We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Braised Lamb Shank” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CAPRICCIO Restaurant & Bar

CAPRICCIO Restaurant & Bar
Pembroke Mall, Wanaka 9192, New Zealand
03 443 8579
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 59 restaurants in Wanaka
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ontario, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Braised Lamb Shank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Our Lodge hosts recommended Capricio especially for their braised lamb shank. We were told to split the entree because there is more than enough for 2! The shank was tender and flavorful and there definitely was enough for two to share! The atmosphere is casual and all the food we saw served looked wonderful. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    43
    25
    11
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Umea, Sweden
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Improvements can be made”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My wife and I ate at the Capricio, a not all together good or pleasant experience. We started with oysters, and to serve Bluff oysters out of the shell, two and two in a small whit porcelain cup, gives much to wish in the way of presentation, and after have tasted the oysters fresh out of the shell, no restaurant in their right mind should accept this way to treat oysters. On the other hand, the scallops with the pork, was lovely and almost cooked to perfection, they were just slightly overcooked. The cucumber salad that was served with the scallops was very nice and innovative. Then followed yellow finned tuna, and as we all know tuna is sensitive to overcooking, and this what was done, overcooked and not with very much taste, room for mighty improvement. If it had been perfect and absolutely fresh the small size portion would have been expectable. The desert a crème brule not very much of that, soft, almost runny more in the consistence of a custard not very much of vanilla taste, even here room for mighty improvement.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Valentine's Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Even though we hadn't booked, they found room for us and we had an excellent meal, served by a young American girl who was delightful!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Excellent food all eaten with a view over the lake - which is one of the best views in the world

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best food we had in NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We went through Wanaka twice. Each time we stopped at Capriccio's. We had great table's with views and the food was amazing and the service was top notch. The bruschetta bread was even better than mine. We ate there in total 4 times and never a bad meal. Lamb, fish beef and pasta. Very nice wine selection and at reasonable prices. Richard and Sue the owners are hands on and so very accomodating. Jasmine was our server each time and great and remembered us. At must dine if in Wanaka. Appetizers, dinner, wine and liquers for 2 = $95.00 + Tip

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CAPRICCIO Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to CAPRICCIO Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CAPRICCIO Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.