We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maple Lodge to your Saves list
Maple Lodge
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Halliday Road, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 54 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet and quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

Maple Lodge is absolutely lovely. Bernie and Paul have paid attention to both the seen and unseen details here.

The bed was the most comfortable I have ever had in any accommodation anywhere (and we travel a lot), it is even better than our bed at home! Crispy white sheets. Everything spotlessly clean. Soundproofed walls and doors. The place is nicely located - just outside the town in a rural setting with nice views of the gardens and mountains, but close enough to be a quick drive to restaurants in the evening, and close to all the attractions.

The bathroom was large with a huge shower and I loved the underfloor heating and warm towel racks (we were there skiing in winter). J enjoyed at spa (outdoors) gazing up at the stars.

The breakfasts were lovely - really tasty, not at all greasy full breakfasts and beautiful freshly home-baked muffins.

Paul and Bernie provided advice on great restaurants in town. They were always on hand to provide jugs of milk or whatever whimsical thing us tourists were asking for/about.

  • Liked — everything seemed to be quality plus more
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
73
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

We had previously visited North Island in 1993. Now we wanted to see South Island a much overdue visit.
We flew direct to Queenstown and then drove over the mountain pass to Wanaka with such Fantastic views all the way .
On arrival at Maple Lodge we were shown to our large luxury bedroom room complete with a shower/wet room big enough for two.Our own veranda to enjoy the setting sun.
Paul and Bernadette offered much welcomed refreshment with home made award winning Muffins and home made jams.
The breakfast menu had all the usual qualities being home made just how we wanted it but the Fresh fruit filled Pancake is not to be missed.
The Lodge is contemporary yet with the inclusion of original timber features it has a very homely and has a welcoming atmosphere.
With so many restaurant in the town evening meals were easily arranged by Paul. Sitting overlooking the lake with good food and company was something quite special.
The opportunity to meet fellow guests in the evening with a glass of wine gave us the chance to ensure we did not miss the hidden treasures the area had to offer. Our hosts were there to contribute and sort the itinerary.
The Wanaka airport is only 2 miles down the road and our holiday highlight was to be picked up by helicopter from our own front door and shown the glaciers and lakes.
A location not to be missed. Fantastic.

  • Liked — Excellent quality of accommodation and superb location,
  • Disliked — Still thinking , nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Queensland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

The rooms were beautiful and warm. It felt very comfortable and natural to stay there. Paul and Berny, were fantasic hosts and catered to every whim.

  • Liked — Great Breakfast
  • Disliked — GPS didn't pick up Road
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

Our most favourite place in NZ and the best night's sleep in our trip. Fabulous location with the maple trees fantastic in the mountain setting. Maple Lodge is a very comfortable B&B lodge. The decor is beautiful with great use of recycled beams both inside and outside. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean with fabulous linen and furnishings. I loved the heated floor in the bathroom! Bernie & Paul did a wonderful job looking after us. After our drive from Fox their warm welcome with a cup of tea and homemade cake was just perfect. Breakfasts were great - mouthwaterng pancakes served with local fruit was certainly my favourite and I took the recipe home. Wanaka is close by and has a great selection of places to eat but on one night we really didn't feel like eating out again so Bernie & Paul happily supplied plates and cutlery for our takeaway that we ate watching a DVD on their super huge plasma TV. We stayed 2 nights and wished that we could have stayed longer but other parts of NZ were planned for our trip. We will definately be back to stay next time we pass through Wanaka.

  • Liked — Friendly hosts, spotlessly clean and modern
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Lodge

Address: Halliday Road, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maple Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Lodge is set within a seven acre maple tree plantation and situated within 4minutes drive of the beautiful Lake Wanaka. Fabulous mountain views greet you from your luxurious guest suite. The seven guest suites are individually designed with a modern country theme. Newly built and affording modern comforts; air-conditioning, heated en-suite floors, broadband internet access, TV, DVD and spa. Maple Lodge offers unobtrusive luxury with a homely ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maple Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.