We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to rate...our registration was missing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeview Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lakeview Motel to your Saves list
Lakeview Motel
68 Lismore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi Fi Internet
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Grimsby, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Hard to rate...our registration was missing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had prepaid for two double rooms and when we arrived there was no record of our reservation at all....and only one room was available. The owner was very apologetic and arranged to get us rooms at a neighboring motel and made up the difference in price....so she handled the situation very professionally and promptly. The location/facility did look spectacular and we wished we could have stayed here.

Seems like the new owners had faced this type of situation a few times lately as it seems the previous owners took the prepaid money and never booked the rooms....kinda sleazy but not really the fault of the current owners.

Based on how promptly and professionally the new owners handled the situation I would imagine that they would treat their guests very well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    60
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
140
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is a difficult one to rate, because the view across the lake is so good, but it is the view that makes this place so special. If you take away the views, this motel is of average quality when considering furniture and fittings. The real downside is the wifi. We stayed in room one - a studio room, and had to go outside to get any kind of connection. The owner expressed surprise, as she had just had a booster fitted, but from the other reviews, this is clearly not a new or isolated problem. If you do manage to get a connection, the wifi is so slow as to be useless. Really annoying as, had we known, we would have booked elsewhere. We were also surprised to discover no razor point in the bathroom, which the owner, did not appear to realise.

We booked a downstairs room, so that we did not have to carry luggage up or downstairs, however we were given a room at the back of the motel, which has steps up from the car park. The access to the car park is very narrow and the parking area at the back very tight.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs have easier parking and level access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri455, Owner at Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hi Caslandon, "Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Lakeview. We agree that the views from the rooms across the lake to the Southern Alps are spectacular and that is what sets us apart from other motels in Wanaka.
We apologise again for the Wi-Fi problems that you had. As explained at the time a new modem was fitted a few weeks earlier but had incurred a fault which the technician was working to fix. Our objective is to provide our quests with the best possible experience during their stay in Wanaka including Free Unlimited Wi-Fi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This was my husbands' favourite place we stayed on our 3 week trip. The views are amazing over the lake and mountains in the distance. Spacious unit and well equipped. We were only booked in for one night and wished we could have stayed longer. Short walk to town - uphill on way back. Only little snag was the free WiFi. You had to sit in the bathroom for it to connect. But highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talladega, Alabama
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We loved Wanaka! Much better than Queenstown. Not as noisy or crowded, no traffic. This was a great place to stay overnight and wish we had stayed longer. Room is comfortable, very clean, nothing great, but the view is fantastic and the lights on the water and stars at night...magical. Far enough out of town to be quiet at night. Up on a hill, so the view is even better. Small town feel. Didn't want to leave. Thank you for a great place to stay in one of our favorite places in NZ!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

THIS is the place to stay in Wanaka. It's a 5 minute good-for-exercise walk to town. Because it's on a hill, you have magnificent views of Lake Wanaka. We stayed in room 6, which had an excellent, firm Queen bed and a loft with a single bed.

The room also had a table by a huge window where you can appreciate the view during winter. In summer, open the door to the shared balcony and enjoy a cuppa there.

Not all rooms have balconies and ours was on the top floor. The view is unrestricted.

Wifi is free and the lady who owns the place is super nice and helpful!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very comfortable stay well equipped studio room for two. Bathroom spacious. Garden overlooks lake and mountains. We can see from bed Lovely rustic feel. Only negative although there is unlimited free wifi it's so slow as to be unusable Very friendly hostess very quiet road

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Island, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Beautiful views especially the sunset. Is one of my favourite self contained units so far The room was clean, spacious, and well -equipped. We had a satisfying and comfortable stay. Would definitely return to this motel whenever we visit wanaka in the future.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motel

Address: 68 Lismore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
#10 Family Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious queen studios with MILLION dollar views of lake & mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Studios Wanaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeview Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.