We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Wanaka!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Save Saved
You added Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Cardrona Valley & Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 22 hotels in Wanaka
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Wanaka!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We got a radio promotion special deal wherein we booked the deluxe room, which was really huge, with a private garden, outside sitout, living room space, fully equipped kitchen, washing machine and drying services. The room was absolutely excellent! Higlight of thr trip was the smal hot water pools / tubs around the swimming pool to relax after a full day of adventure. the outside location makes it very peacefull anf offers excellent views of nature.

Room Tip: one should take the fully equipped garden rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and it's great to see our high standards of hospitality were of no exception to your stay. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    174
    99
    50
    23
See reviews for
114
264
15
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Rooms are big and clean. Friendly staff. You can have a decent meal for a reasonable price at the restaurant. The best of this hotel is the spa,many options of treatment from manicure to skin care treatment (try the hot stone massages, its the best I have ever tried!) . And the spa pools and sauna are great options for a relax time after a treatment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We arrived and were placed right at the back of the apartments. Climbing one flight of stair we found a tiny motel room that had an overwhelming smell of chlorine. We discovered mould all along the curtains.

We politely requested a room change and the lady (Laura) was only too willing to oblige. In fact she upgraded us to a gorgeous one bedroom apartment with views.

Thank you for being accommodating and for the unexpected upgrade. Wifi is only free for once only block of up to 30 min during entire stay...

Breakfast was basic but plenty and filling.

Would stay and recommend one bedroom apartments.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your issues raised have been dealt with appropriately and we have also revised our maintenance procedures to prevent future occurrences. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Not far from wanaka in a peaceful spot. View of the mountain was nice. Good size apartment for 6 of us. The only complaint was the sofa bed, not comfortable even for the kids. Staff was great. Got us 2 extra doona for cushioning the springs. Every time we needed something - extra pots, even a heater. They came quickly and was helpful. Thanks. Will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback and your time taken to leave your comments. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Upon arriving we found the room was so tiny - you could not swing a cat in it, faced a car park and had no bath, I was livid and the reception was red faced at my complaints however they did upgrade me to a one bed apartment with was good - thanks Byron, had views of snow capped mountains, a spa bath, and lots of room - they did charge a small additional fee for this but I was happy to pay to be promoted to this level of expectation. The only downside of the room was the sectioned off second room for use as a family unit or rented individually - we had a lovely drunk man singing all night - althou his vocals were good. He fell over several times trying to gain entry through the inter-linking doors. The rooms decor was tired and tacky. Needs a make over and the TV is too small for the room, but it was better then the old analogue tv set in the original tiny room.
The Restaurant waitress was lovely and friendly, the food was average and not up to the price paid for it, frozen seafood in a chowder does not make me happy.
Was disappointed that there was no Fireplace as advertised on their website and brochure - the reason I booked in the first place and the Name 'Grand Mecure' however the fireplace was no more - for over a year - so why still show in brochure - false advertising.
Another annoyance was the 2 mile trek into town if you dont have a car so its a taxi at $12 every time. There was no bus provided by the hotel which I thought was poor.
The grounds are ordinary and really this place for skiers who want to lavish in the heated pools after a day on the ski fields. Wont go back here.

Room Tip: upgrade to apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and apologize we did not meet your expectations. Your comments go a long way to improve future guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Oakridge is in a beautiful part of the world. Great grounds and facilities. My room was upstairs in a 4 unit block. Small room and bathroom. Heavy main doors that if not closed gently was quite a slam. The guest in the room next door always slammed the door.

Old CRT TV which for a relatively new hotel was like they ran out of money to get flat screens. Great views over the hills. Really need a car as hotel is a few km's from Wanaka for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and your comments go a long way to improve future guest experience. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Booked a two bedroom apartment through Intervalworld as a base for skiing. Friendly staff and we had a good meal in the restaurant. Well equipped kitchen with washing machine and tumble dryer. Kept warm by the gas fire. Apartments are not serviced, which would have been nice. Views would have been spectacular except we had another row of apartments directly in front of us. The only real negative is that the resort is located just outside of Wanaka, although we did walk into town one evening. Wanaka is the most beautiful town with a great vibe. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Rooms are serviced daily when staying with Williams Hotels Oakridge resort and unfortunately your booking was made though Accor vacation Club and as such rooms are serviced on departure only. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Address: Corner Cardrona Valley & Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wanaka
#11 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.