We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little piece of paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Save Saved
You added The Z Hotel Zanzibar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Honeymoon couples
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Little piece of paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This boutique hotel is the perfect place to switch off from the rest of the world. Small but well appointed rooms are offered, but you won't need to spend much time in them. To relax The hotel offers an infinity pool with a stunning view of the clear ocean waters, pool side massage and cocktails.

Additionally the hotel manager Judy assisted us with a sticky situation which we were very grateful for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    387
    123
    37
    17
    19
See reviews for
52
374
28
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Didn't know much about Zanzbiar if I am honest before I looked into a holiday there.... what a place! I imagined it to be a place for honeymooners only... and don't get me wrong it would be an amazing place for a honeymoon but there is so much more to do! Amazing food, game fishing, diving, kite surfing and a scattering of chilled beach bars too.

The Z-Hotel is without a doubt the nicest hotel on the Island. If you are looking for the personal touch that comes from a private 'boutique' hotel with the luxury and amenities of 5 star then this is the place. The staff are so friendly, you really do feel at home when you arrive. The rooms are immaculate and remain that way with the amazing housekeeping daily, all the rooms looking out to the turquoise blue ocean. Cocktails by the infinity pool as you watch the sun set... then dinner either at the hotel or at one of the amazing restaurants literally next door.

Seriously, I have been to all the normal beach spots: Thailand, Cambodia, Bali, Goa, Sri Lanka etc... and this place is up there! Get yourself to Zanzibar, and most definitely the Z-Hotel... I will be back very soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here as a chill out start to our holiday. We loved the location and staff. I cant say its top notch because its a smallish hotel in East Africa, its not the George V in Paris, so of course there are a few tiny issues, eg waiting for ice to be delivered or types of beer running out. The food is not the best but ok, although the atmosphere in the restaurants is good. Julie guest relations was lovely, we had a few problems with our room and had to move. I always say the mark of a hotel is how they deal with a problem and Julie was fantastic.

The staff are really lovely, particularly by the pool where they began to know our routine diet cokes and shade! Superb attention to detail from really fun loving friendly staff.

Amazing location steps from the ocean, honestly it was beautiful.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best option. We had great views but some are obstructed by the gardens tall p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon for a week after doing an intense safari in Tanzania the week before and it was perfect to relax after such a busy week. Lovely staff, so friendly and helpful and cheery. Especially the very helpful security guard. Gorgeous views of the beach. The bar by the pool is great but very slow service which was a bit annoying. Only downside is the beach boys who won't leave you alone the second you step off the steps to the beach so security should be better, it completely put us off going down the beach more which was a shame. Food was great, always a lot of variety. We hope to return one day in the future, maybe for our tenth anniversary! All the best to all of the staff, you were a pleasure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I thought the Z Hotel was perfect for our group to relax after a busy Safari. Clean generous room and bathroom. A small balcony with best views of beach and the blue clear water. Only a few steps to the beach for walks along white clean sand. The water was perfectly delicious for swimming, no waves for keen surfers. Pool was fine to relax around but prefered swimming in ocean.
Restaurant was so good that we ate in it the three nights we were there. Beakfasts were also excellent. Staff were helpful and most pleasant. This is not as spacious as a lot of resorts but we were very happy with our time at Z. I really relaxed at The Z and enjoyed the garden.

Room Tip: they all seemed to have good views, we liked being on 2nd floor. no fitness centre, but prefer to sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

if you ever need to forget about work and relax this is the place you have to go, but if you are looking for fun as well you will find this in abundance.
the hotel is so comfortable, so well organized you really dont have to think, it is there for you or done by the very competent and happy staff.
i would highly recommend this hotel to all my friends, i live in Dubai and the standard of living here is very high, this hotel if in Dubai would defiantly be ranked one of the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Some reviews on TA are critical of the Z, as if it is a huge hotel in Hawaii that should have very conceivable service. It is not. It is a 65-room boutique hotel on a lovely beach in Zanzibar, East Africa. There are limitations built into this, but we thought the Z was terrific for some relaxing days after a safari. The design is really good, making the most of the beach site. We liked both restaurants. The staff were friendly and did their jobs well. The pool is nice, and there are things to do like a sunset sail on a dhow with snorkelling. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Z Hotel Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;