We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka to your Saves list
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   corner Cardrona Valley & Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Wanaka
Brisbane
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

The hotel is a little drive from town, you need a car to visit Wanaka anyway and parking in town is plentiful.

The rooms were small but nice.

It seems to be designed for the ski-ing crowd and was fairly empty in December pre school holidays.

The staff were very friendly, strangly I was expecting more from the hot pools. There are two heated pools and a lap pool which we didn't venture near. One of the heated pools was kept covered during the stay.

They also has 7-8 in ground spas around the pools. Two of these were uncovered. The water in the one we went into seemed in need of better filtration, and I was thinking it was going to be more thermal pool than hot tub/spa set up. However the uncovered swimming pool was fine.

The price was right and the hotel was good value, and if I had been ski-ing all day they thought of relaxing in hot water regardless of thermal or artificial would have been a bonus.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — spa
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    222
    119
    59
    26
See reviews for
131
330
17
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

Our family stayed at this great resort for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the facilities were fantastic. The food was really nice and the location was great - close enough to the township but very quiet. We would definitely stay at this resort again.

  • Liked — Very modern and clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

A trip to the snow in the middle of winter! "Your Nuts", everyone told us. I wasn't concerned though, as I'd prioritized our accommodation so we would be happy to spend a big portion of our time chilling-out in our very lovely accommodations. I should have headed the warnings! Despite the very attractive surroundings and the chirpy staff our room was not conducive to relaxation, or even spending too much time there. On arrival the apparently friendly staff told us to take our own bags around to our room on the other side of the property. And what a immaculate well-presented room it was BUT, it was so cramped it was borderline claustrophobic: one window looking out to a building site (an extension to the hot-pools). There was a TV that was fixed to the wall on such odd angel, you couldn't view it from the only chair on the other side of the room. When we went out the following day and all the subsequent days of our stay, we would come back around 2.30, 3.00pm thinking we could have a swim and a snooze before thinking about dinner, but sadly the room was never serviced before 3.00 - 4.30pm. No afternoon naps for us. Instead, we watched TV whilst waiting for the service staff to knock on the door. And I notice another reviewer said they used the hotel shuttle to go into town but when we rang the office to find out what time the shuttle left, we were told there wasn't one! Four mornings walking into Wanaka township and one expensive taxi ride back on the day we just couldn't face walking anymore. Oh well, we needed the exercise.
A relaxed snow-boarding type of vibe has rubbed off on the staff and I congratulate them for remaining cheerful when things were less than perfect. On our last day there we decided to take a final relaxing hot-swim but noticed the pools (including the tubs that were available) were decidedly tepid. On getting out and telling the staff it was too cold for us, they realized they hadn't turned the heating on.
Overall this place has so much going for it but it's such a shame it's being let down by the details.

  • Liked — Attractive decor and outdoor pools
  • Disliked — Poor attention to details that make things comfortable and relaxing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

Wow this property was amazing in a stunning mountain setting and spread out which makes all the difference. We had great food int he restaurant and the cafe down by the pool. Had many soaks in the pools. It was about 20 minutes walk to Wanaka town centre (picturesque though so not complaining!). We also utilised their free shuttle service (they take guests any time) to go to town on one day. Best of all there's a rock climbing centre right next door so when the kids have had enough of the mountains or the swimming pools (not likely!) there's rock climbing! One of the best places we have stayed in a beautiful part of the world.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

We loved the hot tubs and pools which were great after a days skiing and the big comfortable king size bed with electric blanket.
However we were disappointed with a number of things.
The room and bathroom were very small and lacked facilities and comforts expected in a 'Superior' room, we wondered what a Standard room would be like. We booked 2 rooms as a family with teenagers two months before and were very disappointed that the rooms we were given were in different blocks, staff offered to look into this but no one got back to us. The lack of insulation between rooms and entry doors meant you were woken by people coming to the next rooms. We had one small towel each - with a note saying we had to pay if we wanted another towel for use at the pool etc. The front door let in light from the outside door lights all night which you could not cover - there should be at least a curtain. When I went to call on my daughters in their ground floor room I was concerned with the lack of privacy, I could see one daughter in bed and also her getting up to answer the door, though the clear glass surround on the doors glass panel. My daughter's shower also went cold midway through a shower - this was promptly fixed but should not happen. The cups we used one day were not cleaned or the bench wiped. The restaurant food was good, smallish portions, but very expensive more in keeping with a top Auckland venue than the 'family' style restaurant full of families and young children at the resort. The rooms are very spread out, we were in a far block and the signage at night was not good when driving in and walking to the main area at night.
This is more like a basic motel with a good hot pool area.

  • Liked — Great comfortable bed with electric blanket.
  • Disliked — Lack of facilities and comforts expected in high class hotel accommodation.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

My husband, 2 children (12 & 9 yrs.), & I stayed one night on 25 March at the Oakridge Resort in Lake Wanaka in a one bedroom unit with king-sized bed and a pull-out couch. The overall facilities were nice and the hotel is only about 3 yrs. old. Our kids really enjoyed their two heated pools which were the main "draw" for us since it was the half way point of our 20-day trip and our kids (Hawaii Water Babies) would need to burn off some energy in a pool. This was successful, but we were not informed that we could obtain towels from the cafe by the pool. There was no sign and it was not obvious. So, we went back to our room to retrieve our shower towels for the pool. Later, at dinner, we were told we could have obtained them from the cafe.

The room was the second smallest we experienced in New Zealand (the smallest was at the Windsor Hotel in Christchurch at NZ$180/night) for the most money we paid in any location (NZ$300/night) and the kids had to share the pull-out couch - the only location where the kids didn't get separate beds. The other negative was the non-operational DVD player. My children wanted pizza in the room and to watch one of their DVD movies, but no matter what my husband tried, the player did not work. When we went to report it to the front desk, another guest that was checking out told me not to bother because theirs did not work either. The front desk heard this exchange and chose to ignore the problem instead of finding someone to fix it.

Dinner in the hotel's restaurant (tuna steak for me and filet mignon for my husband) was very good and our server, Carola, was excellent!

Overall, a nice hotel with heated pools for the kids, but I expect a working DVD and better information at check-in about things like pool towels for the money we paid compared to the less expensive places we stayed on our trip with much more spacious accommodations.

  • Liked — Heated Pools
  • Disliked — Small Unit, Non-operational DVD player
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2008

We stayed here for one night on the way from Oamaru to Queenstown. We stayed in a brand new room at the far end of the property.

Likes
- Great new room
- Fantastic pool area - 2 pools and 8 (?) spa pools
- Very quiet, didn't here another guest once
- Friendly staff at reception
- Good food at the restaurant

Dislikes
- Only one dislike, although it's a biggie! We went to the restaurant for dinner and were promptly seated. There were only 2 other tables occupied (one already eating their mains and the others mains arrived shortly after we did), we ordered and waited. And waited and waited for 45 minutes until our entree's arrived. For a nearly empty restaurant this is terrible and not once were we given an update or an apology for the length of time taken. The food was good when it arrived but they got the bill wrong and had to call our room to tell us later in the evening. Even then when we went to check-out the wrong price (different from both we'd been told) was on the final bill!

Overall we liked this property and it definitely has potential but would definitely skip the restaurant and eat in town instead

  • Liked — The new rooms and the pool area
  • Disliked — The terrible service at the restaurant
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Address: corner Cardrona Valley & Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.