We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Z Hotel Zanzibar to your Saves list
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We've been back from honeymoon for a week now, and still wishing we were back at the Z hotel. We stayed at the very beginning of the season, so the hotel had a quiet, exclusive feel to it. We chose the Z, as we prefer botique, unique hotels over large chain hotels, and we are so SO glad we chose the Z hotel.
The pool area was stunning - we didnt want to read, as we felt like we should be admiring the view the whole time!
We stayed in one of the beach front cottages - WOW! Worth the extra - we watched the sunset from our huge private balcony and fell asleep to the sound of the waves evreynight. The suite was massive, and spotlessly cleaned everyday.
Breakfasts were served until 10:30 - great if you fancy a lie-in, and the choice was huge! I particularly enjoyed nutella on pancakes with the freshest fruit I have ever tasted.
We ate in the cinamon bar a few times - the food was delicious and reasonable. We only ate in the Saruche restaruant once, but the food and service was impecable - and what a setting! The staff were friendly, gracious and couldn't be more helpful. They really make it - you can have a supurb building with rude staff, and it can ruin a place - not so here - everything was perfect!

We cannot recommend this hotel enough - just paradise!

Room Tip: Cottage 1 was very private and had unparalled views - fall asleep to the waves crshing bneath your f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZHotel, General Manager at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
My team and myself are delighted to receive your feedback.

It was our honor to provide the perfect backdrop for your honeymoon. We know how important it is to provide a memorable experience for this all important vacation.

We endeavor to meet the highest standards when it comes to gourmet meals and my team in the culinary department leaves no stone unturned to ensure our guests have a thoroughly memorable time and enjoy their meals to the maximum. Thank you for availing your fabulous feedback on the meals you had during your stay with us.

We wish you all the best for the future & you are most welcome back at any time.

Warmly,

Mohammed Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This Z hotel certainly has the wow factor, with a lovely relaxed feel to it, the rooms are stunning! modern and spotlessly clean.We stayed in room 39 which had a balcony with an amazing sea view where we chilled out and watched some of the best sunsets I have ever seen. Each day a different flower display was arranged on the bed by the maid which was a lovely touch. The hotel has its own private area of the beach, where sun loungers and umbrellas are provided, we were more than happy to leave our belonging here knowing security were watching over this area. Above the beach is a lovely, decked area with an infinity pool, pool bar and more loungers and umbrellas, there were enough to go round so no getting up early to try and get one. We ate our meals in Saruche Restaurant where the food and atmosphere was excellent and the staff were so helpful and friendly. Just like to say a big thank you to all the staff for making our stay at the Z hotel so good and memorable and I have no hesitation in recommending the Z hotel, you'll love it!!!!

Room Tip: Room 39 has amazing sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madapple13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZHotel, General Manager at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your amazing review here.

It is really nice to see that you had a great time during your recent stay with us and that you enjoyed the beautiful ambiance and setting of the hotel. Thank you again such a positive response spurs us on to even bigger & better heights.

Thank you,

Mohammed Zaki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We came to stay here for 10 nights having come from a 4 day Safari in a luxury camp and were afraid that nothing could live up to Kirawira camp but the Z Hotel did just that.

We went for the half board option (breakfast and dinner) and actually ended up eating all of our meals there. For dinner you have 2 options, a formal and cafe type meal. The formal meal in particular stood out. Food was excellent.

The room was very nice with a sea view. Was cleaned thoroughly every day and presented very well with floral decorations on the bed each day.

The pool was great and the pool area as well as private section of the beach were perfect. The sunsets are remarkable.

We used the PADI dive centre, East Africa Dive centre in the hotel and found them to be excellent.

The security was excellent and reassuring to think that we could leave all of our stuff by the pool for a few hrs while we went for a walk, etc..

There is wifi in most parts of the hotel.

We had a few quick power cuts but hey, we were in Africa!

The outstanding thing about Z though is the staff. They were all so friendly and helpful. I would recommend the Z to anybody looking for a nice, friendly,chilled out hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe sea view was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZHotel, General Manager at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
It was an equal pleasure for us to have these great guests staying with us & very reassuring to note that our facilities were utilized & enjoyed.

