We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest to your Saves list
Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Gunfontein, Vaalwater 0530, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed at Ants Nest for 5 nights in March 2011 with our two daughters, aged 10 & 12. This was our first safari, so we didn't know what to expect. The holiday was just incredible. We saw so many animals, so very close when you are on horseback. The enthusiastic guides are extremely knowledgeable and kept even my restless 10 year old absolutely spell bound. The various activities give you very different experiences; the game drives let you see a huge variety of game, the riding safaris let you get so close to the animals and the walking safaris were just fascinating.
All the staff are obviously very passionate about their work, and take great pride in making sure you have the best stay possible. Nothing was too much trouble, yet it was a very relaxed atmosphere. The food was delicious, the rooms beautiful, the pool was great for the kids. Where else could you have lunch, with a mother & baby rhino wandering past just 20 metres away?
From the minute you get woken up with a cup of tea brought to you in bed, to the evening after a day full of new experiences, when your washing is done, ironed and waiting for you in your room, you feel that you are the luckiest person on earth to be there.
The only thing I would change is we should have stayed longer, we wanted to see the elephants and big cats on different reserves, but the girls refused point blank to leave Ants Nest. Oh, and if you've read the other reviews, yes, we did feel as if we left as friends, and yes, we did cry when we left!

Room Tip: For families, upstairs in main house is fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
102
58
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We cannot praise Ant, Tessa and the team highly enough for how special they made our stay with them. Everyone was amazing, the food was wonderful, the girls adored the riding and the massage was one of the best I've ever had! They excelled themselves on our wedding day - we had asked for simple, low-key and they achieved this perfectly, adding their own special touches to make it a completely unique day for all of us. If you have time, definitely ask them to organise the elephant safari, which was a wonderful experience, and try to have some riding lessons before you go if you don't already ride - we would have got even more out of our time with them if we had managed to do this before we left the UK.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

The staff were exceptional, the setting was magical and we were looked after superbly. We loved being able to ride to see the animals and the relaxed regime, geared round what we wanted to do on each day. We also liked meeting people from a variety of countries.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We have just returned from our second visit to Ant's Nest and are already planning a third. Several things set it apart from an 'ordinary' safari holiday. We are paying guests, sure, but we feel more like visiting friends. We all get a huge amount of enjoyment from being involved in the day to day rhythm of a game farm - watching rhino being darted for sale last time, buffalo and eland for medical treatment this time - rather than just sitting back and being waited on, though this is obviously an option too! Traditional safari meets Vets in the Wild! Riding horses so close to zebra and giraffe is awe-inspiring. The accommodation is superb, the food is great, and the camaraderie amongst the team leads to a fantastic atmosphere. All three children were in tears as we left. The 5 nights were a real tonic and make rainy February back in the UK a little bit more bearable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

This structure is exactly as presented by
catalogs. Very stylish, good food, horses are very
well trained and good with all the guests (experts and
beginners).
Riding out with the giraffes was a beautiful dream that
I was able to achieve. Thanks to the guides very good
prepared. Wild animals can you see
very closely. I recommend everyone this place
wonderful and also the visit to the farm.
Italian people must be aware for the crawlers.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Amazing food, booze, room.
Can't say enough positive things. Nicest place I have ever stayed in my life.
Staff are friendly, location is beautiful.
Seeing safari on horseback is an experience of a lifetime.
And we got to ride African Elephants

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

We wholeheartedly recommend this lodge as an experience rather than just a holiday. My husband and I stayed at Ant’s Nest for nine nights and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The lodge caters mainly to horse riders and families but managed with ease to please a non rider with no children. There are a variety of activities on offer and included within the room rate and all provide ample opportunity to view a wide variety of game. The rooms are comfortable and stylish and an inclusive laundry service is a welcome touch. The food is fantastic but above all, the genuine enthusiasm of all the staff makes this place a cut above.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest

Address: Gunfontein, Vaalwater 0530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Vaalwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Vaalwater
Hotel Class:3 star — Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ant's Nest & Ant's Hill are two private bush homes situated in the malaria-free Waterberg region of South Africa. Approximately 3 hours north of Johannesburg. These two bush homes are on a privately owned reserve and can offer guests game viewing activities which include game drives, game walks and fantastic horse riding. They can cater for all levels of riders and also accept kids of all ages. This is a wonderful destination for couples, honeymooners, families or just good friends travelling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ant`s Hill And Ant`s Nest
Ant`s Hill & Ant`s Nest Hotel Vaalwater
Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest Vaalwater, Waterberg, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.