We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Z Hotel Zanzibar to your Saves list
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Honeymoon couples
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The food was great, the service and staff were extremely accommodating and gracious. The rooms are cozy. Good location and lovely views from our garden view room. I will definitely recommend this place and definitely return in the near future to Z hotel. I miss the place dearly already.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    138
    37
    17
    19
See reviews for
53
401
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Z hotel for 10 days in August 2014, we were quite a few people in Nungwi and most of us stayed at the Z. This hotel is quite small, very boutiqe and so friendly. The staff were amazing, always smiley and friendly and even the manager makes an effort to talk to you and make sure your stay is perfect. The rooms all have fantastic views and are very clean. Breakfast is included and it is a nice breakfast buffay. Other meals are served during the day, you can't pay in cash, everything goes on your room tab.
They also offer massages, which is one of the best massages I've ever had!
The location is perfect, right on the beach, all hotels in Nungwi are easily accessible in low tide, during high tide, some of the hotels and restaurants are accessible via the path way.
Overall, we had a fantastic stay, we were very well looked after (we stayed there before our wedding so we were very pampered at the Z hotel). Overall, fantastic hotel, I so recommend it!

Room Tip: Unfortunately, some rooms can be quite noisy due to a nearby pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Jambo!
This was our second visit, and already planning our third visit.
Z hotel is a wonderful hotel in a perfect spot in nungwi, beautiful pool area where you can sit and watch African sunset.
The management Julie and Celine were wonderful, and treated us as friends.
I used the spa for a facial whilst my hubby dived and what a treat it was.
The pool bar staff were wonderful and chatted every day to us, such a warm friendly hotel.
Rooms provide toiletries, hair dryers, robes and my favourite turn down service!

Weather was fantastic whilst we were there,take good sunscreen cos it was 34c!

Go into the village and see how the villagers live, we bought the kids some footballs and lollies and they were thrilled.

Also do try the bats nearby, we ate everyday at them and no tummy problems whatsoever.

Any questions please ask, but if your thinking about booking don't hesitate you will love it!
Can't wait to return. Hakunamata !

Room Tip: Most room provide a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Undoubtedly one of the best hotels We have stayed in . Great , Professional and caring service by all staff, Outstanding well thought out design, Great food , Breathtaking beach views, Affordable rates, Fun water sports activities, Comfort and serenity.We stayed here for 4 days and we had nothing to complain about. We will definitely be back. We felt very well treated from reservation to check out by the kind staff. Thanks guys. It was one of our best holidays!

Room Tip: Deluxe Sea View Rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked the Z hotel online on the same day as arrival, reception staff was unable to confirm booking immediately. Due to delays management upgraded our stay from standard room to room 36 which is the top suite in the hotel and it was unbelievable. Boutique styled hotel rooms, fully equipped bedroom, living room with flat screen TV and two adjacent balconies with views onto the Indian ocean. A lot of space for only 2 people. Excellent A/C, plumbing runs on salt water, bathroom robes, iPod player, coded safe, room service excellent. Infinity pool is great and beach bar perfect also beach towels provided. Coded wifi is free. Two choice of restaurants (advice: go early for breakfast to avoid the heat of the sun which rises early as no seating is available in the shade). Excellent staff and service.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located at the most beautiful beach and one of the nicest places in Zanzibar. Its not mattering if you have low or hightide you can go for a swim everytime in the crystalclear water right in front of you. The rooms are in a modern design and equipped with everything you need, from the hairdryer to the safe and the tv. The Zhotel offers you different lunch and dinnerplaces. So you can choose out of a variety of different meals. the staff is really dedicated and you see that they are well trained and used to fulfill every wish of their guest.Definitely a good place to spend your holidays.

Room Tip: Room 22 garden view, but you get a glimpse of the beach out of the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's a great hotel at a beautiful beach. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the ocean, which I recommend because the sunset is wonderful and you want to sit there and watch it in the evening.

The room was modern and had everything we needed, it's not very big but you don't spend much time inside anyway. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and had a mosquito net. The wifi was a bit slow but worked just fine for simple things.

The hotel has a small cafe, two restaurants and a rooftop bar. The food was good but not gourmet. The pool area with a pool bar was nice, never crowded and only a few steps from the ocean where you also could go for a swim.

The staff was very helpful and kind. When we arrived early they let us use a room to change and later they let us we check in to our room two hours early. The day we left they also let us use a room to change after we hade checked out from our room. Nothing was a problem.

I would definitely come back to this hotel if I go to Zanzibar again!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Z Hotel Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.