We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Landing

The Landing
Level One | 80 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9192, New Zealand
+64 3-443 5099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 63 Restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: European, Tapas, Contemporary, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Poised above Lake Wanaka, The Landing Restaurant and Bar offers exceptional dining with stunning lake and mountain views. Sit yourself down in front of the open fire in winter, on one of the balconies overlooking the lake in summer and enjoy the relaxed ambience and beautiful surroundings. Owners Sarah and Phillip Cochrane treat their diners to New Zealand's finest produce prepared in a classic but contemporary style. With professional knowledgeable staff, an excellent wine list and new bar area, The Landing is the place to eat and drink in Wanaka.
new hampshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not the best meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We ate one dinner at The Landing and both of us ordered the duck breast, which was a mistake. The overall main was a smallish portion, and by the time the fat and gristle was cut off the pieces of breast, there wasn't a lot of duck left. The amount was not worth the price we paid. Our server was unattentive, but the dessert (rhubarb creme brulee) was very good. In balance we were disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    54
    24
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Taster dessert a reason to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We went to The Landing twice (we rarely go back anywhere) because we thought it excellent. The menu is concise but high quality, the wine a reasonable price (by NZ standards) and the taster dessert a reason to return. Steaks were excellent and service was great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The Landing was recommended to us by our motel (The Moorings..also just great) and we were very impressed. The menu was new, there was apparently a new chef, and everything was fine. Service, food, wine list all very good, and our wine questions were all answered thoroughly. Views from the balcony matched the quality of everything else. We have since recommended it to other travellers. Not cheap, we paid $175 for two, but definitely worth it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a beautiful meal at The Landing last week. The service was great, a very friendly and helpful waiter and the food was perfect. An entree of fresh oysters to die for and delicious lamb and duck breast for the main courses. We were too full to manage a dessert! It was such a treat to go out and have a delicious meal in such a pleasant setting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Good standard of food and service we had a table over looking the lake. Prices about right, nothing outstanding but a good meal, I had the lamb my wife fish of the day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Landing also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to The Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.