We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view was beautiful.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeview Motel

Save Saved
You added Lakeview Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakeview Motel
68 Lismore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi Fi Internet
Ranked #5 of 22 hotels in Wanaka
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The view was beautiful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The view from the bay window in our studio room overlooked Lake Wanaka and the mountains. The room was very clean and well presented. There is also a BBQ available for use. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The motel is within walking distance to shops but it is an uphill return walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
68Lismore, Owner at Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hi and thanks for taking the time to post your review. We pride ourselves on friendliness and room cleanliness so good to get your positive feedback. Kind regards Leanne & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    58
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
134
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had booked in to stay at this accommodation. Unfortunatley there was a road closure due to a rock fall and we were unable to get through as there is only one road into wanaka. We rang well ahead in the day at approx 11am, and advised that the information provided to us was the road was closed and we wouldnt be able to get through at all today. The lady we spoke to pretty much said too bad if I cant fill the room I am charging you. Your travel isnurance will cover it. Well its a pity that our travel insurance also has a $200 excess before we can claim. Again explaining this, there was no empathy or compassion. We got the same response, If i cant fill the room im charging you. I was also told before they would charge me, they would send an email to advise. The road did open a 6pm for one hour. As it was dark we were advised by the information centre not to go, because of the condition the road was in and a massive storm was coming through. They said its dangerous and we recommend you wait till the morning. Well two days later I logged onto my bank account and there was the charge, and i logged on to my email, no email provided. I again sent another email of complaint and i was advised the owner had gone overseas and would not be back until oct. To us this was really poor business practice and we would not recommend, we were really unhappy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
68Lismore, Owner at Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hi, we have arrived back in Wanaka and have become aware of your review. We can sympathise with your situation however don't believe that we are accountable for your unforseeable change in plans. We had upheld our end of the contract by holding the room for you for weeks having turned away other inquiries for the date in question. We understand that you phoned three hours prior to checkin time to cancel your booking (our advertised cancellation period is 72 hours prior to arrival) and that Leanne said she would try and resell the room that day and if successful would not charge you. She also offered you the room for the following evening which gave you the chance to shuffle your itinerary. When we travel we always take travel insurance which covers any costs arising from natural disasters which are outside of anyones control. This covers any prior commitments to flights, accommodation etc.. We are upset that you are unhappy with the terms and conditions of our cancellation policy and so have made a seperate offer to you by email of a reasonable discount for any future stays so that you can enjoy our hospitality at Lakeview and the beautiful surroundings of Wanaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

What an amazing motel. Friendly service and very clean well organized rooms.The view is amazing. We would certainly use this motel again. Great sound proofed walls too. Heard no noise from neighboring rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

As many other reviews have said, it's all about the view. OK so not all about the view otherwise I'd rate 5 out of 5, but the view is the main factor.

We were in unit 5 which is upstairs, sharing a balcony with unit 6 and more or less sharing the balcony with what I assume is the owners unit. So you wouldn't want to have curtains open while not being entirely dressed ;-) But it was great to sit on the balcony with a cup of tea and a camera. We were lucky that the best snowfall of the year had happened a night or two beforehand so when the weather cleared a bit the hills/mountains on the other side of the lake were a stunning sight.

The unit was in an upstairs/downstairs configuration with the bed in a kind of loft area and everything else downstairs. The toilet and bathroom were nicely separated from the main living area. There did seem to be a bit of a smell accumulate in the toilet room if the door was left shut for a while hence the 3 out of 5 cleanliness rating. Probably not an actual cleanliness issue, perhaps more of a minor pluming issue, nothing visibly obvious.

We thought the kitchenette was good, not a full kitchenette, but more than just tea and coffee. The TV was a good size and had the standard set of channels - a few free channels and Sky Movies, Sky Sports (both just the main ones), and Sky News.

Probably not the cheapest place in town but definitely not the most expensive, and very good value for money we thought.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed one night while on business in Wanaka. Great location, walking distance to town, stunning views of the lake and surrounding area. My room was spacious, impeccably clean and the decor fresh. Very comfortable bed. Parking on the lower level was a bit tight but other than that, escellent. I would definitely stay recommend the Lakeview to others and will stay there again myself.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
68Lismore, Owner at Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Hi there, thanks for the great review and wonderful to see that we appeal to business travellers as well as holiday makers! We look forward to seeing you back here again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Probably the best value for money accommodation I've stayed in. The room was large and well appointed and the view of the lake was unbelievable. The photos on their website just don't do it justice. Has a nice little area outside the door where you can sit down with a Drambuie and watch life in a sleepy little town.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Luckily we found this great place as we arrived in Wanaka. The views of the lake were fabulous and it is close to the town. We were on the first floor but with no balcony (I think we had the last room) but watched a little regatta on the lake and walked to the shared garden to sit in the sun. The room was lovely - comfortable and well designed. I would certainly recommend this motel - good value for money and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motel

Address: 68 Lismore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious queen studios with MILLION dollar views of lake & mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Studios Wanaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeview Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.