We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zanzibari Hotel - so relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Zanzibari

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Zanzibari to your Saves list
The Zanzibari
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi Road, Nungwi 10437, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Falsterbo, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Zanzibari Hotel - so relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed at hotel Zanzibari for 3 nights in Dec 2011, and it was very very nice. We are a family of 5 and had booked a suite, which turned out to be a villa of our own with pool! The view over the sea was marvellous, and it was very relaxing to walk in and out of the villa, lie on our own sun beds, sit and read in our hammock and take a refreshing dip in the pool.

The garden is lovely at Zanzibari and the big open house where the restaurant, the bar and the lounge is situated is very nice and cool. The food was very good, with several choices at every dinner. The staff was very nice and gave excellent service.

The kids (aged 12-18) stayed on the second floor in the villa, open air, under roof, a little windy. We walked to Nungwi one afternoon and it took 20 minutes, and then we took a taxi back. We also went to the luxury hotel next door, Essque Zalu, and had a nice drink on their pier. We would highly recommend Zanzibari, and would love to go back at anytime.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    35
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
112
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Christmas & New Year spent here 2011. Villa 9 had the great views and the dip pool but you could not sleep upstairs. We had to use the bathroom upstairs due to plumbing problems downstairs, which although dealt with quickly were not hygienically solved until mentioned again. The TV was restricted to certain channels which was the same in the dining area. We found the food disappointing. Choice of 2 starters, 3 main course and 2 puddings and if you do not like fish,beef or chicken you will be out of luck or in our case go home having lost weight. We did not have bananas, tomatoes, cheese or chocolate or chips. Entertainment over the holiday period was again disappointing and I can honestly say we do not ever want to hear Boney M playing again. Although we both love a quiet place and it was beautifully quiet, it was, as someone wrote "empty". The pool is very good and for reading it is quiet but for being able to walk to places, you cannot really.We took a taxi one day just to see another area and get some different food, as you are restricted by where the Zanzibari is located We moved to Stonetown after 10 days.If you want total peace and quiet in a small area this is ok, but we preferred the Maldives for that!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

My uncle and i stayed at the Zanzibari for 3 nights after an overland tour through east africa which lasted 10 days, so when we finally arrived it was fantastic.

We organised a pick up from Zanzibar ferry point through the hotel. The taxi driver was already there waiting for us - it took us about an hour to get to the hotel.

During our stay we felt incredibly secure and we were made to feel very welcome. The rooms were beautiful and were cleaned everyday.

There was a good choice of food on the menu and it was delicious, the service was fantastic and offered a range of drinks. The coffee and biscuits at 5pm around the pool was a really nice touch too.

As it is an inclusive resort there was not too much to do, however if you are there with a group/on honeymoon this would be ideal. The hotel can also arrange taxi's into the town - which we didnt do, but others did.

Overall it was a perfect relaxation break and the staff cant do enough for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed in one of the villas overlooking the sea - amazing views and great little private pool in front! The second bedroom on the top floor is an outside bedroom with beds under mosquito-nets - looks great! However, it is very windy and it felt like sleeping in a wind tunnel! After two nights we gave up and the whole family snuggled up in one bed downstairs!
No beach but if you walk 5 minutes south it is excellent! We booked a days snorkling incl lunch to Mnebma island with the hotel which was excellent!
We also booked a scuba diving trip with paddy center in hotel 10 min walk south. Excellent Swedish scuba instructor called Emma!
The hotel felt very empty (although it was full according to staff) and we were left very much to ourselves. It probably needs a coat of paint and a brush-up of the pool area.
We talk a 20 min walk along the beach to Nguigmi village. It felt very touristic and a bit sad to see western women in string bikinis walking up and down the beach with no respect toward the local covered up muslim women, that come to get their fish from the local fishermen. So avoid the village is my recommendation!

Room Tip: Villa on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

The Zanzibari is a beautifully maintained and managed hotel, with very friendly staff and excellent food.
Note that you'll be by the pool rather than on the beach, and that this hotel is perfect for relaxing (the most strenuous thing we even considered doing was borrowing the sea kayaks for a little paddle - we didnt even do that, the swing seat was too welcoming and comfy!)
If you're looking for a spot in which to spend a few days relaxing, reading, having a wonderful massage whilst looking out to sea, then this is perfection!

Room Tip: Go for a suite or room 11 - technically the managers house, which was where we stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Thank you once again for making our trip to Zanzibar such a perfect one!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We used the offer of staying 5 days while paying only 4. Therefore it was relatively cheap compared to the other hotels and affordable for us as students.

What we got was a very nice room with a breathtaking sea view! Just amazing to watch the lagoon from your balcony at sunset. The bed was covered with flowers and two 'towel-swans', it gave us an extremely luxurious feeling. It was almost a bit over the top for students in a place where most locals live in clay huts.

Each day we got a nice breakfast with fresh fruits, fresh juice and you could choose different other things like spanish omelet, french toast, etc. Every evening you could choose your three-course diner (2 choices for each course) and every time it was delicious!

As read from other reviews you should indeed not expect a nice beach. But sunbathing in bikini or swim briefs at the beach is totally inappropriate at Zanzibar anyway. We totally didn't miss it, if you want to have nice beaches you should go to the East coast of Zanzibar. You can go sunbathing along the cliff on the deck chairs or lay down at the pool.

It was nice that they offered us the sea kayaking for free. All other activities we arranged on our own. You should definitely bargain about the price of an activity, snorkeling is offered for $25-30 but is definitely possible for $15 and maybe even less offered by the many beach boys walking along the beach each morning. Other activities such as a spice tour are also way cheaper if you do it on your own (but maybe somewhat more a hassle).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Zanzibari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zanzibari

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi 10437, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zanzibari 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zanzibari is located in Nungwi on the northeastern tip of Zanzibar. Set above the beach on a low coral cliff with easy access to the sea you are offered privacy, peace and tranquility while taking in the stunning views of the Indian Ocean. The hotel has many high quality facilities, including our infinity pool, spa and famous Dhow Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Zanzibari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zanzibari Hotel Nungwi
The Zanzibari Zanzibar/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Zanzibari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.