We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Z Hotel Zanzibar to your Saves list
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Pay 5 nights, Stay for 6
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
dani11
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Z Hotel was a terrific boutique hotel. The rooms were nice, the pool area was great and the view was amazing. It was really modern, had flat screen TVs in each room, and consistent air conditioning. The staff was friendly and attentive. The restaurants were good. The only drawback was that there were sometimes a lot of flies in the restaurant-it would have been great to have a few fans. It was a great price, especially compared to the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    153
    39
    19
    19
See reviews for
56
443
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Great Hotel,ideal spot on the beach ,friendly staff,good value ,and well run with Julie and her team .

Room Tip: roof top are the best rooms ,bit more expensive but worth the expence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neumunster, Germany
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

The Z Hotel is a very quiet and relaxing hotel with an excellent infinity pool and sun deck. Rooms are modern and large enough although the bathroom was a little small. Staff were excellent and extremely friendly and welcoming. Could not have asked for more! Surroundings and facilities are excellent. The hotel is a small boutique hotel which is an advantage as you are not confronted with huge numbers of tourists. This is definitely a hotel that we would visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I spent a week in this hotel with my girlfriend after a two weeks trip in Tanzania. The hotel is very nice, the room big enough and clean with a beautiful view (we booked a sea view one). The hotel in not big, and I think this is a plus compared to many big resort you can find in Zanzibar Great positions very close to many nice local restaurants and bars. Very good breakfast. The restaurant is a little bit too expensive (in particular compared to what you can find around), but we had dinner there when they had the grilled fish special night and the price was not that bad with good food. No complaint at all and a special plus for the munchies by the pool offered at the aperitivo time. Overall a very nice hotel, with European standard of quality in gorgeous location

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We spent a wonderful seven nights at the Z Hotel (having been recommended to stay by at least three people) and were not disappointed.

The Hotel is small but perfectly formed - with comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated bedrooms, a great choice of food, whether at breakfast, at the poolside or dinner in the evening, soothing and relaxing greenery surrounding an exotic and restful infinity pool. I am not usually a fan of hotel pools, but this was something special and we were happy to relax in it, especially with a cocktail in our hands!

Because the beach is literally a step away you can easily make the choice whether to stay within the hotel grounds or lie on one of the loungers down below. A hard choice to make!

All the hotel personnel were friendly and helpful and helped make our holiday special and little touches like the bottled water being freely supplied make all the difference.

The food was varied and interesting - and the buffet breakfast on the outdoor terrace was something to look forward to every morning with the amazing array of fruit and hot and cold food. Dinners were reasonably priced and were of a really high standard. The Beach Bar and staff were great - with the choice of hot or cold snacks again all being reasonably priced. Every night was cocktail night - heralded by ambient music at 5.00 which created a great atmosphere.

Nungwi Village was an extremely interesting and thought-provoking experience and we came back having made friends with some local people who we will keep in touch with. Local fishermen and their ladies are constantly working morning and evening and it was amazing watching the dhows go out on their fishing trips - and watching the men walk along the beach with their catches of gigantic tuna and marlin over their shoulders.

There is a real family atmosphere in Nungwi with lots of local children who swim and play on the sand and numerous football games and aside from the ubiquitous "beach boys" on the beach (who in fact usually gave up if you politely declined their services - and who are not local people), the local people were friendly and seemed to be accepting of the tourist invasion and we always felt safe and able to wander in the area.

It was great to see the dhows being built further along the beach and the Mnarani Turtle Sanctuary (always looking for volunteers). We missed out on the snorkelling trip - but will definitely do it next time.

The Z Hotel made made our first trip to Zanzibar very special and we will definitely return!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuerich
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed 8 days at the Z hotel and were more than satisfied. The hotel is not too big with something between 30 and 40 rooms which makes the beach and pool area not too overcrowded.
The service and friendliness of the personnel ist exceptional. The rooms were always very clean like the whole hotel. There is an amazing pool with stunning views to the sea / sunset, a library, and a dive center within the hotel. The restaurant is built on a terrace just on the beach and the quality of the food and the breakfast buffet is excellent! We do definitely recomment this hotel and - if we get the chance to go back to Sansibar one day - are certainly going to stay at Z hotel again! BTW: Don't miss a Stoney Tangawizi (fabulous drink)!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Just got back from a 2 week stay at the Z hotel which was truly fantastic. The quality of the hotel, food and staff is excellent nothing is too much even fixing the air conditioning at 10.00pm was no trouble. The beach is amazing and our room (35) had amazing views of the stunning sunsets. I get the impression most use this as a short stay relax following safaris etc but we had an equally enjoyable time over the whole fortnight a definite relax and rest. The food is a good quality but over the fortnight with only limited changes to the menu became a little repetitive but they were trying some new changes as we left. Apart from 1 or 2 exceptions we found alternative equal quality restaurants a bit limiting over the fortnight but didn't spoil the holiday by any means. A starter is around $7 dollars and mains around $25 and a bottle of wine starts at $25 upwards so not bad at all. There's local sprice trips (interesting) and Stone Town (hot and exhausting) plus the usual diving and snorkelling trips (very good). You are somewhat pestered on walks along the beautiful beach to buy or come on their trips - I've never met so many 'Captains' but a polite no thanks is usually suffice and otherwise I found the locals lovely people and very proud of their country. Watching the fishermen and ladies was facinating, local life just continues along side you which we thought was brill including the nightly 18 a side football match! A truly amazing place a real must for those wanting a long or short rest and relaxtion one of the best beach holidays for us for sure.

Room Tip: Definetly go for the sea view rooms I think some of the garden view rooms were a bit hemmed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Z Hotel Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.