We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be more helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altamont Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Altamont Lodge to your Saves list
Altamont Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   121 Mt. Aspiring Road | PO Box 289, Wanaka, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't be more helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

From my arrival till the time that I left they couldn't have been more warm and welcoming. They offered me rides to the wedding I was going to and to a friends house when I was leaving. The facilities are fantastic and excellent value for money. The rooms were neat tidy and well maintained. Couldn't have had a better place to stay

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
17
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

As university students, we just needed a cheap place to stay but were blown away by the quality of Altamont Lodge. Fantastic facilities! Kitchen is spacious and immaculate, cooking was enjoyable. A beautiful lounge area with fireplace and a stereo system. Jacuzzi, tennis court, BBQ, drying room, laundry. What made the whole experience even better was the hospitality of the hosts. They ensured we were always comfortable and made us feel at home. Couldn't have picked a better place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannum Sands, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

You cannot fault Altamont Lodge. I am very fussy and like to stay at good quality accommodation. This accommodation is fantastic. So cheap but such a high standard. It is kept immaculately every day. There is a very big kitchen with cupboard and frig space for each person - it is so well organised that it does not have that communal and crowded feel. There is a dining area and lounge with fireplace. There are only ten rooms so you don't feel as though you are staying with a busload of people. I never had to wait for a shower. There is a great drying room for all your ski gear - everything is just perfect. The hosts are real human beings. We loved staying here. Wanaka has everything you need for a ski base and sightseeing.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I see someone else has said it was a home away from home, and I agree wholeheartedly.
The staff were great, and the other 'lodgers' uniformly friendly and helpful as well.
The communal nature of the lodge we found a plus, as we had to meet people when we cooked our meals and we enjoyed their company. Some were shareholders, other like us had just 'struck it lucky' [Well , in our case that is not strictly true as we had heard it was a great place to stay from a relative]
The beds are very comfortable and warm. Our room was well heated and had a double bed and two bunks, mirror, lights, shelves and a big cupboard. Good storage for the two of us.
The bathrooms were spotless with showers and toilets, hairdryer.
And kitchen well organised with private space for all, space in large refrigerator, shelves and cupboards to store foodstuffs and there was an excellent laundry, dryer and drying room for damp ski-wear.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here for two years now. I am usually pretty sceptical about staying in cheap accommodation but this place is great. The hosts are fantastic. They are regularly making sure everything is just perfect. There are shared facilities but this works really well. The kitchen is really well stocked and organized.
The rooms are a bit small is my only concern but the shared common areas make for good conversation and give the space needed in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Altamont Lodge is owned and operated by a shareholder collective, and many of those who you share your stay with will be lodge members/family members etc. Non-members are able to stay when vacancies allow. I stayed 5 nights as a solo traveller in a very reasonably priced single room upstairs. Facilities are communal (lounge/commercial kitchen/bathrooms) and are absolutely spotless and well maintained. You have your own cupboard & fridge space. The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed, and most people turn in pretty early meaning you can get a good night's sleep. My room was sizeable enough, warm and with a comfortable bed. It was a little noisy as it is adjacent the TV lounge and the wall is pretty thin. Wifi is available on a pay as you go basis (thanks Heather). Complementary wifi is not so common in NZ. The lodge is close to town on the road to TC. Noeline and Rod are gracious hosts, and the Chairman of the lodge Adrian was also present during my stay. It is obvious that all work to maintain high standards in this budget but value for money accommodation option. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramarama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Altamont 5 times in the past 4 years, mainly for skiing, but we also had a wonderful summer holiday there 2 years ago. Rod and Noeline are so friendly and helpful - they bend over backwards to help with every request, no matter how difficult. They treat all the guests as if they are part of their family, and the facilities at the lodge are great. It is extremely clean, has a great new kitchen, a TV room, and lounge, as well as plenty of outdoor space, barbeque area and tennis courts for the summer. For skiiers, there is good storage, a drying room and a spa to soothe aching muscles. It is a very restful lodge suitable for all ages, but fortunately the sleeping areas have an enforced quiet time which means everyone gets a good sleep. It is great value for money, and an easy walk into town.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms 3,4 and 5, looking out over the garden, and away from the kitchen and the main entra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Altamont Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamont Lodge

Address: 121 Mt. Aspiring Road | PO Box 289, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Altamont Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Quality, wood-lined 10 bedroom Lodge * Large lounge with cosy wood-burning fire * Large modern, light kitchen/dining area with complimentary tea/coffee * All bedrooms have quality double beds together with a single or in some cases bunk beds as well * Friendly welcoming staff * Separate TV lounge * Internet available * Drying room * Laundry * Store room * Free spa pool, barbecue and tennis court for guests* Within easy walking distance of down town Wanaka * On the arterial route to probably NZ best ski field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Altamont Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altamont Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.