We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a special trip to Wanaka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World

Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World
188 Main Highway, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
03 443 7489
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 20 attractions in Wanaka
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World is a world-unique attraction with the theme of puzzling eccentricity! Take some amazing photos of our crazy buildings and toilets, our Illusion Rooms must be seen to be believed and the Great Maze, the worlds first 'modern-styled' maze, is a fascinating challenge for the whole family. Operating since 1973, this is a true Kiwi icon suitable for all ages and budgets and is a must-see on any tourist itinerary.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Sydney
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Worth a special trip to Wanaka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was the only reason we came to Wanaka, and we weren't disapppointed. The maze (especially if you try and do it the hard way) was just the right level of frustration; not impossible, but not too easy either. And the added extras (leaning room, and various optical illusions) were nicely set out. If you've been in many science museums, they won't be new to you, but they were very well done, and worth seeing again.

The little touches (trompe l'oeil toilets and puzzles at every table in the cafe) make it even better.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi Jennifer,

Thanks a lot for your brilliant review!

You've summed up nicely the idea of the maze being hard but not too hard and I'm stoked you like the various illusionary and quirky touches around the place

Great to see you got such enjoyment out of the roman toilets (did you see the new toilets too - rubiks cube/jigsaw flooring?) We hope to see you all back at PW soon :)

Kind regards,

Duncan
Manager
Puzzling World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    196
    26
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great fun for a family visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very cool effects and the new gallery is very nice. Lots of nice touches (e.g. puzzles to play with). All I'd ask for is better coffee!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi Kiwi,

Thanks for for your great review!

it's awesome to hear that you enjoyed our new gallery so much and that the puzzles were a key part of your enjoyment.

I take on board your comments about our coffee perhaps not being the barsita style you're probabaly accustomed to. As we regularly recieve over 1,000 customers daily we choose to use our self service machines to ease the waiting time you'd expect with such volume and we work hard to ensure we get the best brew out of these machines. We generally receieve good (often suprised) comments so you may have had a rough pour - apologies about that.

We hope to see you again at Puzzling World!

Kind regards,

Duncan Spear
Puzzling World, Wanaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must Visit place in Wanaka :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We drove an hour from Queenstown for a visit to Puzzling world. It was completly worth the time & effort. We had a great time there.
The illusions & Holograms were excellent.
Must visit place for all ages.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Suman,

Thanks for your excellent review!

Wanaka activities love to bring people over the hill from Queenstown, so for you include, "We drove an hour from Queenstown for a visit to Puzzling world. It was completly worth the time & effort. We had a great time there" is awesome.

We hope to see you again at PW!

Kind regards,

Duncan
Puzzling World
Wanaka, NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A really fun day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place is great value, especially if you can give yourself a few hours to experience it all. Bring a camera to record yourself seemingly defying gravity, and apparently exceeding your physical size and strength. Then try to crack the ingenious maze, where the first colour you aim for will end up being the last one you achieve, and finding your way back is the hardest part of all. And after you've done that, then have a go at doing it all in the correct order, and see if you can beat my time of twenty minutes. Then round it all off with a few puzzles in the cafe. If you enjoy challenges, this is definitely the place to be. I and my family loved it :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi Phil,

Thanks for for your wonderful review!

I love your style of taking us through the business on a journey of self discovery (and managing to slip in the bit about cracking the maze in 20 mins! - well done by the way!)

I'm really glad that "value", "fun" and "family" were key points - all things we strive to perform well in!

We hope to see you again at Puzzling World!

Kind regards,

Duncan Spear
Puzzling World, Wanaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic place to visit. If you're in Wanaka, you HAVE to see this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

This place was incredible. The holograms were amazing, all the picture illusions were good, the illusion rooms were fun, the sculptural illusions were incredible. There was also a room where the floor wasn't horizontal which had all these cool things in it. The maze was pretty good, but not as good as everything else there. The cafe was cool, because there were little puzzles you could play with on all the tables, although the Caesar salads are really bad. The actual salad is ok, it's just the disgusting peppery dressing that tastes nothing like Caesar dressing that ruins it. The gift shop is also cool, with interesting and wacky items. The Leaning Tower Of Wanaka which is out the front is great for photos. This place is just fantastic, and if you can, you have to go there, because you will LOVE it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi Ashley,

Thanks for your great review!

I'm really glad you loved the illusions (in particular our new Sculptillusion Gallery), the puzzle centre and gift shop and that while not being overly keen on the maze at least you gave it a go!

Ceasar Salad - we buy in the dressing (Caesar salad dressing) and I know the brand was changed recently so I'll certianly be looking at that as it is an important part of our summer menu.

We hope to see you again at Puzzling World!

Kind regards,

Duncan Spear
Puzzling World, Wanaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stuart Landsborough's Puzzling World to your Saves list