We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to relax.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   North Coast | PO Box 3425, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Ifield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good place to relax.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for seven nights following a safari in northern Tanzania,it's a great place to relax and do as little as possible.The rooms are large and cool, your spoilt for choice with the pools and the views are to die for.The staff are friendly and helpful and work hard to give you a great time.
Yes there is room for improvement in certain areas but Kim is making a huge effort to resolve them.The food in the main restaurant can be a little bland but the theme nights were a good idea and the beach night was great fun.
Go and see Grace Winnie and Jane in the spa for a great massage or pedicure it's well worth the visit.
This is a great place to stay if you don't like huge resorts.

Room Tip: Upper floor on any block !E22 was close to restaurants and main bar and wasn't noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

It's always a pleasure to be able to acknowledge staff who have done exceptional work in making our guests stay special and we'll be happy to share your remarks with Grace, Jane and Winnie.

Thank you once again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    213
    54
    29
    22
See reviews for
149
424
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pelsall
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I planned our trip to Zanzibar, as a surprise to celebrate my Husband’s 50th birthday, as we had considered it on several occasions in the past, but always gone back to our safe option of the Caribbean. Having liased with Kim Bird, the General Manager at Royal Zanzibar, prior to our arrival, everything went perfectly to plan.

We flew Kenya Airways, via Nairobi, arriving in resort late morning, after just over an hours transfer. First impressions of the island, including those on landing, were the sheer poverty of the country – this is Africa. But on arrival at the Royal Zanzibar, we entered a completely different world - an incredibly spacious, open air reception with views directly down to the sea. After a very quick check in, Kim personally accompanied us to our room, which was without question, amazing. Definitely the biggest room we have ever stayed in and with views to die for, directly over the Indian Ocean. Our room had everything we could have asked for. Huge 4 poster bed, lots and lots of storage space, flat screen TV, kettle, fridge and a huge bath for two! It was also spotlessly clean, attended to by our maid Jesca twice a day. Our towels were changed as they were used and our bed turned down every evening.

The resort itself is incredibly spacious, and despite being fully occupied when we arrived, it felt as if we more or less had it to ourselves. All rooms have fantastic views and can enjoy the spectacular sunsets. The pools are massive and again spotlessly clean – some of the nicest we have encountered in many years of travel. The surrounding grounds are obviously lovingly cared for by the gardeners, who were constantly planting, pruning and mowing the lawns. There are plenty of sun loungers around the many pools and on the beach front, with incredibly comfy padded toppers. Beach towels were available as and when we needed them and could be changed at any time.

The bars all have their own individual characteristics. The main ‘Mapenzi’ bar is situated by the main restaurant, ‘Spices’, and a lovely setting for an afternoon drink, surrounded by ponds with small fountains and lots of fish. The ‘Upepo’ bar is the swim up bar – very quiet, as very few people seemed to use its pool. ‘Cocos’ bar has a restaurant for afternoon snacks or pizza, and then on an evening serves ‘Samaki’ restaurant. This must be pre-booked on an evening and is an additional cost, with a choice of menus, but well worth it. The service was excellent, in an intimate setting, which was perfect for a wonderful candlelit meal. Our favourite bar was the ‘Baraza’ bar set above the beach bar, on the beach itself. It captured a lovely breeze on an afternoon, and a great view point to just watch the world go by. Ramadhan, the barman, would make a point of coming up to us on a regular basis to check whether we needed a drinks top up – great service. But this has to be said of all the barmen who were all superb. We took water, milk, beer and soft drinks back to our room from the bars as we needed them.

Meals, all buffet style, were served in ‘Spices’ with the exception of special evenings, such as the ‘Beach BBQ’, Garden Dinner and African Evening in the Theatre. Our personal favourite was the ‘Beach BBQ’ for the setting, live band and atmosphere. We also experienced a private meal on the beach, served on a low table with large mattresses to sit on covered in decorative drapes. The surrounding area was lit by candles and decorated with flowers. A wonderful experience, most definitely recommended, even though a cost option.

We went on two half day excursions during our stay, which were very reasonably priced. The first was to the Jozani Forest to see the mangroves and Red Colombus Monkeys and the second to Stone Town. This was an experience not to be missed but not for the faint hearted. This showed the real Zanzibar and its history, from slavery to Dr Livingstone, the old buildings to the markets.

During our stay, we were lucky enough to see dolphins in the sea directly from our balcony along with sailfish jumping high out of the water. In addition to these, numerous lizards, geckos and praying mantis, although very few birds, with the exception of Indian Crows and Sparrows. Zanzibar is without question beautiful, with the bluest of seas and the softest pure white sand, which easily matches the Maldives. The views really are to die for.

