We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Resort Wanaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alpine Resort Wanaka to your Saves list
Alpine Resort Wanaka
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   144-154 Anderson Road, Wanaka 9192, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Akaroa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 nights with our 2 young boys. Everything about our stay was just perfect, the apartment is warm, clean and well appointed. The kitchen has everything you need for a self catering family & the resort facilities kept us busy when not skiing Cardrona. We loved the location away from the central part of town with the most amazing mountain & lake views. We are already planning our return!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    33
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
26
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We rented a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom, condo that was perfect for two couples to share. The view of the lake with mountains was wonderful to see from our open kitchen, dining, living room! The staff was happy to help us with planning outings and making reservations for activities. The apartment also had a washer and dryer in the unit although we didn't use them during our stay. Another nice feature was the garage included with each unit. It was extremely narrow, but provided a warmer place to park at night.

Room Tip: We asked for a lake and mountain view apartment. The view was spectacular from our second floor uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Living in Dunedin we travel to central Otago a lot. Alpine Resort Wanaka has become our choice of accommodation in Wanaka. We have three kids and we like to travel with guests so we need space. We also want to be able to cook our own food and have things for the kids to do on the premises. These guys are great for all these things. We often come in between seasons and their prices are very affordable for a 3 bedroom apartment. I highly recommend this place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We only got to stay here 1 night but it was really nice. Very quiet spot, the apartment was very well equipped and it was Rey easy to cook our own meals. The space was quiet spacious and there was a nice little outdoor area. DVDs were able to be rented from reception and there were also 2 pools, 2 spas, a sauna, a games room and a tennis court so you get definitely spend a while here with lots to do.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked the 7 night package and were very pleased. The 2 bedroom apartment was well thought out and well equipped. My wife and I remarked on several occasions on just how lovely the resort was, and the kids loved the games rooms. Feedback for improvement would be to upgrade the Internet connection, as mentioned below this really was below par. Not much you can do about the noise proofing now, but with the early morning departures for the ski fields this can get noisy around 7am. All in all the positives vastly outweighed any niggles. 5 stars !

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a wonderful surprise finding this fabulous place to stay in Wanaka. Adele and her staff we so helpful and friendly with tourist information around Wanaka and the rest of the South Island. There service was nothing but outstanding. We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment with magic views over the lake in a quite part of town. The kids enjoyed the games room,tennis court and the hot spa and even had a dip in the pool in the middle of winter(very refreshing).The apartment was serviced daily with lovely fresh fluffy towels and the kitchen was very well equipped. By far the best value place to stay in the Southern Alps . Thankyou for a memorable stay and hope to see you next year.

Paula Creagh. Gold Coast,Australia

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were very impressed with this property. The apartment was above average in almost every way with even a beautiful private patio and a garage with automatic door. There were however a couple of things that people should be aware of. Use of the internet is important to us when we travel. We like to use it to plan ahead for the coming days. The internet here has to be purchased. It is horrible.The worst we had in six weeks of traveling. I do not understand why with such and outstanding property they skimp so badly on the net service. Another thing I was not comfortable with was the door from the garage to the apartment did not have a lock on it. There was a lockable door from outside into the garage but not the one into the apartment. Also we found the sound proofing between the floors to be very poor to non existent so you might want to consider an upstairs apartment. Keeping these things in mind it is a very nice place.

Room Tip: Be aware there is little sound proofing between floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Resort Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Resort Wanaka

Address: 144-154 Anderson Road, Wanaka 9192, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alpine Resort Wanaka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort offers a choice of 58 large, stylish, self-contained, serviced apartments, each providing you with a high level of personal comfort and convenience, perfect for all seasons. Superior facilities include a gourmet kitchen, 50 channels of Sky TV (43" screens in 3brm apartments), under-floor heating in the bathrooms and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alpine Resort Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Resort Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Clarion Wanaka
Wanaka Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Resort Wanaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.