We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Designer hotel right on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Save Saved
You added The Z Hotel Zanzibar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Designer hotel right on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Well designed, swish, amazing location right on the beach. A little pricey for what you get. A little aloof with pretentious feel. Good food. Fell slightly below my excellent expectations. Mainly due to annoyance of staff. Card machine was not working for 2 days, which is hotels problem and I got hounded several times each day to settle my bill. Machine out of order each time I turned up. Not something I expected on my Honeymoon. Hence reduced to very good rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    116
    36
    17
    19
See reviews for
47
352
27
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went here after a very rude welcoming at Langi Langi and received the most friendly welcome. The whole hotel staff was incredibly friendly, and tried their best to always meet our requests. The rooms were beautifully decorated and clean, the hotel pool just gorgeous and the food was excellent, and very reasonably priced! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I set off on honeymoon, safari, followed by 10 night in a luxury hotel. Safari was excellent, Z Hotel not so much. If you are looking for a smart London bar/club feel in Zanzibar, this would be perfect. If you want to feel as if you are in Zanzibar, this isn't the place. We moved hotel after numberous mistakes by the hotel and the loud music, one night going until 4am, which tipped us over the edge. There is no place to have a casual drink in the evening so we spent the majority of time on our roof terrace waiting patiently (they are SLOW) for drinks. We were lucky to have a oneymoon suite balcony as the standard rooms balconies barely fit 2 chairs on. Over priced and lacked in atmosphere. Would not go back.

Room Tip: The cottages are quieter but you can not escape the bass wherever you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Wonderful staff, simply breathtaking scenery and somewhere we would love to go back too.

Restaurants served superb food, good selection of dishes and lots of exciting extras available e.g. Scuba diving, jet skis, massages etc

The swimming pool has to be seen to be believed. Incredible.

A* .....we loved it!

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel itself is really lovely, nice welcome drink and surrounds. Lovely pool and gardens. The room we had overlooked the garden and was nice but there were some very average things. For example the bathroom was very tired really, a bit of mould on the tiles and water leaked under the shower glass wall. We did raise this and a tradesman prompted added a bit of sealer to help - this of course would only be a temporary fix. The curtains in the room also had mould on them and need a good wash. We did leave this as a comment on our feedback form. The fridge was cold and we also raised this as an issue but although someone looked at it it never worked. We stayed 4 nights. During our stay there seemed to be a water problem on a fllor above us and water was flooded down the stairs. This never seemed to get fixed. We had friends who also stayed there a few days before us and tehy too said there was water leaking in there room and near electrical wire so that is dangeous. The managers moved our friends to anlother room but can't help wonder about that water issue.

The food in the resturant was great but breakfast was boring and all had too much oil and some of the refridgerated food was not cold and had flies buzzing over it. We rasied this with management and they did to their credit attempt to fix the issues. The other comments re food service was that it was incredibly slow. If this is meant to be a 5 star workd class then they have alot to learn. We waited about 40 mins for a burger - a burger that probably would take 15 mins if that acording to my chef husband.

The hotel has a great view and location is perfect. I loved it there but I think the hotel needs a refresh - particularly given the price charged per night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Overall we were pleased to have selected this well located hotel for our week long vacation in Nungwi. Though there are more luxurious hotels like the Essque Zalu, they are located around the headland and a long walk from the various bars and restaurants of the Nungwi "strip" The beach is also excellent in front of the hotel and the hassling "Beach Boys" are not allowed to harass guests.

Upon arrival we were not satisfied with the obscured views from the garden room but the management kindly moved us to a second floor unit at no extra cost. (I think the hotel needs to make this clearer to guests in advance as many posted complaints in this regard) However our new room was in need of some upkeep especially the bathroom which was dilapidated, small and had a stale smell that the cleaning staff seemed unable to keep under control. WiFi signals were a bit patchy and did not work at all in two of the hotel "blocks" (but at least it was possible to access email etc form the reading room). Power came and went but that is to be expected in this part of the world

Meals at the hotel were generally good (though pricey) and we chose to eat at a different restaurant each day as there are many choices along the beach. We enjoyed the pool deck (not finding it too small as many have commented) and a distributed PA system played excellent chilled / lounge music throughout the hotel. Yes the poolside cocktails are expensive but there is a daily happy hour that helps with this. Flies or seaweed were not an issue - perhaps that's seasonal?

This busy, beautiful and somewhat trendy hotel has loads of potential and I would really like to give it 5 out of 5 but there are too many minor issues at the price charged so sorry it has to be a 3 !

Room Tip: book a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights in September 2012. We found the hotel overpriced and small things that was not maintained properly (toilet was loose, loose wall hanger, loose electrical outlet, refrigerator not working in the room etc) - small things, but they should be well maintained for the price we paid. The room was nice but small. The ocean view was fantastic, but a lot of seaweed was washed ashore together with rubbish which made the beach less attractive. The buffet breakfast in the restaurant was great, but we think the daily specials could have cycled more often (we received the same special menu three times). The staff are all nice, somehow a bit slow. Pole, pole The cleaning lady always seemed to forget something in our room (a towel and a pillowcase on the floor, a piece of the mop...) or simply to forget to fill up with towels, soap or paper tissues. However, when we called the reception to complain, they always sent someone up to our room immediately.

We lost electricity several times, and once they did not start the hotels generator before after several hours. The internet connection varies a lot, from not working at all to working fairly well.

The location is great, but there is a lot missing before I could give this hotel full score for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms have thebest location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Nungwi
Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Z Hotel Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.