No matter where I travel, I usually suffer with mosquito and sand fly bites, but despite this being Africa, and taking Malarone tablets, I am very happy to say I didn’t have one single bite! That was a real result! We did use insect repellent, but that doesn’t normally stop them.

Our only negative points were firstly, the buffet food, which we struggled to take to, although the snack restaurant, at ‘Coco’s Bar’ more than made up for this, especially the fact they had ‘HP’ sauce! The fresh fruit was really tasty, especially the pineapple. Our only other issue was with the wine, of which the choice was limited. We are both wine lovers and initially disappointed not to find anything to our liking, although we did get used to it. Spirits are local brands. The mixers are all bottled and all Coca Cola branded.

We couldn’t fault anything else at all. The staff were all so friendly, but we do believe in going out of our way to make them feel special. They all work so hard, in sweltering heat, yet still have wonderful smiles and will always say ‘Jambo’, no matter what role they have. If you don’t talk to them and try to engage in conversation then they are unlikely to be responsive back. They are all very respectful of their new General Manager, Kim Bird, who is working incredibly hard to improve everything she possibly can, including team spirit. As she has only been there since June, I would expect the hotel to continually improve as time goes on, including the choice of wines.

Special thanks must go to Mgaya and Mosin for their company and patience in trying to teach us Swahili, and also to Miriam, Anna, Mbaracka, Kapi, Charles, Robert and Ally. All very individual characters, but they all played a huge role in making our trip one never to be forgotten.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Toniya,

Thank you so much for your lovely and detailed review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

It was such a pleasure to help you with the surprise for Kevin and we're delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us so much. Your kind remarks regarding our various staff members have been passed on to them, we love being able to acknowledge their contribution this way.

I appreciated you taking the time to speak with me while you were here regarding the food and wines. It's always disappointing when all else is well that one or two aspects get in the way of a perfect stay. We do everything we can to provide a wide and varied selection of foods and will continue to try new things to ensure all of our guests enjoy their meals. We're only sorry that in Spices we were unable to strike the right note for you.

Thank you once again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the resort for 7 days from 01- - 6 Oct after a weeks Safari in the Mara. First impressions of the resort is excellent, we were met at the airport and had a nice drive to the hotel where reception greeted us with a nice coconut drink. The staff gave a full brief on hotel facilities and we were escorted to our lovely clean bedroom. The staff member explained all facilities as we walked to the room. The bedrooms are huge and the bathrooms are excellent with all facilities. There are coffee and tea making facilities in the room, but after the first two nights this ran out and despite asking for a replen at reception we did not get any more supplies until the last day, which was disappointing. We always carry our own so had enough to cater for our needs but one would have hoped after asking reception it would have been sorted.

The pools and beech are very good and very empty. We have never been to a resort where you had so much spare space to enjoy the water. the beech boys are present like other resorts but they were very polite and did not bother you unless you wanted to talk to them. We arranged a lovely trip to an Island for snorkling with one of them for $30.

The food in the Spices restaurant is typical buffet spread but you would never go hungry. Alex supplied a good selection to cover all tastes. The only down side was there was never any ice cream. Theme nights around the complex are also catered for and are well advertised at the dining room entrance each morning. These theme nights also have entertainment on but unfortunately this is not advertised and if you leave dinner early you miss the entertainment.

The food at the coco bar is equally as good and we found eating lunch there made a nice change.

The only thing that spoils the food is the out dated smoking policy. We had to move twice during our meals due to inconsiderate customers smoking during courses on the dining veranda. I can put up with smoke in a bar but smoking during meal sittings should be banned.

The dining room does suffer with a lack of salt and pepper pots etc on the tables. You had to collect cruet sets from other tables if you wanted them. The staff did move it sometimes but only on request. A 5 star-dining facility should have these available on all tables.

The bars serve lovely cocktails and it was always pleasant sipping a cocktail at sunset, the only problem is that there is a shortage of cocktail glasses and cocktails were regulary served in a beer tumbler. This was reluctantly rectified when I complained but but it should never happen. You pride yourself on your cocktails now procure the glasses to show them off

The biggest problem I see in the resort in where the beech staff place towels on set "Special Guest" sunbeds early in the morning. This resulted in no towels being available until a second delivery had arrived. When I asked if I could take one of the towels from an empty bed I was quoted they were for special guests who always like to use that bed. One day 10 beds were reserved for a large family that had gone of on a day trip, this meant that some guests had to find beds away from the beech / pool area. This is like being in Spain in the 1980's. I did comment that I would speak to management and was then immediately issued with two towels.

