We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience at z hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Save Saved
You added The Z Hotel Zanzibar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay 3 nights, stay 4
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience at z hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We splurged for our holiday and booked the roof top suite for our belated honeymoon. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and could recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a couple of days to relax, unwind and rest. Our room was perfect and well worth the money. Beautiful beach walks were enjoyed daily and cocktails watching the sunset. Staff are friendly and helpful. Buffet breaks was yummy especially the porridge when u have been travelling for a month, and dinner was good quality delicious food with professional friendly wait staff. Definitely worth a visit anyone heading to zanibar for a holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    117
    36
    17
    19
See reviews for
49
358
28
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel is really worth a visit. Not only because of the very, very nice rooms, superb location on the absolutely beautiful beach (and the nicest strecht of it) but also for its very nice staff, very good food and top service.
We had the best possible time here and if we're going back to the northern part of Zanzibar, which I'm sure we will, this is the hotel we will book.
If you have the possibility and the bit of extra money, book one of the two ocean front cottages.
We did and it was... bliss and luxury.
The Z Hotel is just the right size, it has a familiar feeling without being small. We just loved it here!!!
Camilla

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Beautiful hotel, wonderful pool, gorgeous beach, and a fun staff. It's a great place to relax whether you want to kick back on the beach or at the pool. Take a walk through Nungwi. It's a safe place and all the people were very inviting.

Room Tip: Get the 2 story cottage on the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was there on October 2011. I did the open water course there and I had a lot of fun with my dive teacher louise. He's a very nice and friendly guy with patience. We took some unterwater photos, which is not usual. unfortunately, we didn't see some sharks, but some colorful corals. The riff ist not damaged like on other places in the world. Now I dive over the whole world and have to say, that I would come back- The dinner was very good, we had some tradicional food. The staff was very friendly and it was definitly the best stay of my trip. The water was cristal clear and the beach white like a paper - just beautiful.

Room Tip: We had a garden room, it was big and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

After bumping around in a Safari vehicle for the last 10 days, we were thrilled when we arrived at The Z. They greeted us with cool face cloths and welcome drinks which was lovely, and then gave us a tour of the property before showing us to our room.

The rooms were great, we had a great view of the beach, 2 twin beds with each bed having their own TV (!), mosquito nets which is nice, and a great shower. There is wifi on the property and we were able to get a weak signal from the room, but around the pool or at the bar there was great wifi service.

The beach is BEAUTIFUL as well as the pool is great. A few people have said the chairs go around the pool quickly, which they do, but there are always chairs availible on the beach. Whenever we would get there if there werent any towels left, we would just ask one of the guys behind the bar and they would be sure to bring them to us wherever we were sitting. The best part of the pool is that it is an infinity pool overlooking the beach/ocean. The other hotels in the area had pools quite far from the beach with no view.

We enjoyed the restaurants, and traveling with a veggie, she still had lots of options.
FYI - the service is SLOW. There were lots of people that were very upset and agitated by this, but we figured we are on vacation, we aren't in a rush, so we would just order a drink and relax and chat while we waited for food. But I suggest going 45 min before you are hungry, because it isnt North American service speeds.

The staff were very friendly and always happy to help. We had issues with our air conditioning and they fixed it right away, and when we had a few questions about our bill on checking out, they quickly answered our concerns and they never made it seem like an issue. We also had to check out at 11am but werent leaving the hotel until 4pm and they were more than happy to let us use the spa to shower and get dressed before we left. This was a GREAT service which is rare and we really appreciated the thought.

We were 2 girls in our 20's and yes there were lots of people on their honeymoon, but there were other young travelers and families there so you didnt feel overwhelmed by the romantic couples. I would highly suggest this hotel to anyone looking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaltbommel, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the Z hotel at th beginning of jan. It was there perfect place to end our trip to Tanzania and to recover from climbing Kilimanjaro. Really relaxed atmosphere, beautiful pool and beach. We were really impressed with the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I and two of her sisters and a boyfriend of one of them stayed at the Z Hotel for 3 nights from Jan. 8-11, 2013. We were staying at the Amaan Bungalows next door but couldn't stand that place so we walked next door to the Z to see if there were rooms available. Lucky for us there was availability and I was also able to negotiate a 15% discount on the rooms we booked right at the desk. December thru February is high season with many Europeans coming down to escape the northern cold so we did well on the price.

Julie, Ruth and Nisa were most accomodating and took care of us right away. My wife and I had a top floor seaview room with the most amazing views of the Indian Ocean, pool, beach, etc. The room was spotless and totally modern with all the ammenities you need (safe, TV, robes, hairdryer, fridge, bottled water daily, etc). There was a nice balcony with plenty of room to sit and watch the sunset and the daily soccer game played on the beach at sunset by the locals.

I was quite surprised to see negative reviews of this hotel and some of the photos of the bathrooms that people posted, however that was a few years ago and they must have totally renovated the washrooms because ours was like brand new. The rooms were not huge (however the bathrooms were a good size) but were totally fine and the bed was great. What was also very nice was that there were NO bugs or anything like that getting into the rooms. You didn't even need the mosquito netting for sleeping if you didn't want it. The A/C worked extremely well too.

What I liked about the hotel the most was the pool and the associated tropical landscaping. It was just so beautiful and relaxing. Good sized umbrellas to block out the scorching hot sun if you needed. The pool area is not that big so best to get down a bit early to reserve a lounger if you can. They also have a private area on the beach which have comfortable loungers and umbrella's too. There is a pool bar with waiter service for the pool and beach areas. The guys that work the pool bar are hilarious and are quite the characters. They have a good happy hour with fancy cocktails for $5 each.

The breakfast buffet was by far the best of all our hotels on this trip to Tanzania. Huge selection to choose from and made to order eggs, etc. They put fans on the tables to help keep the flies away while you are eating. Flies are a fact of daily life in that country so you just got to accept it!!

We never ate dinner there however we did eat lunch one afternoon in the Cinnamon bar upstairs above the main restaurant. The food off the menu was good but not amazing (especially for the price). The views were amazing but the service up there was marginal. The staff seem to be quite disorganized and slow even know there was about 7 of them working at the time and there were only about 20 customers in there. English seemed to be a challenge with them unlike any other part of the hotel.

They have free internet on their two computers in the "library" above the reception area which worked well and for ocean related activities, they have their own operation which I would definitely trust and recommend as some of the other operators in the area (not all) were very sketchy.

Overall this was good value, not crowded, quiet and lucky for us there were no loud kids running around as it seems to be more focused on the adult only market which was awesome. At night though you may hear music (not going too late) coming from the many beach bars and associated restaurants that are in the area. I would honestly say though that there probably are not many hotels that are able to escape this. This was not an issue for us.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool and/or ocean. The higher floors are the "seaview" rooms as you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Z Hotel Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.