We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Beautiful Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Z Hotel Zanzibar to your Saves list
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Honeymoon couples
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most Beautiful Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had the best time at the Z Hotel in Zanzibar! We stayed in the cottage. The room and views were absolutely breathtaking!!! We felt like we were in paradise. The food was great, the pool was nice, and the beach was good. We loved every minute of it! I would go back in a heartbeat, if I could!

Room Tip: Stay in the cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    138
    37
    17
    19
See reviews for
53
401
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel was a little piece of paradise! The water was warm and a beautiful blue. We were in the Deluxe Sea View rooms which were outstanding! I would highly recommend these rooms if you go to this hotel! Very spacious and comfortable and right on the water! Beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

If you want a boutique hotel experience that is so close to the beach you have to raise your voice to be heard over the waves, book this hotel. If you can afford it, ask for a cottage room. It is a two story room perched over the ocean. Spectacular view. Negatives: the a/c unit in the bedroom was noisy and the temp control didn't work. We froze to death with it on and roasted to death from the heat if we left it off. Tried to get maintenance to fix it, but it never improved. Couldn't leave the doors open since the mosquitos were abundent and the bed netting couldn't keep them all out. The water pressure in the shower was good but there is zero counter space in the bathroom which was hard for two people. A tv hanging inside the canopy bed was a bit tacky as well.

There is a private beach area for the hotel but it blends with the main beach and doesn't feel exclusive. The pool area is very nice - infinity pool, well stocked bar and plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas. However, many of the umbrellas are broken from the high winds and the pool water wasn't cleaned daily and smelled a little off at times. Unlimited free internet / wifi in the library area with two computers for guest use.

The food in the restaurant and the bar was quite good. Lots of variety on the menus too. Downside was very slow service, go before you are hungry.

Big downside to this hotel and the area in general is that it was more than an hour drive from the airport to the hotel.

Room Tip: Cottages have the best view and the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We splurged for our holiday and booked the roof top suite for our belated honeymoon. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and could recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a couple of days to relax, unwind and rest. Our room was perfect and well worth the money. Beautiful beach walks were enjoyed daily and cocktails watching the sunset. Staff are friendly and helpful. Buffet breaks was yummy especially the porridge when u have been travelling for a month, and dinner was good quality delicious food with professional friendly wait staff. Definitely worth a visit anyone heading to zanibar for a holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel is really worth a visit. Not only because of the very, very nice rooms, superb location on the absolutely beautiful beach (and the nicest strecht of it) but also for its very nice staff, very good food and top service.
We had the best possible time here and if we're going back to the northern part of Zanzibar, which I'm sure we will, this is the hotel we will book.
If you have the possibility and the bit of extra money, book one of the two ocean front cottages.
We did and it was... bliss and luxury.
The Z Hotel is just the right size, it has a familiar feeling without being small. We just loved it here!!!
Camilla

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Beautiful hotel, wonderful pool, gorgeous beach, and a fun staff. It's a great place to relax whether you want to kick back on the beach or at the pool. Take a walk through Nungwi. It's a safe place and all the people were very inviting.

Room Tip: Get the 2 story cottage on the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was there on October 2011. I did the open water course there and I had a lot of fun with my dive teacher louise. He's a very nice and friendly guy with patience. We took some unterwater photos, which is not usual. unfortunately, we didn't see some sharks, but some colorful corals. The riff ist not damaged like on other places in the world. Now I dive over the whole world and have to say, that I would come back- The dinner was very good, we had some tradicional food. The staff was very friendly and it was definitly the best stay of my trip. The water was cristal clear and the beach white like a paper - just beautiful.

Room Tip: We had a garden room, it was big and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Z Hotel Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.