We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“water in the room salty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Zanzibar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nungwi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Beach Resort Zanzibar
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
sukabumi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“water in the room salty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

we stay for workshop 2 weeks on december12. good room space. near salty water in the room for bath. must do water treatment. swimming pool good. food not bad. wifi internet connection poor and electric almost shut down every night. we have experience in one night sleep in the dark for many hour, electric current almost down everyday/night. and should ask for room service. old towel. no remote for TV. if we have another choice. may be can compare to the another hotel/resort surround.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    134
    33
    14
    5
See reviews for
40
314
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We moved to this hotel from Ora Resort next door where our room was awful. This hotel was fantastic in comparison. We were given a sea view room at no extra cost. The resort is really picturesque, the rooms are clean and a great size with big verandas. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Our stay was so relaxing. We were the only British guests there but most of the staff spoke a really good level of English. The food was fine although the choice was not always extensive. Would thoroughly recommend overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed at this resort, the sea is very nice but the service and cleanliness of this hotel really bad.
eating more repetitive and difficult to get a table for 6 people. we have had pain in his stomach for 4 days due to poor quality of food. do not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stayed here with a friend in Oct 2011. Upon arrival our room was well prepared and very spacious, however there was a banging noise we could hear that was quite distracting. After trying to ignore the noise we eventually went to the front desk at about 3am and the chap there helped us move into another room. This was fine until my friend showered the next morning and the bathroom flooded. Again though, the staff were hapopy to move us to another room.

Eventually we found out that the building we were staying in had only just been built and as such they were still ironing out some creases. The banging noise on night one was an A/C unit leaking from the room above, which was fixed later.

The restaurant has a great selection of food and drinks and the waiters dont hang about if your glasses are empty!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I wish to express my satisfaction during our short stay a tZanzibar. I noted the welcoming response right from the time of my email inquiries which gave me an encouragement to give the hotel a trial. With all sincerity, the services did not disappoint us; the staff response time and cheerfulness are commendable. The meals were also nice and fresh.

We had a memorable time at the beach; relaxing under cool breeze; punctuated with swimming in the ocean and in the hotel pool. It was an enjoyable stay, though short!!!! real enjoyable

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lusaka zambia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Wow!!!!!! What a lovely holiday. We had heard that there was no electricity in zanzibar and obviously thought OMG now what? Having booked and paid for the hotel online without knowing anything about it we did not know what to expect. The tour operators in zambia could not book it cause it is mainly sold to the Italian market. The reservations person who had dealt with my reservation (Khamis), was amazing at replying and assured us that the hotel had a generator, which it did. He also helped us to book a taxi to and from the hotel which saved us from over paying. The hotel staff were amazing and bent over backward to try and accomodate us. Having travelled with children before I was pretty worried that I would be stressed out about food and entertainment but fortunately the place is child friendly. We had a relaxed and amazing holiday on a budget. If you have any troubles Khamis and the other staff are willing to help in any way they can. The Superior rooms are obviously nicer than the family rooms but none the less all are tidy and well equipped with tv, fridge and clean bathrooms. If you are looking for a mid-range hotel for families I have to say this is the place. If you are looking for something more luxurious then the Gemma del Est is the answer. For us the place was warm and friendly and we loved it we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

We stayed at this hotel in the low season of november, and had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The rooms were very big, nice, clean and tidy, and was cleaned every day (with money, computer, telephone and other valuebles laying out). The hotel had a fantastic friendly staff, and manager. They helped us (or tried to help) whenever we had some minor trouble with booking our mini trips around Tanzania. I do not know if it was the low season or what it was, but we were taken very well care of by the numerous staff. The sunset view from the veranda was fantastic, the pool was fantastic (clean and nice) laying 15 meters from the beach!!! So you can go from pool to beach in 10 seconds. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, it was a little bit more expensive than the budget hotels (without pools and stuff) in Nungwi area, but can you afford to spend a little extra, we can advice to do it here. We did not have a full board, only bed and breakfast. We would advice other to do the same so you can enjoy the other restaurants in the Nungwi area. And if you are in need of internet, please check if their situation is better than when we stayed there in november 2009.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Beach Resort Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort Zanzibar

Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort Zanzibar 4.5*
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Resort Zanzibar Hotel Nungwi
Sunset Beach Hotel Zanzibar
Sunset Beach Resort Zanzibar Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Resort Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunset Beach Resort Zanzibar to your Saves list