We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nungwi's Budget Zone $55 double” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nungwi Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nungwi Inn to your Saves list
Nungwi Inn
Nungwi village beach | P.O.Box: 1496, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
Kigali, Kigali, Rwanda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nungwi's Budget Zone $55 double”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This came after fruitless atempts to get accomodation in Nungwi in the New Year frenzie.

Nungwi inn is positioned in the best beach in Zanzibar, in my opinion the rest (Not in North Zanzibar) has so much sea weed and crazy wind you wouldn't bask in the sun to relax.
Very close to the beach at a walking distance of less than a minute, the administration would have a much better setting in bungalows overlooking he ocean, Nungwi inn is a haven for budget traveling with comfort.

The only thing that made me not have an optimum experience is the salty water streaming in their pipes, that will explain a lot in expectations of showers, and the air conditioning which needs a manual or google to operate, in the end we did without it since it only heated our room past the already baking heat of Zanzibar.1

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
2
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Zanzibar is absolutely gorgeous, but staying at Nungwi Inn has nearly spoiled the whole experience for us. Rooms are terrible, especially the bathrooms. Old and terribly dirty. Guys at the reception not the least bit helpful. We stayed there as part of a group and the place was prebooked for us unfortunately. Don't know the official room rates but no matter how much it is, it's too expensive for what you're getting. Breakfast is quite nice though, we got fresh fruit for starters and eggs and toast as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joancollins69
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
61 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The rooms are extremely basic some with air con and some without (unless you count windows with no fly wire). The beds were fine and the pillows a little hard. The first two nights we had water the last two none coupled with no electricity whilst the more upmarket resorts shone! the beach is heaven and lovely to walk along (despite the beach boys who will annoy you more then mozzies) so the so so digs you can forgive. The barman was a hoot and just lovely (though ice is made from tap water and i did get a little nausea) and the kitchen-waiting staff lovely. Front desk were ok but had over booked rooms and some of my party stayed at the next resort (same owners and same standards). Food was good here but explore near by resteraunt bars too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bollington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in Nungwi (at a different hotel) for 2 weeks and ate at Nungwi Inn a few times as it has a great location right on the beach. The food was excellent the first time! The zanzibar curry was absolutely delicous and everyone was happy. The other times quality varied greatly so it seems the experience depends on who's working that day. I recommend everyone to take a chance though, cause when it's good it's really good :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

After arriving late and we decided to move after waking up and seeing the state of the bathroom, dirty bedding, cleaning lady going through our things and added items on our foodbill, but this resulted in an increased price for room and a very aggressive approach from the staff regarding the use of the beach beds which suddenly were 10.000 shilling a day..,.it seems that the lack of income fromf guests needs to be made up with the guests they do have, what a shame as their food is really good, but i would NOT recommend to anybody, eating there is fine but do not sleep there and check your bill against the menu because they by 'accident' make mistakes

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neumunster, Germany
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Nungwi Inn has definitely seen better days. The only good thing about the room was the air-conditioner. Other than that NOTHING. Bathroom was terrible. Bed had an old foam mattress that we rolled into the centre all night. Back ache in the morning!

Not a lot to say about it other than there are far better places for the price.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay there make sure you have a look at where they are placing you. Some rooms do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed here at the end of our tour of Kenya and Tanzania. We were impressed with the food, lots of variety both local and western dishes to chose from - the fresh lobster seemed great value for money and a massive portion! This hotel is right on the beach so great for what we wanted after 2 weeks of touring and camping. The rooms were buildings split into two rooms dotted around the place, the mosquito needs were well needed and in good condition, along with air con. The only compliant I would have was the scratching noise that kept me awake most of the night in the roof of the building - sounded like terminates or something similar...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Nungwi Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nungwi Inn

Address: Nungwi village beach | P.O.Box: 1496, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Nungwi Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nungwi Hotel Zanzibar Archipelago
Nungwi Inn Zanzibar Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nungwi Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.