We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we had a wonderful time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of My Blue Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added My Blue Hotel to your Saves list
My Blue Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“we had a wonderful time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent a week at the hotel, it was our honeymoon. The hotel is not new and the rooms have a faint smell of seaweed. But, however we got a great attitude from all the staff and especially from a guy in charge of the rooms named Pradeep. The staff did everything in his power to make our vacation perfect, including to change our room and give us a great room facing the sea. All Our request answered immediately. The food was delicious and fresh. Stunning beach.
The hotel is populated mostly with Italians and there are many activities for Italians , we did not mind about that,although we do not understand a word in Italian.
It's not the best hotel I was in - but it's a pleasant hotel with excellent staff and a real desire of the staff to help you with everything.
I would recommend the hotel managers to improve the wireless Internet connection and allow guests to connect to the wi-fi from the rooms too and not just from the lobby. in addition, the breakfast was always the same which is a bit boring. But other than that - we had a great vacation and Pradeep Thanks for everything, you are a great manager and a great person.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    406
    109
    67
    42
See reviews for
85
531
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were sent here after been turned away from the hotel Hakune Majiwe in Paje which we booked and paid to stay in due to 'technical' problems - which turned out to be over booking. We were told Myblue was an 'upgrade' - it was far from an upgrade. Upon arrival the shabby sign lets you know exactly what you're in for. Shabby rooms, tacky sourroundings, terrible loud music blaring from speakers just outside the room. It was like holiday in hell ,plus hardly a beach to mention - tiny and walled off on both sides, Sun loungers crammed together like the Italian riveria. NOT ZANZIBAR! We didn't dare to look in the restaurant (which is set at the back of the plot and probably full of cigarette smoke), the bar was bad enough. Soft-inclusive meant half a glass of an already opened bottle of coke. A bit of stale cake was lingering on the bar if you were desperate enough to want it. Needless to say we didn't stay. It's geared to cheap package holidays mainly for Italians. I saw the brochure and the hotel is completely mis-represented. If you go to beautiful Zanzibar, you do not want to stay here! We had paid for a beach bungalow on an unspoilt beach - this is nothing like it. By the way the 'gym' is about 4 excercise bike facing the wall at reception! In the end, we were sent to somewhere that supposedly corresponded better to what we booked and paid for...which it didn't. - Coral Reef is yet another run down Ora hotel! Zanzibar is beautiful - this place is not!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OraHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at My Blue Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Customer, we regret not being able to satisfy it, we took over backwards to please her despite the three-day stay we offered three different hotels, you have not found what I was looking for. We are, however, very disappointed when he writes things that are not true as the gym, the beach, and service. We hope to find what they are looking elsewhere.
best regards

head of public relations
Alessandro Zanetti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with soft inclusive (meals and soda included). Food is very good and beach as well. 9 out of 10 visitors are Italian so if you don't like them don't go here. Many italians smoke so be prepared to inhale smoke during dinner, if you don't like that or have asthma or similar I would recommend you to choose a different hotel.

Staff is very polite and friendly. We where upgrades due to maintenance during our stay so we had the advantage to "inspect" two rooms. Both of them where nicely decorated with modern furniture's but can't have been constructed by professionals since many doors couldn't be fully opened.

Both rooms contained locked safety boxes, and we tried to have the hotel to open them for us but gave up. We even stayed in our room between 15-16 one day on their request to wait for someone to open it, but they never came.

Internet connection is available in reception and at the bar for a cost of 5€ each day or 15€ a week. You need to get a new password each day from the reception. The connection is very unstable and slow, don't expect to be able to watch a you tube clip, or surf at all while it is raining.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed in My Blue for 7 days after booking the trip with "special offer" on internet (Groupon).
Upon arrival we were actually positively surprised... I mean, obviously we did not expect anything extraordinary, but the resort was nicely organized, the garden area was well prepared and clean, staff very friendly at the welcoming (and further on) and in general the first impression was positive. Than we were taken to our room... and again, positive reaction. OK, the rooms are maybe not in the European "design" but in the end that was not what we expected from an African resort :) The room was very clean, bed sheets and all linen "not disturbing" and frankly fresh. Flat TV which is really not important, but if some of you need digital entertainment, there is channel with movies in English :)

The only problems we had in the room was:
- safe box: apparently they break down often, and so did ours. But you can always use your luggage with lock to keep the passports, money, etc. Actually, once or twice we left the bag open with money outside, and not even a penny was stolen...
- shower and water tap: like many islands, Zanzibar has water problems, and the water in the room shower and tap is also slightly salty... :) but if you get a bottle of fresh water to clean the teeth, the rest is "manageable"

Otherwise, we didnt have any bugs, crazy spiders, or anything like that (beside one small lizard, which was totally harmless).

