We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best accommodation we stayed at in NZ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alpine View Lodge to your Saves list
Alpine View Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   23 Studholme Rd South | RD 2, Wanaka, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“The best accommodation we stayed at in NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Absolute perfection, we stayed in the split level studio which is beautifully furnished and offers stunning views with a lovely private sun deck with table and chairs. Michele and Craig are the loveliest hosts you could wish to meet who made our stay fantastic in every way. Great breakfasts filled us up for some fantastic hiking nearby. Wanaka is beautiful and this is the place to stay in wanaka. 10/10 in every aspect. Thanks for a brilliant stay and we will definitely return. Highly recommended so book well ahead to secure your stay here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
112
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Super clean and modern! Michelle and Craig were very friendly and helpful hosts. Our interactions with them added to the already perfect stay. Excellent location...5-10 drive into center of town/lake but with a remote feeling due to the pristine vast natural surroundings around the home (see the attached pics). The breakfast was delicious and the views from the dining room were spectacular. The room was well stocked with high quality tea, coffee and even spa level bathroom product. We were very happy with our stay and will recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay in Wanaka.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

I'm there now and wishing I'd read other reviews more carefully and booked for longer than one night. This place is perfect by any criterion.There is no adverse aspect at all. We have been made to feel really welcome and the accommodation is pristine.this place is a gem!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I don't often give out 5 stars on Tripadvisor but we just loved everything about Wanaka....

Our 2 night stay at Alpine View Lodge was perfect - Michele was such a lovely host. She helped us out with our itinerary and responded to countless emails offering suggestions before we had even arrived! The property is in a lovely setting and it was one of the few places we just wish we could have stayed longer! :-)

Thanks, Jamie & Gemma

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Upon arrival, my husband and I were warmly welcomed by the owners. Lovely couple who could not have done any more to help us with our stay in wanaka. Our accomodation was superb and we felt it was pure luxury. Lovely home comforts with a lovely added touch of a slice of beautiful cake awaiting us in our room. Lovely breakfast also the next morning. All and all thoroughly recommended to all.

helen & peter molloy

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertford
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and when we left Michelle and Craig it was like leaving good friends. The studio we stayed in was lovely with views across the garden to the mountains. It was clean, well equipped and the bed was really comfortable. They were very considerate and knowledgable about the area and gave us great tips. We enjoyed lovely breakfasts with other guests and evening BBQs on our private deck. Don't stay anywhere else if you go to Wanaka.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

we spent one night at this lovely B&B lodge two days ago. we were warmly welcomed by Craig and Michelle, they are really nice and considerate, making us feel like at home. when we got into the studio, it was a big wow, with stunning view from the window, and everything in the room can reflect that the hosts are really dedicated in making our stay comfortable. we fed the sheep, met with cat Koko and doggie Scruffy. they live together as a family, just like those warm lovely families. i would love to see my retirement like this, working hard but living happily with my families... if u ever visit Wanaka area, do stay with them, wont regret...we will definitely come back at winter season sometime in the future.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Lodge

Address: 23 Studholme Rd South | RD 2, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine View Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine View Lodge is set in 4 scenic acres on the edge of Wanaka - close enough to walk to the lake and town, but far enough away to enjoy peace, tranquility and relaxation. Our guests describe us as one of the best accommodations they stayed in during their holiday, with many guests booking for one night but then staying for three or four. King, queen, singles and twin all with en-suited bathrooms, we also can accommodate families being able to sleep up to 12 people. We offer complimentary continental breakfasts with our studio rooms, free Wi-fi and also a constantly heated spa pool all in a garden setting with stunning mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Alpine View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.