We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I know what all the fuss is about” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmiGos Mexican Grill

AmiGos Mexican Grill
C/- Wanaka Hotel | 71 Ardmore St, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
03-443 7872
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 59 restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Steakhouse, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Wanaka
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I know what all the fuss is about”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We are locals and we have dined out twice at Amigos recently. The food is top-notch, fresh ingredients beautifully prepared and the meals are very substantial. We feel that the prices at Amigos are reasonable and well worth the price. The service is always prompt and friendly without being overbearing and we will be going back again. It will be great when they move to their new larger premises.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    109
    49
    20
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Picton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not sure what the fuss is about?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Newly arrived in Wanaka we thought we would try Amigos to see what the fuss was about! To pay nearly $30 for Chilli Con Carne is a little bit steep, especially when the guacomole looked like it came out of a tube! Wine list was shocking - not even a chardonnay available. The burittos were okay, but again the pricing is just too up there. Not sure what the fuss is about - certainly didn't experience the 'friendly' service we had been told about. Think that the good discounts and service with a smile is perhaps kept for the regulars.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmiGosManager, Manager at AmiGos Mexican Grill, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hi Chris. Sorry you thought we were only worth 2 stars on your visit. To address your points... Price we make no apology for, nobody is getting ripped off here amigo. Please note that the meals you had can be purchased as a takeout for $10 (early bird special, $15 at other times).

The Guacamole, yep we call them piping bags not tubes, and they're the most convenient method in a small busy kitchen, not sure why that's a problem in your eyes?

The wine list, no, we don't serve a Chardonnay. We do serve local Pinot Gris, local Gewurtztraminer and a Sauv. Blanc. We also permit BYO, and there's a bottle store directly opposite us... again, I don't really see what's so shocking?

I'm glad you at least enjoyed your meals... though I'm very concerned that you didn't find the service friendly, that's not acceptable at all, and would appreciate a further explanation of where we let you down in this regard?

The ''good discounts' are indeed reserved for the regulars who join our Guestlist and support us often, and again, what on earth is wrong with that?

Anyway, thanks for giving us a try, I hope you find another restaurant that's more to your liking.

Kind regards
Waz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Been here many times over the last few years. Food is always good, tasty, hot and filling. Service is always friendly and helpful. Great for gluten free options! Always good value. Highly recommend. Able to book on line and order take away on line. Makes it all really easy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Takeaway brilliance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We used to eat in the restaurant for our Amigos fix but with the arrival of no.3 it's been a takeaway treat for us instead. Amigos takeaways is always the same delicious meal (perhaps without the finesse of in restaurant dining) but generous helpings, great prices and always delicious. Almost worth chucking in the towel for home cooking! Thanks Team Amigos you are fabulous!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We love this place and always make a point of going there every trip. Ok so the food is not fine dining, who cares! You leave there feeling full and satisfied and I love the margaritas!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AmiGos Mexican Grill also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to AmiGos Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmiGos Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.