As of the hotel in general, beside short power breaks, which we found quite funny :) everything was OK. Even though there are many Italian tourists, we had no problem communicating with the staff. Food was Italian-African, but nothing to complain about. Soft all inclusive means no alcohol, but beer costs EUR 3 and drinks were max EUR 4. Soft drinks, yes served in small cups (if for the beach) but you can have as many as you want so honestly i think it is simply a good "waste management".

The beach was very nice and great surroundings to walk around. Hotel has small boutique shop with ciggis, sun creams, small souvenirs, etc., massage place, diving center, small outdoor fitness and billiard table.

All in all, we had a great time, and only regretted that it was too short (10 days would be perfect). Maybe because the hotel was not full and we had plenty space on the beach and no crowds during lunches and dinners, but in any case we are sure it would not be a major issue.

One last thing, i have to say that during our stay we met great people from the animation team, who were also important part of our great stay at My Blue Ora Resort! Big hug to Maurizio, Barbara, Cristian and of course all others!!!

All the best to the whole crew,

Magda & Kuba :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at Ora Resort, My Blue, for three nights in June 2012 and had a wonderful stay!

We had an all-inclusive package, i.e. all meals and drinks excluding alcoholic drinksfor a very reasonable price (I think we paid $150p/n, but this was just before their high season).
What I loved about Ora was that we didn’t have to think, we could just relax. Our biggest decision was pool or beach?!

Our room was big and came with a king sized bed, air-conditioning, a flat screen tv with some cable channels (although many in Italian) and the best hot shower. It is important to note that the electrical plugs in our room and the hotel are European and not British like the rest of the island, so remember your converter!

The resort’s food was nice, always a buffet but with a selection of salad, hot dishes, always dessert and lots of fresh fruit.

The facilities were all in good condition with the exception of the fitness equipment which was mostly broken and needs some TLC, but otherwise everything else was good.

If you are in need of a real relaxing holiday, this is the place to come!

http://postcardsfromeastafrica.blogspot.com/2012/07/beautiful-zanzibar.html

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have been in this Hotel for 12 nights in spite it is offered as “all Inclusive” the real is quite different. Drinks are served in a small cup, they don´t have any drinks machines they open a bottle of coke they serve you a bit in a small cup and then they put it away till next customer ask for coke that’s really crazy if you ask for the bottle you have to pay aside I never saw something like that. They don’t have either ice machine, the way the make ice it is really funny they use a bottle of mineral water they put it on the fridge and if you ask for ice the waitress with a big knife make it in small pieces and here you are “the ice”. Drinks are normally warm and if you ask for ice, they feel a bit annoying is like you require a delicatessen and the food during lunch and dinner it is cold so “such a nice combination”.

They don’t provide any bottle of water in the room if you want a bottle of water you have to pay for it, so people are advised that if you don’t finish the bottle of water that is given to you during the meals you can take it and bring it to your room I never in my life I have seen such a miserable treatment after paying nearly 3000€ for the 12 nights, and you will need water for sure because the bathroom water is so salty and you will needed for washing your teeth. Sometimes drinks run out and the menu is quite poor and if you make a complaint they say that you are in Africa for service I suppose no for payment, it is really a pity because the resort is nice maybe the bathroom could be better, but nice place.

I work it out why such a reduction of service and the answer is quite simple the owner of the Hotel is Italian, 90% of the tourists are Italian and the hotel it is offered for 1200€ per wk including air freight so they must make it profitable reducing services, that’s the real matter, and obviously they don’t want to make any different between Italian that pay so little with the rest of customer that have been stolen.

I would like to emphasize that local staff is very kind and friendly but unfortunately if they don’t have the means they must feel sometimes frustrated.
Talking a bit for the beach we were a bit unfortunately the firsts days the beach was plenty of jellyfish so we din’t enjoy very much, later on it got better we’ve got also some rain and the water was a bit cold we’ve been told that the best period of time to enjoy beaches is in October.
We arrange some excursions, Mnemba is quite close for snorkeling , and you can also spend half day in Stone Town making some shopping and also it is interesting if you can take a taxi and I have a look to Kiwengwa beaches

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OraHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at My Blue Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Customer, thanks for writing this review, and we like to take this opportunity to clarify a few points regarding the treatment Myblue is offered to everyone with soft all-inclusive formula, and not all inclusive. Sorry but his complaint should direct it to the person who sold the package. To ice the problem happened the car was being repaired sometimes it can happen but it was repaired in no time. We also sorry to read that the beach has seen jellyfish warning that we do not share because there has never been this problema.Ci realize that his complaint focusing on the fact that his agency has provided a package different from that offered and of this sorry lot.


Alessandro Zanetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Dark and old rooms, terrible smell when we arrived, and full of mosquitoes. Old towels and minimum comfort.
The beach Was not bad, even though water wasnt crystal clear as we expected.

Buffet was huge but not very appealing.

Ok for the rates.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to My Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Blue Hotel

Address: Nungwi, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — My Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your My Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myblue Zanzibar Boutique Nungwi
My Blue Hotel Zanzibar/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My Blue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.