We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly owners but a bit tired and noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairway Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairway Motel to your Saves list
Fairway Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   2 MacPherson Street | Central Otago District, Wanaka, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off December web rate
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very friendly owners but a bit tired and noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here three nights over Easter. Rob was very friendly and able to accommodate us at the last minute, which was much appreciated, but the room was in definite need of a refresh and some improved lighting- it was dark even on sunny days. Also being near the road it was noisy at nights- would probably be fine if staying on the other side of the courtyard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Along with providing friendly service we are also always looking at ways we can improve so we value your feedback. Kind regards, Eve & Rob :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    17
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
28
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We made a reservation at this motel only the night before and on arrival we knew we had been a bit lucky. This is an excellent place to stay, probably the best motel accommodation we had during our three weeks in New Zealand. Our room was literally three or four times larger than the cramped holiday park unit we had the previous night and actually cost us less. It was light, spacious, spotlessly clean, large kitchen, large bathroom (yes, with a spa even!), the bedroom was roomy and did I mention the pool? We were able to fit in a couple of refreshing dips. The motel is about 5 - 6 minutes stroll away from the town centre and waterfront, just over the road from the golf course if you're up for a round or two and only a short drive from Warbirds and Wheels and Puzzling House. The management were very cheery, approachable and only too pleased to help with touring information. If you're looking for a place to stay in Wanaka I wouldn't go past this one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for your comments about the Fairway, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay here! Great that you got a few dips in the pool too, its beautiful on a sunny day. Lovely also to hear that you got to experience some local treasures, maybe next time you might be able to fit in a round of golf!
Hopefully the rest of your trip through NZ was enjoyable and warm :)
Kind regards Eve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Rob and Eve have recently taken over this motel and they were very helpful to us. Slight problem with wifi but Rob sorted it out. Good knowledge of local attractions which was very helpful. Room spacious,comfortable and spotlessly clean.Swimming pool was just right. Thanks Rob for the lend of your golf clubs. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: units on 2 levels I prefer ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayManager, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
A warm hello back to Belfast! I am assuming this means you have made it back to the emerald isle safe and sound! Thank you for the kind feedback, I am really chuffed that you enjoyed you stay here at Fairway (and indeed in Wanaka!). Hopefully next time we are in Europe I can come and take you up on your offer to play a round at your local club! Cheers and happy golfing, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times over the past few years and for us, it is the best motel in Wanaka (we have stayed at others...............but can't beat Fairway). We usually stay in the same unit each time and it is always nice and clean. Nothing is a problem to the new owners (nor the previous ones) and they are always very helpful and friendly. We will continue to come back to the Fairway - in fact we are booked in for Easter and next January as well. Looking forward to it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayManager, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi Sunlovers,

Thanks for your comments, it was a pleasure hosting you at the Fairway. Its great to have return customers and we are looking forward to seeing you again at Easter. Hopefully the sun is still shining so you can have a dip in the pool!

Thanks again
Eve and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Rob and Eve, new to this motel, gave us a very warm and helpful welcome after sorting out a room booking mishap caused in the change of ownership. We very soon settled and found the accommodation generous and well fitted out. Conveniently situated off the main road, and a 10 minute walk into the centre of Wanaka suited us very well. An on site swimming pool was a bonus not often found in motels. Rob was very interested in our travels and most helpful in ensuring we enjoyed our time in Wanaka.
Colin & Amanda England

Room Tip: Some ground floor rooms had small private gardens, but we found the first floor rooms more sociable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayManager, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Hi Colin and Amanda! Really glad to hear from you again and good to see you made it back to blighty safe, sound and happy. I hope to go to Southampton at some point to visit some friends and play a couple of rugby games. If I can time it so we play East Dorset (a major rival) then you might get to see us go at it. Either way we will stay in touch when we come back. Again, thank you and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Fairway, and in NZ.

Kind regards

Rob & Eve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Fairway motel was a very pleasant place to stay, we had a one roomed unit, it was spacious with a large bathroom. Very clean and tidy. Being in the middle of the summer being able to have the ranch slider opened and the seats out the cooler side were most welcome.

Room Tip: State when you book all your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayManager, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi guys, thank you for the review! It has been a hectic Feb, our first one in the business and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time in Wanaka and at the Fairway Motel :-) have a safe onward journey and hope to see you back here in Central one day soon. Kind regards, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Arrived late in day due to diversion from Hokitika took us back over Arthers Pass due to bridge being washed away! Rob, owner, was friendly and informative with where to eat, and things for the kids etc. Kids loved the pool, especially enjoyed after a long drive. We had a two bedroom apartment which was gorgeous with everything you would need. We could have been quite happy for a week or more as the apartments were a real home from home with washing machines, dishwasher etc. Swings kept the kids busy while we unloaded car and although we didn't use the bbq area it looked fab. This place was spotlessly clean and would definitely return again and recommend to others. Only disappointment was that wifi was a little slow.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayManager, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi Guys. So glad you had a good stay after all of that palava with the roads during that week! We are so rapt that you felt at home and could relax and enjoy yourselves while you were here :-) Apologies if the WIFI was slow, a lot of the town had issues during the summer as we await fibre-optics, thank you for bringing that to light. I hope you have a great 2013 and we would love to host you in Wanaka again. Thank you and kind regards, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Motel

Address: 2 MacPherson Street | Central Otago District, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairway Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For comfortable, affordable accommodation in Wanaka, think Fairway Motel. Fairway Motel can provide a great range of studios, family units and 2 bedroom apartments that can cater for anyone from traveling couples to large groups. Fairway motel facilities include: - Large in ground swimming pool (Dec - Apr) and BBQ area perfect for those warmer months - Guest laundry, bike & golf club storage space and a ski drying room for the winter - A big car park area to accommodate boats, trailers and tour buses - Freeview Satellite TV Fairway Motel is close to all Wanaka amenities, the pristine lake, fine restaurants and shops are just a short stroll away. Puzzling World and Mt Iron track is a short walk and we are adjacent to the spectacular Wanaka Golf Club. Wanaka can offer you a myriad of outdoor pursuits in all seasons, so let Fairway Motel be your ticket to ride! Your hosts Eve and Rob look forward to welcoming you to Wanaka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairway Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.