We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a perfect family experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jembisa Bush Home

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jembisa Bush Home to your Saves list
Jembisa Bush Home
Muisvogelkraal, Vaalwater 0530, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a perfect family experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here with the whole family (5 of us) for a week and found the atmosphere relaxing to say the least. The staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming from the minute we arrived. The 'safari' trips (game drives) into the bush were informative for the kids (aged 8 -15) and the fresh food cooked to perfection ... not always easy for kids !! Indeed their appetites were always filled!

If you want a break in rural Africa you will find this hard to beat.

Room Tip: The 'African' room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jembisa, Guest Relations Manager at Jembisa Bush Home, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you at Jembisa and we are extremely delighted to know that you have enjoyed every minute. We look forward to welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had the great fortune to stay at Jembisa in April 2012. My wife and I made a reservation there on the recommendation of a friend, and we really didn’t know what to expect. The last 10 miles of the drive there was a bit of an adventure, including the last few hundred yards after entering the gate. Once we arrived, our first impression was that were arriving at a gracious home. We were greeted at our car by one of the senior staff, and were immediately made to feel welcome.

The sleeping accommodations were excellent, without seeming out of place given that we were in safari country. However, the two things that stand out most in my mind were the warmth of the staff and the beauty of the surrounding countryside.

We were only there for three days, but the staff made every effort to make our stay enjoyable. We were taken out on safaris on the expansive Jembisa grounds, both by Jeep and, at our request, on a personal walking safari. We saw lots of animals and received much interesting information about what we were seeing. Safety never seemed to be an issue, undoubtedly in large part due to the fact that the larger and more dangerous animals are not resident on the Jembisa grounds.

When we asked about seeing the “Big Five”, the staff happily made reservations for us at a more commercial game park, and at our request one of the senior staff drove us to that location. The drive there and back was another highlight of our trip, both because of the information we learned about the area and animals from our driver and because of his pleasurable company.

Perhaps my biggest regret about our trip to Jembisa was that we did not go there with others so as to be able to share the experience. It is best described as a large family home, and it would be an ideal place to visit for a family or for a group of friends. South Africa is a very long way away from our home in Canada, but I still think about how special it would be to return there with our grown children and their children.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jembisa, Guest Relations Manager at Jembisa Bush Home, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your great review. It was our pleasure to host you and your wife with us and are very happy that you enjoyed Jembisa. We enjoy arranging excursions for our guests if needed. We look forward to another visit from you soon, perhaps with family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our family travelled from different parts of the World to meet up at Jembisa. We could not have chosen a more perfect venue. From start to finish the staff knew what we needed before we did. Our family group spanned all ages and the children/teenagers were kept occupied from dawn to dusk and beyond. The service was impeccable and each meal and each new setting a great adventure. The reserve is a very special place with magnificent scenery and wildlife. The micro light flights we took around Jembisa were breathtaking - a must do activity! There is so much to do at Jembisa and in the surrounding area that everyone in the family group was fulfilled. All of the reviews speak of how magnificent this place is and just how special the team at Jembisa are - it is all totally true. It is difficult to do justice to Jembisa in a short review but you will have a very special holiday when you visit Jembisa. We all want to return for another holiday here. Thank you to everyone at Jembisa for the holiday of a lifetime.- Conrad Griffiths QC

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jembisa, Guest Relations Manager at Jembisa Bush Home, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you so much for this amazing review. We are delighted that you choose Jembisa as your holiday destination! We enjoyed every minute of your stay with us and enjoyed keeping the youngsters entertained! We look forward to another visit from your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had the privilege to stay at Jembisa and all of our family can not speak highly enough of the entire experience. Our stay came at the end of a fantastic trip across South Africa and was the perfect ending. Jembisa is a wonderful house which quickly felt like home - not least because of the genuine welcome, friendliness and graciousness of the ever-attentive staff. Every room was comfortable and luxurious yet very homely. The location was breathtaking and beautiful. The delicious food was prepared with care and creativity - and always served with style and imagination. Our trips into the bush were exciting, fun, informative and laced with laughter. There was always something new to do and see. Lex - our guide - was great and the children loved spending time with him. Throughout our stay there were always little surprises and imaginative touches organised by the staff which made each day special. In fact, the quality and attitude of all the exceptional staff were the key to making this not just an amazing place to stay but an experience to be never forgotten.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jembisa, Guest Relations Manager at Jembisa Bush Home, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Many thanks for such an amazing review! We are very happy that your family and especially the children enjoyed a wonderful and unforgettable stay at Jembisa. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzaneen, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We chose Jembisa as the venue for our wedding and it was absolutely perfect!!!
We enjoyed every split second and we really didn’t want to leave what truly felt like a home away from home
Ané, Jane, Steven, Marius and all the staff at Jembisa were amazing. They really made us feel at home. It felt like nothing was an effort for them and they seemed to enjoy it as much as we did. David’s food was absolutely delicious and we loved the table decorations!
The wedding itself was everything we ever wanted and more. We were so relaxed knowing that everything was in place and well organised.
We can actually remember every little detail of our wedding! Kayla, our little girl, also enjoyed it so much! She loved the playroom and still talks about Toffee, the Jack Russel (Although she refers to him as “Stoffie”!)
We have already told all our friends and colleagues about how amazing Jembisa is and we definitely plan to return one day. Thank you to all at Jembisa for giving us the best wedding weekend we could ever have hoped for!

