We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kololo Game Reserve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kololo Game Reserve to your Saves list
Kololo Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Bakkerspas, Vaalwater 0530, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
IJsselstein, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friendly lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in Kololo for 2 nights and unfortunately, we had rain and thunderstorm for nearly the whole time we were here. The bungalows (we stayed in nr 1) are very nice but the restaurant has some room for improvement. Maybe it's because it wasn't very busy but we had to order our food on beforehand, choosing from 2 options, which felt a bit canteen-like.
Furthermore, even though Kololo could not do anything about the rain, it would have been a nice gesture to offer us a little something to make up for the game drives that we could not make but were included in the rate.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    48
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
45
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Kololo over the new year period. We self-catered except for New year's eve where we enjoyed an excellent meal of lamb on the spit. The units were comfortable and well equiped. We kept ourselves busy with game drives on Welgevonden and Kololo as well as a guided and self guided walks and mountain bike rides on Kololo. We thought the scenery was great. A refreshing dip in the pool below the restaurant provided welcome relief from the midday heat. We were fortunate in having a 4x4 as the road to the reserve would be challenging for a normal sedan car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the hague
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just a few hours drive and you are totally in the bush, with magnificant surroundings and very friendly staff to accomodate you. The various houses we stayed in on various trips are all lovely, clean and well taken care of. The most fantastic thing is, you can be taken to the neibouring welgevonden, a huge nature reserve with superb landscape and all wildlife you long for, but at kololo game reserve you can actually walk, run or ride a bike in beween the wildebeasts, impala's and other smaller game! Get out of your car and be active! Therefor very suitable for families with kids too. Enjoy the lovely breakfast at the deck with breathtaking views, be swept of your feet by the gamedrives they offer, and you wont mind the fact that diner is just okay. But then again, who comes for diner in these surroundings?
Totie Siddre, The Hague, Netherlands

Room Tip: Ask for fisheagle lodge when on a romantic trip 2gether!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were in Kololo for 4 nights, and really enjoyed the facility to the max. Kololo is about great food, housing, service, food and friendly staff!

We stayed in a very nice house on the Kololo area, where the save wild life can walk around freely. The restaurant has a nice view on Welgevonden, and while eating you can spot elephants and other wild life. The quality of the food is good and can be combined with the South African wines. The safaris in Welgevonden are done by 2 experts that can explain everything on the area and the animals, and have great instinct to find them!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Kololo at the beginning of December. This place was referred to us by a friend who works and lives in the travel industry in South Africa for many years. She called Kololo a little gem.
Driving to Kololo is fairly simple, the directions on the website are enough. You need a good car though to get over the the dirt road.
When we arrived they expected us already (what a nice feeling to be welcomed), we quickly checked in and started our game drive on the Kololo reserve. Beautiful surroundings, nice guide/ranger and breathtaking nature and animals.
Dinner was served in the restaurant. It is not a five star F&B outlet but it is absolutely good.
The lodge is nice, very match matching the nature around it. Even though we did not use the outdoor kitchen, it is nice to use it when you are there for a longer period or with more people. Bathroom very tidy and beds of good quality. And it is so nice to go to bed and to hear the wildebeesten just outside your lodge.
The next morning we had our 6 hour game drive in the Welgevonden reserve, next to Kololo. Once again, great surroundings, a very friendly ranger and beautiful nature and wildlife. What is really nice is that all the rangers are very passionate about what they do and they are able to provide you with great information about the wildlife that can be found in Kololo and Welgevonden.
The last day we did a walking game safari. This was absolutely a nice experience and we felt very safe amongst the rangers of Kololo. Also during that walk it is very fascination to find out more about wildlife.
I will definitely return and recommend this place to others. The majority of staff we found very friendly and customer service focussed. Any recommendations for improvement? Yes, try to elevate the breakfast. It is so easy to achieve this as breakfast is one of the most easiest courses to serve and the impact of it is memorable.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at Kololo with a few families and friends. Total group was 23 people. Everything was great organised. Staff was very helpfull. We stayed in the bighouse lodges ( cheetah, giraffe and elephant) .These lodges are very big and fully equiped. 3 bed and bathrooms. beautiful balcony. dinner, lunch and breakfast was very good. There is a nice bar with balcony in the restaurant building.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hi,
We have just returned from one month in South Africa, and had the fortune of staying in various game lodges , whilst on our travels. Kololo Game Reserve ranks as one of the best we stayed in. It was the only lodge that gave me the feeling, this is how I thought it would be !!

