We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best breakfast ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kai Whakapai Cafe and Bar

Kai Whakapai Cafe and Bar
Ardmore St, Wanaka 9192, New Zealand
03 443 7795
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 59 restaurants in Wanaka
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Oxford
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“the best breakfast ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I had a plate of French toast the size of my head - it was awesome. It was stacked with fresh fruit and syrup, and accompanied by ht tea and magazines to read. This is pretty much everything i need to make me happy in life.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    102
    50
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Duh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Simple order - two long blacks. We grab a table and seat outside in the sun. A great place to watch people and take in the view of the lake. 15 minutes later we ask when our coffees will be ready. Waitress comes back....sorry we will have to remake them as we couldn't find you. Oh dear

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Where the locals obviously go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This cafe was always full - no matter what time of day it was - and made the best coffee's! Service was always prompt and with a smile. Definitely where the locals go as we assumed because they have their own beer :-)

The pesto cream cheese bagel was my favourite and had this about 3 times. Good Value for money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Friendly, welcoming atmosphere. Busy but service always efficient and cheerful. Woollen 'cosy' on the teapot - sheer class!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cozy Corner Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This homey cafe has indoor and outdoor seating and I never once fought for a table during my 4 visits over a 2 week period. They have stellar gluten free options, including a gluten free pizza of the day, which was always something unique and delicious. They also have gluten free soups and pastas and a fabulous draft cider that you must try even if you aren't gluten free. It is by far the best draft cider I've ever had. Great local atmosphere, amazing food, hip staff, and an overall unique but comforting experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kai Whakapai Cafe and Bar also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Kai Whakapai Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kai Whakapai Cafe and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.