The staff are very friendly but do tend to forget drink orders in the spice restaurant, in the Coco bar they have pads to write down orders and it never happens there which may be a hint for the spice dining room.

Overall we had a lovely peaceful time in the hotel. It is a nice place to stay and yes there are some negative comments above that could easily be rectified if management walked around and sat / ate where the customers did and not in secluded staff areas. (Mystery Customers come to mind) to see what staff are doing on a day to day basis.

I would recommend the resort and some of the points above are small but I work in the business and carry out inspections on establishments regularly which does give me a slight edge on what to look for and expect.

Room Tip: All rooms are well located and very nice. Take some extra coffee making kit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Rick,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and very much appreciated your suggestions for improvement.

I'm sorry that we hadn't addressed the smoking policy before you mentioned it, but it has been addressed now and there is no smoking allowed in the restaurants or on the restaurant terraces. We have also addressed the issue of saving beach beds, our team is well aware that this is against our policies and this is no longer happening.

Thank you once again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa;cape town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

As usual Zanzibar lived up to its fantastic reputation. The staff, from Anderson to Kim to the waiters and domestic staff were friendly, helpful and excellent all round. The facilities were great, wonderful pools, deck loungers and restaurants. The perfect combination for a wonderfully relaxing holiday. We would definately return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

Anderson was delighted with his first mention in Trip Advisor and it's always such a pleasure to be able to thank our whole team for their hard work!

Thank you once again for choosing us for your stay in Nungwi and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woumen, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Beautiful hotel and a top location. Neat rooms, good food, friendly staff. Negative: too many Italians making them get preferential treatment and further establish themself above the guests!Nevertheless, I would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Laetitia,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful review on Trip Advisor!

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and even more pleased that you would return! It was a pleasure to share your comments with the whole team.

I am sorry that you found preferential treatment for the Italian guests. We continually search for ways to ensure that this doesn't happen but will have to work harder at it. We want to ensure that all of our guests have a fantastic time no matter where they have travelled from. I hope that on your return, you'll be able to report that we're doing a better job in this area.

Thank you once again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bois-de-Lessines, Hainaut, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Wonderful, merveillous. We have spent a very unforgettable honey moon. Thanks to the complete "package". See sightning, hotel location, hotel staff, the food was excellent. The only thing that we expected was "more sun". Too many clouds during our stay. Even without a lot of sun, we came back home very brown ;-) the t° was very very warm !

Room Tip: You must choose a room in front of the swimming pools & the indian ocean. I wish you the same p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us!

I have passed your remarks to the Chef and the staff about the food and service, it's always such a pleasure to be able to share these comments with them.

As for the weather, we're so sorry it didn't cooperate! We keep trying, but so far no matter what kind of "sun dance" we do, once in a while it's cloudy and rainy.... We're glad that you managed to take home a holiday tan to show off in spite of the weather!

Thank you once again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Actually we 'only' spent 7 days in this beautiful resort, but we left totally relaxed and refreshed! We couldn't name anything bad about this hotel as the staff is friendly, happy and very helpful, the pools and the deckchair-area are just amazing, the beach is beautiful, the food is excellent and there is a big choice of food, the rooms were clean and every night we had another decoration on our bed... we could go on and on and on...
We can only recommend this hotel to everyone who looks for paradise on earth, quiet time, quality time and being surrounded by happy people!
Asante sana!! It was wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Steph,

Asante Sana for your wonderful review!

I'm not sure which part is better, that you couldn't name anything that was bad in the hotel or that you would recommend it to anyone looking for paradise on earth! Your kind remarks are very much appreciated and will be passed on to the entire team. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much!

Thank you once again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Address: North Coast | PO Box 3425, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular view of the Indian Ocean from almost anywhere on the resort makes this all-inclusive property a wonderful choice for those guests looking for a peaceful and relaxing vacation. Fantastic swimming pools, a beautiful beach with clear, turquoise waters and amazing sunsets just add to the ambiance! The rooms are large, approximately 80 square metres for Superior Rooms and 100 square metres for Suites. A spacious bathroom with a double bathtub, separate shower and double sinks provide luxurious comfort. All rooms include a quiet split-unit air conditioner, TV, fridge, coffee and tea making facilities, a safe and a terrace from which to enjoy the view. The warm, friendly staff invite you to enjoy meals in the buffet restaurant with a varied selection of local and international dishes or a traditional pizza oven near the beach offers a quick snack while you relax by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel Nungwi
Seaclub Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.