We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Siam Restaurant

Thai Siam Restaurant
80 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9192, New Zealand
03 443 5010
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 63 Restaurants in Wanaka
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Auckland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Shocking Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Looking for something different in New Zealand we thought we'd try this place. A few of us had pork ribs for a starter which turned out to be raw on the inside. After a very long wait for our main courses, the last one to come out had a hair in the meal. Unfortunately one of our group fell ill during the meal, none of the staff came over to assist or ask if everything was alright. Having discussed this matter with the supervisor on shift she was very rude and defensive towards us and offered very little in the way of apology. Needless to say the majority of plates went back with a lot of food still on them

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    38
    26
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food made to order”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great food made exactly how you like it (extra hot, mild, no this extra that) Good service, nice selection of drinks - alcholic or soft.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterjohnstone
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Under-rated!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent Thai lunch here. The green curry was excellent, with very nice white chicken perfectly cooked. The green thai suace was perfectly spiced. not too spicy, not too mild. This thai restaurant would do well in any major urban area. We would suggest you try, and we will be back

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Above average Thai for NZ (3.5/5)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Good friendly customer service, a little on the expensive side for NZ as a whole but par for the course in a tourist town like Wanaka or Queenstown. Nice satay sauce over average chicken skewers, but really nice green curry - better than many in Auckland where I'm from. Overall a good choice & worthwhile experience - Kob Kun Krap!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A good easy meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Needed something quick and easy and drifted into Thai siam. The thai curries are great. I had the sweet and sour which wasn't so good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Siam Restaurant also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Thai Siam Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Siam Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.