We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and great atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LangiLangi Beach Bungalows Cafe

LangiLangi Beach Bungalows Cafe
Nungwi, Tanzania
255 24 2240470/1
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Nungwi
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Kigali, Rwanda
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We found that this place was the best price-quality deal in Nungwi. The curries are very tasteful and the fresh fish and seafood were delicious. The staff is friendly and service is quick. Even in the low season it's wise to make a reservation as this was the only place that was packed every single night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    100
    39
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food overlooking the Indian ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Food was excellent, and although we could not stay at LangiLangi (as it was full) we ate there a few times. The staff and the owner were very friendly. He let us use their swimming pool even though we were not residing there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“decent meals and atmosphere in Nungwi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

One of the better restaurants we tried during our stay in Nungwi. Lost of fresh seafood and some good spicy options . . Can get busy in the evenings so maybe best to book a waterside table in advance

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed from our one-time visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

As my title indicates, we only had one dinner here so our report might not do justice to the place, which we've heard very good things about.

We ordered the 2 most expensive items on the menu which were a sea-food platter and rock-lobster (both at around 25-30 thousand shilings).
Both dishes were average at best, to our disappointment. The following day we also had some stomach aches.
The waiter wasn't very nice either, but this could have been a result of his being seemingly new.

I wish I had more details about other dishes, it might have just been a case of bad luck. I do have to say that people told us that there are ups and downs when it comes to langi langi but that altogether people who ate there were very happy with the place.

Despite our disappointing meal, the balcony is amazing and the sunset we saw there was one of the most beautiful sunsets we had seen in ZNZ (and we saw plenty).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were there while staying in Z hotel. We liked the food in Langi-Langi Bar and the best was that you can bring our own alcohol. I tried Beef course - it was delicious. Pre-booking can guaranty you tha table you like.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LangiLangi Beach Bungalows Cafe also viewed

 
Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to LangiLangi Beach Bungalows Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LangiLangi Beach Bungalows Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.