Room Tip: The Bird Room is truly exquisite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane_Leonard, Guest Relations Manager at Jembisa Bush Home, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. We had the pleasure to organize and host your wedding here with us at Jembisa and enjoyed the time to share in your personal and intimate wedding. Toffee is a real hit with children and parents alike! The playroom is specifically equipped for children and even has a rangers corner - we are delighted that your daughter enjoyed the playroom. Thank you for telling all your friends - we are looking forward to welcoming you and your friends with us at Jembisa again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our extended family of ten spent 10 days at Jembisa over Christmas in 2012 and had a magical time. From the moment we arrived, we were treated to smiles and constant attention. Nothing was too much trouble. The party included teenagers and grandparents and all ages felt it was the perfect holiday.

The gorgeous lodge offers the best of all worlds - the comfort and familiarity of a private home with all the service and amenities of a top-notch hotel. All the staff are exceptional and Cliff and Thomas were always there, to meet any need.

The food was first rate. My wife and I have travelled in Africa a lot, and so our expectations were fairly modest. What comes out of David's Jembisa kitchen is truly amazing and Portia creates unbelievable breads and pastries. The dining experience is a real treat too, as dinner and lunch are often set up and served in different spots around the impressive gardens surrounding the lodge. Meal times are down to you. And while this may sound like a small point, it was a real treat to be able to simply drink the fresh, clean borehole water that ran from the taps!

The 7,500 acre reserve itself is beautiful and provides ample opportunity to see lots of game on drives that are scheduled at a time and duration to suit you. "Sundowner" drives and our bush breakfast were a highlight. The Palala river is home to birds, crocodiles and hippos and it has carved stunning canyons through the property which provide incredible cliff top panoramas. At Jembisa you can see rhinoceros and (if you are lucky) the elusive leopard, but you will have to travel offsite to see the other "big five".

We played tennis most days and the small pool was a popular site for relaxing in the afternoons. You can sleep out under the stars one night, inner tube down the river, stalk warthog, ride mountain bikes...

Our Jembisa holiday will certainly be remembered as one of the best we will ever have.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane_Leonard, Guest Relations Manager at Jembisa Bush Home, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for this amazing and detailed review! Jembisa staff enjoyed your visit during Christmas last year. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy all our facilities around the lodge including cycling! We are also very excited to hear that everyone in the group - teenagers to grandparents enjoyed the Bush Breakfast - a unique touch to Jembisa next to the river! We look forward to your return visit to Jembisa in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was our first time in South Africa but will definately not be the last. Jembisa made our honeymoon romantic and unforgettable. They made us feel at home and organised romantic surprises for us. The staff were friendly, attentive and knowledgable about the local area and wildlife. The accommodation was luxurious and homely. We would definitely like to go back there in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane_Leonard, Guest Relations Manager at Jembisa Bush Home, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you very much for this wonderful review. We are delighted that we could be part of your Honeymoon in South Africa. We had the pleasure of arranging the surprises for you and are extremely pleased that you enjoyed them. We hope that you will include Jembisa again in your itinerary when visiting South Africa again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jembisa Bush Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jembisa Bush Home

Address: Muisvogelkraal, Vaalwater 0530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Vaalwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Vaalwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful safari bush home in a malaria- free private wildlife reserve for a South African holiday full of activities. Small, stylish and relaxed and offering many unique safari experiences, such as a junior tracker programme where children learn a range of bush and survival skills. Ideal for family safaris or smaller groups, it is available for exclusive, private use or non-exclusive booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jembisa Bush Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jembisa Bush Home Vaalwater, Waterberg, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jembisa Bush Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.