We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LangiLangi Beach Bungalows Cafe

LangiLangi Beach Bungalows Cafe
Nungwi, Tanzania
255 24 2240470/1
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Nungwi
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
anchorage
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at the hotel next door but ate at LaniLangi most of the time. The restaurant was always packed so we decided to check it out. The food was excellent although the service was a little slow. The pasta dishes, particularly the fettuccine, was excellent. Also the octopus curry was to die for. If you can get a table on the beach side count yourself lucky and it's worth the wait if necessary....Oh, one major perk, the restaurant allows you to bring your own alcohol!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    89
    34
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zaltbommel, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“didnt meet up to expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

cafe was nice. we went for lunch, choices were very limited. Had pizza in the end it was ok, but nothing to write home about. Staff werent really friendly.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Don't miss it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This restaurant was great. Excellent food and service, and great ocean front location. The chef and owner were present and the food and service reflected it. We ate 3 meals here in 3 days.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Octopus Curry....yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

It was a long trek from our hotel to LangiLangi especially in the scorching sun, but it was well worth it. The food was delicious and the seating area was open to the sea breeze while still in the shade, providing an amazing ocean view while enjoying one's meal. The reason why it didn't get an excellent review was because the second time we went for the same dish, it wasn't as good as the first time, so a point was lost for inconsistency. Overall, good value for money, and perhaps the best value on the entire stretch of Nungwi beach.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

we were there on a night when they had tons of large parties, but greeted by friendly staff and the owner. Low-key atmosphere, right on the beach w locally-inspired menu.

Try the fish w HOT! sauces, but watch out for the firepower! In fact, the menu mentions milkshakes a a side for some of the hotter items.

you cannot find a more authentic Zanzibar food experience!

we went back again for dinner and for our final lunch before leaving.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LangiLangi Beach Bungalows Cafe also viewed

 

Been to LangiLangi Beach Bungalows Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LangiLangi Beach Bungalows Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.