Our stay in Fish Eagle Chalet was just perfect. It was close to the pool and restaurant, but private and quiet. The chalet was large, had a good well stocked kitchen and a great sized bathroom, with seperate toilet. The lanai was huge and overlooked beautiful hills and of course, wildlife. Of an evening we would sit on our lanai, and watch the wilderbeast, zebra,various breeds of antelope etc, walk past . They were so close to us, wow!. We could see elephants from the lanai too, but this was at a distance, but still very exciting.

Our chalet, was very clean when we arrived, and maintained to this standard. by the wonderful domestic staff. All the staff at Kololo , were very pleasant and assisted us, at all times. At checkin we were given a cool drink before comleting the paperwork, and then shown around the Lodge, before arriving at our Chalet.

The game drive was similar to others we had been on with the exception of the very reasonable price. Some others were a lot more expensive . We did walk around the bike trail, but due to the day being so hot, we turned around and spent the afternoon around the pool. This was very pleasant and we met some wonderful people, who we hope to meet again one day.!

WE chose to self cater our breakfast and lunch and have our evening meal, in the lodge. This worked out very well, as we had had near on a month of English breakfasts, and enjoyed our cereal and toast, on the lanai, watching the wildlife pass by.Dinner was of good quality, presented well, and reasonably priced. We thought it strange that restaurant staff would ask us at lunch time, to choose from the menu, our evening meal . This however worked out perfect for us, as we would arrive at the restaurant, ane within 5 or 10 minutes, we would be consuming our entree. Great for us, after a long day game viewing etc. By 9.00 PM we were ready for bed.!

One thing people should be aware of, when thinking of holidaying in a safari lodge in Africa, is that the roads leading up to the lodges are usually unmade, very rough to travel on, and a bit scary for city people like ourselves.Kololo has 26 KM of unmade road, and this was certainly not the worst road we travelled on. Just sit on 50 to 60, and take your time. After staying at this wonderful place, we would not let the road turn us of at all. Our little rental car did not help the situation and if we were to come to South Africa again and stay in Game Lodges, we would look at hiring a larger car.
The Waterburg is a wonderful area, and very different feel to Kruger etc. There are open plains in the valleys, where wildlife can be seen.Whilst we were there we experienced amazing electrical storms. Fotunately no torrential rain, but some showers of an evening.
To all at Kololo, we thank you so much for making us feel so welcome and for making our stay such a memorable one.
BYe
RSA

Room Tip: Choose Fish Eagle Chalet, perfect for 2 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kololo Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kololo Game Reserve

Address: Bakkerspas, Vaalwater 0530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Vaalwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Vaalwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kololo Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kololo Game Reserve is situated in the beautiful province of Limpopo, South Africa, in the heart of the Waterberg biosphere. Vast, peaceful and incredibly beautiful, this is a fascinating destination with a rich cultural legacy and natural splendour.A malaria-free area, child friendly and home to a large variety of game, Kololo is a perfect safari destination. Visit neighbouring reserve Welgevonden Game Reserve (of which Kololo is also part) and view the Big 5 - lion, leopard, elephant, rhino and buffalo - or enjoy a sneak preview over the fence, from the comfort of your chalet at Kololo.Kololo has its own gate near the reception, which provides direct access to Welgevonden Game Reserve. Kololo therefore has a unique concept: the Big 5 and accommodation in a luxurious, comfortable lodge where only the safe wildlife roams free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kololo Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kololo Game Reserve Vaalwater, Waterberg, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kololo Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.