We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but a bit far from the town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka to your Saves list
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   corner Cardrona Valley & Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Wanaka
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice place but a bit far from the town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were in Wanaka for New Years and even though I was booking 3 months in advance, most of the hotels were full. Finally found a double room at Oakridge.

Has a lot of resort-like facilities but we were more interested in going out and exploring the town and nearby areas, so didnt use any of them. Hence didnt really turn out value for money for us.

But a good clean place to stay and if you have a car, the town is only a 5-10min drive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and your time taken to leave your comments. Thank for your comments about our facilities and rooms. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    222
    119
    59
    26
See reviews for
131
330
17
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We rented two studio queen rooms for 4 adults for one night. The rooms were very clean and parking was very convenient. Our only view was of the parking lot and units across the way. I would assume that a higher grade of room would offer more of a view. The staff seemed friendly and helpful.

I was a little disappointed because the photos on the website made this resort appear to be a bit more luxurious than it turned out to be. There was a large swimming pool area with a number of hot tub.

From the other reviews, it appears that many of the rooms do have nice balconys and views so if you looking for that you might have to specifically request it or choose a higher priced room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. Thank you for your comments about our housekeeping we pride ourselves on our high standards of room cleanliness. We apologize we did not meet your expectations and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again in maybe one our 2-bedroom apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Arrived in Wanaka on Friday night by accident and as a Accor member we checked and there was rooms available. Had great staff who made up the room but I when I enquired as silver member re internet I was told no go, had noisy neighbours and thought the bar staff was kidding when he not know a basic drink and then when I was taking outside where I came from he tipped the drink into a plastic cup and threw the rest of the drink away.Based on that we did dine there.

Just finished 2.5 half weeks travelling around the South island and stayed in Accor hotels all the way ,all great except this one and we were looking at staying longer here but could not get out quickly enough after a bad night of noisy people, Great location, but it needs some work.

Room Tip: Check it is busy as the walls are thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and your comments will go a long way to improve future guest experience. No glass is prohibited in the pool area for health and safety reasons, we sincerely apologize if this was not explained to you at the time. Once again thank you for your review and we wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Beautiful Resort, Great Staff that were very friendly and helpful. Could not fault anything. Top place A++++++++++ (: We were Recommended by some friends that had a fantastic stay. Will Definitely be back Cheers

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tysnes, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

My partner and I arrived in Wanaka and were informed there was a room booked for us at this hotel. Not knowing what to expect we were very pleasantly surprised to see our 1-bedroom room. With a full kitchen, lounge, dining area, outside area and large ensuite with laundry facilities, this room blew us away. The room, which was on ground level, didn't have a view of the lake, but we could see the mountains. It was quiet and peaceful, and the staff were lovely! The only thing I would've changed is the duration of our stay - with only one night there, we didn't have time to enjoy all the facilities on offer, such as the swimming pools, gym, bar and restaurant. We absolutely loved our stay there though, and will gladly come back to enjoy the lovely Wanaka hospitality again!

Room Tip: If having a view is important to you, go for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your time taken to leave your feedback. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Address: corner Cardrona Valley & Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.