We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Cardrona Valley & Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bathrooms apartment which was spacious, with a well equipped kitchen dishwasher, oven etc and washer/drier. The apartment was on the ground floor with a patio and grassy area. We had a view of the mountains just -between 2 buildings. Plenty of parking and you really do need a car as the hotel is a good 20mjn walk to the town. the nearest supermarket was in town. we enjoyed the pools.The restaurant at the hotel is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays. We did have breakfast once but I thought it was not up to the usual Grand Mercure standard.
We self catered during our stay. Would stay again but would request an upstairs apartment as you are very aware of the people walking around. The staff were friendly and helpful.



Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    189
    108
    54
    23
See reviews for
123
282
17
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Bright, refreshing, clean, homey, modern appliances, comfortable cosy bed, TV in bedroom and lounge and included a washing machine & dryer which is exactly what we needed half way through our trip. Hot swimming pool was nice, however the hot tubs had dead flies & mosquitoes in there so we couldnt use that but our apartment made up for it! We also had spectacular mountain views and the opportunity to sit outside & admire the view. Wish i could have stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burrum Heads
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked a one bedroom apartment through the Accor Premier Vacation Club and were totally disappointed with the complex. The entry to our apartment had not seen the right side of a broom for some considerable time. The bedroom had breakfast cereal on the carpet, the king bed was not suited to the room as one could not fully access the wardrobe. It would have been more practical for the room size to have a queen bed. The picture above the head end of the bed made it very uncomfortable to sit up in bed. We had to perform a complete clean of the kitchen before we would use it. The filters on the range hood require replacement as when cooking, they simply recirculated the fumes into the room and set off the smoke alarm and in turn the evacuation announcement for the entire block. Same happened the next day to the couple in the apartment above us. The tops of the fridge and microwave had obviously not been cleaned in a long time. More cereal under the dining table and food crumbs under the coffee table and under the sofa. The privacy curtains in the lounge had mould on the hems and not broom/vacuum was provided in the room. The bathroom had grunge in the exterior corners of the shower screen and behind the bathroom door. The shower was nothing short of disgusting with copious mould in the grout. I had to borrow a broom form reception to sweep the entry area and the apartment floor for myself. When reporting this to the receptions staff I was told that "we are not responsible for the cleaning as it is contracted out. However, if you want to come back around noon you fill out a maintenance request sheet". Unbelievable! What is the managements job if not to monitor the cleanliness of their resort. the TV was ancient but the kitchen facilities once cleaned were good. Modern Fridge, cook-top, oven and microwave but the dishwasher was very noisy. the highlight of the resort was the hot pools area - fantastic.
Be aware that you are quite some distance from the facilities of Wanaka. One delight within walking distance was Rosy's Bar and Cinema - a real treat to avail yourselves of.

Room Tip: If you do decide to go here, make absolutely sure you view your room before checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Overall, really enjoyable. A couple of new staff on, who were coming up to speed with the Advantage Plus System.
Downstairs room was noisy with other guests banging communual entry doors and cloncking around in the upstairs rooms at all hours of the night.
TV receprion was crap, to put in midly.
Facilities are excellent, hot pools, bar, resturant and the people.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here during our honeymoon in May 2012. We were on a self drive trip and had been booking our next accommodation from each location.
Grand Mercure did not disappoint! It was reasonably priced and our unit was modern, very well equipped and clean, great kitchen and a fabulously comfortable bed.
A few small things that reduced the review from excellent:
The lack of fly screens on the windows meant we had regular visits from friendly bugs.
The TV mounted on the angled wall in the bedroom pointed away from the bed (not sure where you are intended to view it from) and it wasn't wired in anyway so it didn't work.
A surprise repairman let himself in one afternoon with no warning. Potentially embarrassing for honey- mooners; we were making lunch at the time.

Note to newly weds too: Don't expect a fuss to be made of you, or even an acknowledgement that this is your honeymoon. Unlike Asia, the US and the rest of the South Pacific, it just doesn't seem to be part of the NZ Hospitality Industry service culture.

Aside from these minor things, this was definitely our favourite place to stay on the NZ South Island and we will definitely be back! Loved every moment of staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit upstairs in the wing down the front, closest to town and you will be away from everyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were not impressed with this hotel...one of the most expensive in town... over $200 NZD.....thought it would be special. We were "upgraded" to a newer wing....a nice gesture. The bed was fantastic for sure...but nothing special about the room. Nicely redone bathroom but the shower door was hung improperly and was worried it would break. Dinner was great..although too pricey....breaksfast..so..so. Not worth the cost for sure. I would go somewhere else in twon. Had to ask repeatedly for coffee. Dry museli? That was a first on the trip. Not our worst hotel in New Zealand....and certainly not the best.

Room Tip: Try another place and save some money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Address: Corner Cardrona Valley & Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.