We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of My Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added My Blue Hotel to your Saves list
My Blue Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Good, but too many Italians. The hotel is runned by Italians and they are not used to other nationalities. Great animation, specially Andrea! Excursion offered also in English, but guides
Speak basic English. Otherwise, nice hotel and location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    489
    136
    72
    46
See reviews for
108
629
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the hotel from the 18th to the 25th of June 2013.
The rooms were newly renovated. The staff is very helpfull and friendly.
The TV did not work the whole time we were there and was reported.
Beautifull beach with plenty beach chairs etc. and within walking distance off other hotels, restaurants. Fantastic vibe. Safe environments.
Towels not the best. Beach towels very old and faded.
Food is average. Breakfast is very boring. Same food served all 7 days. Lunch and dinner is 4/5 courses and good value. Take your own coffee. Their coffee is not the best, except for expresso etc. Overall impressed. Good value and will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A friend & I arrived there on the 4th of June and sadly left on the 11th June. At first the food was a bit basic but then it improved tremendously - I put this down to it being out of season.

Ally was the most fantastic host one could ask for. He is a man who knows his job very, very well & wants to make sure that all the guests are happy. We could ask him anything & he would sort it out. All of the staff were very, very nice and friendly. The Masai are also great people & having them as security was very reassuring.

I would definitely go back there as I was made to feel right at home. The only drawback is the chaps on the beach who pester you to buy stuff or sell excursions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

As we were there in the rainy season it was not too busy and they were renovating some rooms , but we had a free upgrade to a villa right on the beach so it did not bother us at all,it has recently come under new management and there was very friendly and helpful staff. Good chef en good food! 3 course lunch and dinner with free soft drinks and water. We extended our stay with one night and I would surely go back again!

Room Tip: There is no fitness center, but there is on site massage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at my blue hotel for 7nights (14-21May)and my experience there was amazing! I got a huge room with sea view. The food was great, the fruit! Yummy! Delicious, I ate everything and I Never got sick!I was lucky to have Roger as my tour guide, he took me everywhere, made me feel welcome and made sure I got a unique experience of the island. The staff is super friendly the guards (masai) are also very nice and make you feel safe! Well done my blue hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed there in march 2013, Hotel is little worn, but it fits with it's African style. The hotel was half booked due to low season, was very quiet, staff was friendly ... even too friendly, everibody was friendly....
We had ocean wiev room - room was roommy, nice and clean, room service was OK. Pool is small and water was somethimes even too hot :) , beach is very nice clean and good for swimming.
... And some minuses are from breakfast - was'nt enought food somethimes and from locals on the beach - they just need to sell something...

Room Tip: Ocean view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OraHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at My Blue Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your friendly writing.
Breakfast always offers some different selections of English and Continental menus in a large amount.
Everywhere it is normal to find less choice in the last few minutes of the breakfast time, even if the buffet had been regularly replaced.
However it is really good if our guests are able to relax in spite of few minus.
Best regards.

Manuela Nascimbene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The beach here in Nungwi is more beautiful that your imagination can perceive. Therefore you have to see it. We stayed in the front bungalows (1st floor), which are more expensive, but worth every cent.

Room Tip: front bungalows, 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.4 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
5.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 802 reviews
0.6 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
9.8 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#5 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Blue Hotel

Address: Nungwi, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#11 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — My Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your My Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myblue Zanzibar Boutique Nungwi
My Blue Hotel Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My Blue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.