We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice on the beach in Nungwi!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nungwi Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nungwi Inn to your Saves list
Nungwi Inn
Nungwi village beach | P.O.Box: 1496, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
dorset
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great choice on the beach in Nungwi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Having looked at the choices in the area this seems to be the best mid-priced option if you are looking for a reasonable standard of accommodation right on the beach. We stayed at the Nungwi Inn in December. The hotel organised transfers for us from the airport, which went smoothly.

We booked a garden room, just back from the beach for $65 per night (note – many of the garden rooms are set much further back but the resort was fairly empty when we visited so I guess they gave us a front room). The room was nicely furnished with double bed and box mosquito net, ac and fan. The bathroom was a little dated but fine. The room was cleaned every day. There is a safe at reception for your valuables.

Breakfast is included in the price and eaten in the adjoining beach restaurant – it is a lovely place to have your breakfast! The fresh fruit and juice are excellent (best mango we had in Zanzibar). You also get self-service tea and coffee and a choice of eggs (cooked to order). For some reason there are always flies around the restaurant. We ate there a couple of times and had an excellent zanzibari chicken curry and some good pizza. They also sell cold beers and cocktails etc. (putting tables on the sand at sunset).

The beach by the hotel is stunning and is suitable for swimming most of the time (the tide goes out but you can still swim). We did walk down to Kendwa one day (beware the tides – there are only a couple of hours a day when you can get along and back) and noted that the swimming there might be better – with deeper sea available all day.

By the Nungwi Inn there are some sunbeds and a couple of umbrellas which are apparently run as a concession, though the Nungwi Inn collect payment for them. The charge is 10000TSH each for a full day, which we found to be excessive! Surely they should be free for hotel guests, but charged for visitors. We did ask about this, but were told that as the sunbeds were nothing to do with the hotel, they always had to be paid for. There are a few Massai wandering along trying to sell things and a few people offering trips but they did not really bother us (they seemed more interested in the Italians at the All Inclusive hotel along the beach).

The location is great – a short walk along to other bars and restaurants. We had excellent fish steaks at Chollos and the Baraka beach restaurant. At Langi Langi you can have an aromatic fish curry whilst sitting on their platform over the sea. Mangi’s bar next door is nice at night. There are also two supermarkets on the beach, and one by the hotel gate.

The only problem we had here is that the power and water went off frequently. The water often went off around 1000, not coming on again until 1800 ish. Power was often off all day, and for part of the night (fortunately it seemed to be on after sunset for a few hours). This is a common problem in Zanzibar but something to be aware of. Power isn’t a problem (we have torches), but water is essential. We weren’t sure if the services were actually off, or if the management had just decided to turn them off to conserve resources.

Overall Zanzibar is very beautiful and definitely worth visiting. Just bear in mind wherever you go that there are a lot of power cuts and the water often goes off as well. I would stay at the Nungwi Inn again if I were to visit Zanzibar – I just wish they could keep the water on!

Room Tip: We booked a garden room, and got one just back from the beach for (note – many of the garden rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    20
    16
    4
    13
See reviews for
2
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kigali, Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This came after fruitless atempts to get accomodation in Nungwi in the New Year frenzie.

Nungwi inn is positioned in the best beach in Zanzibar, in my opinion the rest (Not in North Zanzibar) has so much sea weed and crazy wind you wouldn't bask in the sun to relax.
Very close to the beach at a walking distance of less than a minute, the administration would have a much better setting in bungalows overlooking he ocean, Nungwi inn is a haven for budget traveling with comfort.

The only thing that made me not have an optimum experience is the salty water streaming in their pipes, that will explain a lot in expectations of showers, and the air conditioning which needs a manual or google to operate, in the end we did without it since it only heated our room past the already baking heat of Zanzibar.1

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Zanzibar is absolutely gorgeous, but staying at Nungwi Inn has nearly spoiled the whole experience for us. Rooms are terrible, especially the bathrooms. Old and terribly dirty. Guys at the reception not the least bit helpful. We stayed there as part of a group and the place was prebooked for us unfortunately. Don't know the official room rates but no matter how much it is, it's too expensive for what you're getting. Breakfast is quite nice though, we got fresh fruit for starters and eggs and toast as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joancollins69
Level Contributor
129 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The rooms are extremely basic some with air con and some without (unless you count windows with no fly wire). The beds were fine and the pillows a little hard. The first two nights we had water the last two none coupled with no electricity whilst the more upmarket resorts shone! the beach is heaven and lovely to walk along (despite the beach boys who will annoy you more then mozzies) so the so so digs you can forgive. The barman was a hoot and just lovely (though ice is made from tap water and i did get a little nausea) and the kitchen-waiting staff lovely. Front desk were ok but had over booked rooms and some of my party stayed at the next resort (same owners and same standards). Food was good here but explore near by resteraunt bars too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bollington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in Nungwi (at a different hotel) for 2 weeks and ate at Nungwi Inn a few times as it has a great location right on the beach. The food was excellent the first time! The zanzibar curry was absolutely delicous and everyone was happy. The other times quality varied greatly so it seems the experience depends on who's working that day. I recommend everyone to take a chance though, cause when it's good it's really good :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

After arriving late and we decided to move after waking up and seeing the state of the bathroom, dirty bedding, cleaning lady going through our things and added items on our foodbill, but this resulted in an increased price for room and a very aggressive approach from the staff regarding the use of the beach beds which suddenly were 10.000 shilling a day..,.it seems that the lack of income fromf guests needs to be made up with the guests they do have, what a shame as their food is really good, but i would NOT recommend to anybody, eating there is fine but do not sleep there and check your bill against the menu because they by 'accident' make mistakes

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neumunster, Germany
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Nungwi Inn has definitely seen better days. The only good thing about the room was the air-conditioner. Other than that NOTHING. Bathroom was terrible. Bed had an old foam mattress that we rolled into the centre all night. Back ache in the morning!

Not a lot to say about it other than there are far better places for the price.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay there make sure you have a look at where they are placing you. Some rooms do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.4 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#16 of 18 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sazani Beach Hotel
Sazani Beach Hotel
#13 of 18 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
1.2 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
5.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flame Tree Cottages
Flame Tree Cottages
#15 of 18 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nungwi Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nungwi Inn

Address: Nungwi village beach | P.O.Box: 1496, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nungwi Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nungwi Hotel Zanzibar Archipelago
Nungwi Inn Zanzibar Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nungwi Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.