We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Bush” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterberg Cottages

Save Saved
You added Waterberg Cottages to your Saves list
Waterberg Cottages
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterberg Cottages
Vaalwater, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Relaxed Bush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a wonderful 2 days in one of these cottages and were spoiled with the quiet and the spectacular night skies. There are walks around the farm that are signposted and you can stop off on a bench to enjoy the view. The staff are exceptionally friendly and nothing was too difficult for them. We will definitely be going back and for longer!

Room Tip: Ask for the new cottage - a delight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and love this place. The cottages are beautiful. The place is ideal for small children. Our cottage was beautifully set near the secure swimmingpool, looking out over african farmland. the kids loved the two dogs on the property. waterberg cottages is located 30 kilomers out off vaalwater where you can do all you groceries. We are certainly coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delfgauw, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

In july 2012 we stayed in the Butterfly cottage. A lovely cottage, well equiped and well cleaned. The staff was very helpful organising several excursions, such as the camera trap and an amazing night of star gazing. Also a walk around the grounds or a visit to the village is recommended. The tour of the village gives you a good view of the way people live, while a walk through the beautiful garden of the farm brings you eye to eye with many different birds. All in all a wonderful place that we will long remember.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We visited Waterberg cottages july 2012 and were amazed by it's serenity and warm atmosphere. The staff made us feel very welcome and did everything to make our stay unforgettable. Even a home made dinner was not to much asked.
Our childeren loved roaming around on the farm together with the farm dogs.
A place to remember and come back to.
The swimmingpool was heated enough to take a swim, the staff were so kind to fire up the heater every morning.
To cottages were well equiped and clean, the location peacefull.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed in Bushwillow for a long weekend in August, and really enjoyed it. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the cottage spacious and well equipped for a farm stay. Our kids loved the donkey cart ride and the camera safari. We enjoyed the vast expanses, the bird life and the quiet. There is quite a steep spiral staircase in Bushwillow which I would not recommend for older folk - I would suggest that you stay in the other cottages instead. My son loved stoking the boiler for the heated pool, but it wasn't quite warm enough for a swim in the middle of winter, unsurprisingly. The nearby 24 Rivers church is a Herbert Baker gem, and is really worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a beautiful spot. The accommodation was comfortable but the information regarding activities was very out of date and did not give accurate information regarding cost and availability. We booked one of the photographic outings in order to photograph with nine cameras, nocturnal wildlife over a two-night period and were given a DVD said to contain images captured by these cameras during this time. Unfortunately, this DVD did not contain more than 20 shots which were actually of 2 animals and 2 birds and the same shots were just repeated 5 times in order to put something on the disc. This certainly did not live up to its description or to our expectations and now that we are back in UK, we are unable to do anything about this. The outing which included lunch booked to the neighbouring village failed to enable us to visit the nursery school, and we were given none of the cultural information and history promised. We were just taken to three houses and instead of there being difference, they were all similar. One of the ladies was sick and kept telling us so. It felt voyeuristic, strained and was certainly another attempt to extort money from the tourist.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My daughter and 11 others stayed in Kudu lodge, one of Waterberg cottages self catering houses. The house itself though dated was beautiful, with an amazing area and lots of peace and quiet. The rooms were comfortable (though a word of warning if you have a group that needs to use one of the 5 top bunks, there is no stairs so you have to climb up onto them and it’s not easy!) The fire heated the house beautifully and the kitchen was able to accommodate cooking for 18 which impressed me. It is secluded, being at least 30 mins from Vaalwater and there are locked gates which can be a pain as if the two locks are put together incorrectly you need a different key. But it worked well for us and gave us a lot of brilliant memories. Well worth the £10 a night!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterberg Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterberg Cottages

Address: Vaalwater, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Vaalwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Specialty lodging in Vaalwater
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Waterberg Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterberg Cottages Vaalwater, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterberg Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.