We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it twice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relishes Cafe

Relishes Cafe
1 Ardmore St, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
03 443 9018
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 62 Restaurants in Wanaka
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Food is great - we ate on two nights. The menu did not change which was good because we could try the other great things on the menu! Service was wonderful, they only had room outside but were able to move us in right away when a table inside cleaned up.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    160
    35
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We ate here on a Saturday night. We had a long wait for our first course although there were several free tables. The salt and pepper squid coating was soggy, uncooked and unappetising but the chicken liver pate was a winner. Gluten free bread was available for those who wanted it. Although the menu said confit of duck what was delivered to the table was a greasy roast portion. (No comment was made by the waitress)The garlic mashed potatoes were horrible - obviously reheated and claggy and so bad we sent them back. The service was slow and we noticed that other tables were also getting impatient for their food. We didn't stay for dessert.There was enough wait staff so possibly the problem was with the kitchen. It is perhaps a better choice for lunch or coffee rather than an evening meal

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Yum, Yum, Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The food was ravishing! We should have eaten here both nights of our stay was our only regret during our stay in Wanaka

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Relishes makes wonderful coffee, great food and wonderful setting.
Staff are all so friendly and helpful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, Otago, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“All class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Amazing cakes and delicious coffee. The peanut butter slice might be the best thing in the world. Beautiful staff and wonderful views. Go!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Relishes Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Relishes Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relishes Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.