We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Nungwi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Save Saved
You added The Z Hotel Zanzibar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay 3 nights, stay 4
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best in Nungwi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

If you want a boutique hotel experience that is so close to the beach you have to raise your voice to be heard over the waves, book this hotel. If you can afford it, ask for a cottage room. It is a two story room perched over the ocean. Spectacular view. Negatives: the a/c unit in the bedroom was noisy and the temp control didn't work. We froze to death with it on and roasted to death from the heat if we left it off. Tried to get maintenance to fix it, but it never improved. Couldn't leave the doors open since the mosquitos were abundent and the bed netting couldn't keep them all out. The water pressure in the shower was good but there is zero counter space in the bathroom which was hard for two people. A tv hanging inside the canopy bed was a bit tacky as well.

There is a private beach area for the hotel but it blends with the main beach and doesn't feel exclusive. The pool area is very nice - infinity pool, well stocked bar and plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas. However, many of the umbrellas are broken from the high winds and the pool water wasn't cleaned daily and smelled a little off at times. Unlimited free internet / wifi in the library area with two computers for guest use.

The food in the restaurant and the bar was quite good. Lots of variety on the menus too. Downside was very slow service, go before you are hungry.

Big downside to this hotel and the area in general is that it was more than an hour drive from the airport to the hotel.

Room Tip: Cottages have the best view and the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    117
    36
    17
    19
See reviews for
49
358
28
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We splurged for our holiday and booked the roof top suite for our belated honeymoon. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and could recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a couple of days to relax, unwind and rest. Our room was perfect and well worth the money. Beautiful beach walks were enjoyed daily and cocktails watching the sunset. Staff are friendly and helpful. Buffet breaks was yummy especially the porridge when u have been travelling for a month, and dinner was good quality delicious food with professional friendly wait staff. Definitely worth a visit anyone heading to zanibar for a holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel is really worth a visit. Not only because of the very, very nice rooms, superb location on the absolutely beautiful beach (and the nicest strecht of it) but also for its very nice staff, very good food and top service.
We had the best possible time here and if we're going back to the northern part of Zanzibar, which I'm sure we will, this is the hotel we will book.
If you have the possibility and the bit of extra money, book one of the two ocean front cottages.
We did and it was... bliss and luxury.
The Z Hotel is just the right size, it has a familiar feeling without being small. We just loved it here!!!
Camilla

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Beautiful hotel, wonderful pool, gorgeous beach, and a fun staff. It's a great place to relax whether you want to kick back on the beach or at the pool. Take a walk through Nungwi. It's a safe place and all the people were very inviting.

Room Tip: Get the 2 story cottage on the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was there on October 2011. I did the open water course there and I had a lot of fun with my dive teacher louise. He's a very nice and friendly guy with patience. We took some unterwater photos, which is not usual. unfortunately, we didn't see some sharks, but some colorful corals. The riff ist not damaged like on other places in the world. Now I dive over the whole world and have to say, that I would come back- The dinner was very good, we had some tradicional food. The staff was very friendly and it was definitly the best stay of my trip. The water was cristal clear and the beach white like a paper - just beautiful.

Room Tip: We had a garden room, it was big and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

After bumping around in a Safari vehicle for the last 10 days, we were thrilled when we arrived at The Z. They greeted us with cool face cloths and welcome drinks which was lovely, and then gave us a tour of the property before showing us to our room.

The rooms were great, we had a great view of the beach, 2 twin beds with each bed having their own TV (!), mosquito nets which is nice, and a great shower. There is wifi on the property and we were able to get a weak signal from the room, but around the pool or at the bar there was great wifi service.

The beach is BEAUTIFUL as well as the pool is great. A few people have said the chairs go around the pool quickly, which they do, but there are always chairs availible on the beach. Whenever we would get there if there werent any towels left, we would just ask one of the guys behind the bar and they would be sure to bring them to us wherever we were sitting. The best part of the pool is that it is an infinity pool overlooking the beach/ocean. The other hotels in the area had pools quite far from the beach with no view.

We enjoyed the restaurants, and traveling with a veggie, she still had lots of options.
FYI - the service is SLOW. There were lots of people that were very upset and agitated by this, but we figured we are on vacation, we aren't in a rush, so we would just order a drink and relax and chat while we waited for food. But I suggest going 45 min before you are hungry, because it isnt North American service speeds.

The staff were very friendly and always happy to help. We had issues with our air conditioning and they fixed it right away, and when we had a few questions about our bill on checking out, they quickly answered our concerns and they never made it seem like an issue. We also had to check out at 11am but werent leaving the hotel until 4pm and they were more than happy to let us use the spa to shower and get dressed before we left. This was a GREAT service which is rare and we really appreciated the thought.

We were 2 girls in our 20's and yes there were lots of people on their honeymoon, but there were other young travelers and families there so you didnt feel overwhelmed by the romantic couples. I would highly suggest this hotel to anyone looking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaltbommel, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the Z hotel at th beginning of jan. It was there perfect place to end our trip to Tanzania and to recover from climbing Kilimanjaro. Really relaxed atmosphere, beautiful pool and beach. We were really impressed with the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Z Hotel Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.