Our fabulous staff have yet again been commended for providing a great service with enthusiasm & pleasure.

Many thanks.

Mohammed Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This place was luxury after 2 weeks working in hospitals in Dar. Highly recommend staying up in the North, its chilled and what I call a holiday. As for the Z Hotel, we had a big group of 20 and everything was awesome. We all did the inclusive package which was the best way to go. The food was yum. The beach is beautiful and you can walk along at night very safely. The POOL is the BEST! Its not a big hotel chain thing which we all loved.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyDNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZHotel, General Manager at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
We are delighted that the group had a great time while staying with us. Such a supportive response reinforces our resolution to provide a perfect & memorable experience.

Many thanks.

Mohammed Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

The room was quite small with a mouldy bathroom. The restaurant had lovely food, great service, but the bar had ony fried food and average service. The pool area was very nice, but the pool towels were folded and resused without being washed. It was worth the price until breakfast. Coming from Australia, we are used to flies, but I have never seen anything like the flies at the breakfast buffet. It limited the choice of hot food because nothing could be left out, and even as you were eating, you were constantly swatting away flies. One hand eat with the other hand on fly duty. Would we stay here again? No. Would we recommend it to others? Probably not.




Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CandAseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZHotel, General Manager at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
We are always very grateful for constructive comments regarding the hotel which helps us in our continuous endeavor to provide an excellent & satisfactory experience. We have recently reopened after our annual shutdown, during which time, all of our rooms underwent some refurbishment, particularly the bathrooms.

In our restaurants, our intention is to provide a varied selection of tastes, from fine dining to home made burgers & pizzas, with a good variety of options in between, from dishes cooked with local spices to fresh catch of the day. Both of our restaurants reflect this.

Thankfully we are not continuously plagued by flies – they appear a couple of times a year & their appearance is short lived. Like the other establishments in the area, we have tried all sorts of different remedies & finally believe that table fans blowing across the table are the best solution but we are open to suggestions.

Many Thanks

Mohammed Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at the Z-Hotel on recommendation from a friend who had visited the year before. After an incredible 6 day safari in Tanzania, a stop in Zanzibar and our stay at the Z-Hotel was the perfect end to an amazing trip.

As we are really not into huge all-inclusive resorts, we loved the boutique feel of the Z-Hotel. It is a small hotel with a few restaurants an infinity pool and it's own section of the beach. It has a trendy feel to it with chill out music playing at the pool bar.

It was great that they had security overlooking their section of the beach and you can leave your belongings safely on the beach while you swim.

We requested a sea view room which was not obscured by trees and this is precisely what we got. Staff were all super friendly and professional, the room was gorgeous with a balcony.

Food is reasonably good at the restaurants (one casual, one more formal) though service is friendly but slow. I was very ill one night after eating at the more formal restaurant but as my husband and I shared our dishes and he wasn't ill, it was hard to say what it was.

We did not experience any major power outages. The power went out a couple of times as it does in countries like this, but only for about 30 seconds and was restored very quickly. By the time I'd found the torch it was back on.

My only criticism is the hotel's provision of a free diving less voucher with East Africa Diving Nungwi (part of the hotel complex) which is then not honoured by East Africa Diving (please see my review on East Africa Diving).

Overall, highly recommended especially if your prefer a boutique hotel feel. The sunsets from the pool are to die for!

Room Tip: Request a sea view room where the view is not obscured by trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brancar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A beautiful hotel right on the beach, small and exotic, just like Zanzibar. Breakfast was one the best buffets I have enjoyed. The hot selection had different potatoes dishes each day and there was also a hot vegetarian medley. The staff were all very lovely and happy to help. There are plenty of places to eat and drink along the beach, for the best Zanzibar curry head for 'The Nungwi Inn Restuarant' about 50 meters along the beach, sit at a table on the beach with a tilly lamp to read the menu by...we took US dollars but we could have exchaned our notes easily enough at the hotel next door (meters away along with shops) a good exchange rates.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs then pick a lower floor room, power failures do happen, thats why there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redpikelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
9.4 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
10.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
6.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
17.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 158 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
9.2 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing