We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World

Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World
188 Main Highway, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
03 443 7489
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 12 Attractions in Wanaka
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World is a world-unique attraction with the theme of puzzling eccentricity! Take some amazing photos of our crazy buildings and toilets, our Illusion Rooms must be seen to be believed and the Great Maze, the worlds first 'modern-styled' maze, is a fascinating challenge for the whole family. Operating since 1973, this is a true Kiwi icon suitable for all ages and budgets and is a must-see on any tourist itinerary.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Don't make the mistake that this is just for kids. There is some very clever stuff here. We were very please with ourselves for getting to the four corners of the maze in a fairly short time then it took ages to find our way out.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi oldgeeze,

Thanks for your great review!

I'm really glad you were able to see for yourself that our attraction is indeed great for all ages and appreciate that we work hard to bring "clever stuff" to the business!

It sounds like you achieved the maze also, going through the "this is easy........hmmm, maybe not" scenario that it's designed for, so well done and we look forward to seeing you back at PW

Kind regards,

Duncan
Manager
Puzzling World, Wanaka, NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    226
    31
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wacky Stop Off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My daughters visited this attraction a few months earlier and recomended that we visited. You can either buy a ticket for the maze and the illusions or just for the illusion rooms. We purchased the tickets for both, but on reflection as two adults we said that we should have just got the tickets for the illusions. After a short time in the maze which is great fun we got bored and went out through the emergency exit. I would deffinately recommend doing the maze if you have children with you as it will amuse them for ages. The Illusions are great, very interesting. The hologram hall is a great start to your visit. The hall of the following faces was quite spooky and surreal. We took a video if it as a photo does not do this room justice. The Ames room was great fun and we had a lovely lady offer to take our photo, don't forget to view yourselfs in the room on the tv's located outside the room. Loved the tilted room, which can be quite tricky to walk around as it is on a very steep angle. All in all this is a great place to visit, fun and worth stopping off.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi redkaz,

Thanks for your fantastic review!

I'm really glad you enjoyed the Illusion Rooms so much and you've made some great observations about how best to view the Following Faces for friends back home!

Great photos too - love the "hanging" tap shot

While we understand that mazes aren't everyone's favourite thing to do I'm pleased you gave it a go and can at least say you had a go at the world's first 3-D Maze :)

Kind regards,

Duncan
Manager
Puzzling World, Wanaka, NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in here as a break from driving and had a great time. We made it through the maze and found each corner and the way back out after a lot of frustrating fun. The illusions building was also very interesting. This would be great for kids in early teens, but older would enjoy it as well, they just might not admit it as we all know.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Justin,

Thanks for your awesome review!

I'm really glad you decided to stopped in after a long drive, we always say we offer a great way to stretch the legs (maze) and stretch the mind (puzzles/illusions)!

You're spot on in saying that we surprise adults by entertaining them too - we get a few who admit they're mistake - see multiple examples here :)

We hope to see you again at PW!

Kind regards,

Duncan
Manager
Puzzling World, Wanaka, NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great for all ages including just adults!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had stayed overnight at Lake Wanaka and visited the next morning, unsure whether it would really be a place for families, rather than a couple. But we had a ball. It is interesting and fun - not to be missed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi Shailer,

Thanks for your great review!

That's a common misconception that we're always happy to dispel. Many adult visitors are surprised just how much enjoyment and interest they get from what is on offer here, so I'm really glad you made the call to drop by

We look forward to seeing you again at PW!

Kind regards,

Duncan
Manager
Puzzling World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Worth spending a day there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Its amazing , can spend a whole day.. please do not miss this if you are in Wanaka... I almost missed it and would have regretted it big time

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Dr G,

Thanks for short but brilliant review!

Yep, people often spend a lot longer here because they're having so much brain-stimulating fun :)

I'm really glad you chose to stop in and visit us and look forward to seeing you back at PW

Kind regards,

Duncan
Manager
Puzzling World, Wanaka, NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.