neat and tidy and not another soul to be seen although the hotel had a number of people staying at the time. The views over the sea were uninterrupted and you got a very welcomed breeze which made sunbathing a pleasure. It was the best place to chill out, relax catch the sun that we came across in the 2 weeks we were there.

We were shown a suite and they were totally fabulous, if you were 2 couples or a family these would be perfect with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms a living room and a kitchen. They came with private plunge pools and a garden area overlooking the sea.

The General Manager Paul and his staff couldn’t be faulted and I can imagine if you stayed there longer they would do everything to make sure your stay was as near to perfect as possible.

The pool area was small but perfectly formed, towels and tide times were provided along with kayaks and lifejackets etc.

The hotel accepts credit cards which is a plus if like us you were unaware of the lack of ATM’s in the area. The nearest ATM is in Stone Town, which is over an hour’s drive away. Many hotels and bars don’t accept credit cards so get your cash from the airport or Stone Town before heading to Nungwi.

If there were any criticisms – and this is really looking hard for them, they would be that the Zanzibari is a little way away from the ‘village’ and other bars, hotels and restaurants. There again with your meal included and the food being some of the best we tasted this might not be an issue. I think if we had stayed for the 2 weeks we would have been jumping into a taxi most evenings to the slightly more lively part of the beach.

The price of beer and wine were higher than other bars and hotels, but nothing too outrageous and in daylight it would only be a 10 minute walk down the beach to the next bar.

The hotel had recently changed the safe boxes in the rooms, from what I would image were standard safe’s to wooden boxes. The older safe’s had issues due to the power failure which happens all over Nungwi every evening – don’t worry everywhere has generators so lights are only out for a few minutes. The new safe boxes were much nicer to look at and made of what looked like local wood. They were a good size and held a lot of valuables including a full size camera and a couple of lenses. But these were literally a freestanding box that could be picked up and taken from the room if you had the misfortune to have someone break in. Maybe if they could be bolted or attached to the floor or cupboard this would solve the problem.

The last thing and again this is a security issue, is that the bathroom windows which were really large (more like French doors but situated at window level), had no locks or any form of security on them. The lovely ladies who cleaned the rooms would leave these open to air the rooms, as our bathroom window looked out onto the open land at the back of the hotel we felt a little exposed.

All in all a very nice, clean friendly hotel with great food, views and grounds. Fantastic staff and I would not hesitate to go back and spend longer than one night (but probably less than 2 weeks) there.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with another couple of family the suites look fantastic. Standard rooms are b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Zanzibari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zanzibari

Also Known As:
The Zanzibari Hotel Nungwi
The Zanzibari Hotel
The Zanzibari Zanzibar/Nungwi
Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi 10437, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#8 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zanzibari 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zanzibari is located in Nungwi on the northeastern tip of Zanzibar. Set above the beach on a low coral cliff with easy access to the sea you are offered privacy, peace and tranquility while taking in the stunning views of the Indian Ocean. The hotel has many high quality facilities, including our infinity pool, spa and famous Dhow Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Zanzibari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Zanzibari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.