We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maple Lodge to your Saves list
Maple Lodge
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Halliday Road, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 56 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Such a wonderful relaxing stay, Gorgeous surroundings, and tasteful room decor. The hosts are absolute naturals - NOT 'trying to hard' at all (as another guest wrote) They are so polite and welcoming. Breakfasts are AMAZING - they have a menu! Next time we're in Wanaka we will definitely stay again. It's situated right underneath Mt Iron which we walked up both mornings before breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
86
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Maple Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. The hosts are truly wonderful and make you feel very welcome. The breakfast provided by them is so good and gets you on your way for the day. It is lovely and quite with the sounds of sheep in the distance. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a taste of hospitality in New Zealand

By the way, interesting fact - the rooms are all named after trees in New Zealand! On our many walks, we came across those trees. It's a great way to bring the ambiance of nature into the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A bit of a schlep out of town, the property is nicely proportioned and the room clean and comfortable. Paul and Berny try very hard - perhaps too hard - they sought to engage us in small talk at every opportunity; some people may welcome that - we dont; particularly not after having explained we had been travelling for five hours to get there! Were offered a welcome cup of tea but had to collect it from the kitchen ourselves.

Breakfast was OK - but not at all excellent by NZ standards. Internet was slow and limited to 100MB. No minibar in the room - it all felt a bit clinical and controlled.

One of its selling points is the distant views of the mountains. Get there soon if that is what you are interested in because they have planed soem 30 Maple trees between the house and the view; these are already 4-5 metres high. .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This B and B was immaculately presented. It was spotlessly (and I really mean spotlessly!) clean throughout, the room we had was large and opened out on to a terrace with distant mountain views and the communal sitting / dining room was light, large, friendly and comfortable. Paul and Berny could not have been more welcoming, helpful, friendly and informative and we wished we had been able to stay longer than the one night our itinerary allowed. What we didn't realise until we got there was that they run a gratis shuttle service into town. This meant we could go into Wanaka itself and have a good meal and some wine, without worrying about driving, without having to taxi both ways and have all the advantages of a peaceful out-of-town site with lovely grounds. Oh, and the bed was really comfortable, too and I don't think we had a better breakfast anywhere in NZ. Ten out of ten!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

When I stay in these boutique bed and breakfast locations, which are almost unique to New Zealand, I judge them on three criteria.

The layout out of the property and the rooms sense of specialness.

The passion of our hosts for offering hospitality.

The quality of the breakfasts.

In all three regards Maple Lodge delivers I fell at home, welcomed but crucially not in someones home.

Paul and Bernie were the perfect hosts knowledgable indeed they have built up an encyclopedic knowledge of the area, friendly and approachable. As with our previous visit they offered a full conceirge service.

The lodge is prestine clean and they have added one or two pieces which makes it a little warmer.

The breakfasts made by Paul were very good, my favourite the pancakes fruit and maple syrup.

I talk a good deal about how Trip Advisor has its fair share of passive/aggressive reviewers incapable of asking their hosts to deal with an issue but quite ready to tell the global audience how something minor went wrong which could easily be addressed. If something needed addressing Paul and Bernie would do it for you.

I do wish to emphasise two points:-

Wanaka is an absolute gem it really puzzles me that more people do not stay here rather than the more bustling Queenstown if you want a quiter more thoughtful Kiwi experience but full of life and great food options and stunning locations its all here even a small boutique £D cinema. I was pointed at Wanaka last year rather than Queenstown by a traveller whom had 25 weeks of N Z experience I am glad he did.

Maple Lodge is set apart in its own grounds minutes away from a wonderful walking track down to the river. It is a akin to staying on a farmstead in open country but is 5 minutes from Wanaka. Serenity and convienance combined.

Room Tip: The upper floors have even more stunning views toward the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We had a fantastic weekend at Maple Lodge. The entire experience cannot be faulted. The building and surrounding gardens are beautiful, the rooms are spotlessly clean and the atmosphere is relaxed. Despite all of this, the highlight of the stay was the wonderful hosts. Paul and Berny are generous and friendly people who go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, the outdoor spa is a treat and we were also treated to two afternoon teas with freshly baked scones and homemade jam. We would definitely stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A fantastic lodge built by wonderful hosts with care and passion? Check. Beautiful building, lounge and rooms set in amazing surroundings? Naturally. Every little detail taken care of to make our stay just a bit special? All part of the service!

We spent an awesome two nights at Maple Lodge and loved every minute of our time there. Paul and Berny were truly superb hosts. From their attentive service through breakfast time (and tucking into the wonderful muffins, eggs and other tasty offerings prepared to-order) to the turning-down of our bed at night (just an example of the attention to detail) we always felt welcomed into their home. And they are just fantastic people, great to chat with and only too happy to help. Our plans were pretty-much fixed for the weekend, but any questions we had were quickly and informatively answered.

Maple Lodge is exceptional in every respect. You owe yourself the absolute pleasure of staying here!

Room Tip: Choosing either the Kowhai or Rimu rooms will get you a balcony so you can survey the beautiful back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Lodge

Address: Halliday Road, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maple Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Lodge is set within a seven acre maple tree plantation and situated within 4minutes drive of the beautiful Lake Wanaka. Fabulous mountain views greet you from your luxurious guest suite. The seven guest suites are individually designed with a modern country theme. Newly built and affording modern comforts; air-conditioning, heated en-suite floors, broadband internet access, TV, DVD and spa. Maple Lodge offers unobtrusive luxury with a homely ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Maple Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.