We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka to your Saves list
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   corner Cardrona Valley & Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Wanaka
Surrey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Super hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

A mile or so out of town the hotel looks over the lake and mountains.
We had great room with views which was spacious and comfortable and had a balcony. The hotel restaurant is a good one and there are pool and spa facilities. The whole place was designed to make the best of the location with restaurant and pool terraces. This was one of our favourite hotels.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    222
    119
    59
    26
See reviews for
131
330
17
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
243 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

Spent a wonderful 4 nights in the one-bedroom apartment, and had an absolutely brilliant time. The apt was spacious and very comfortable, while the king bed was heaven on earth! Found the kitchenette very handy, and loved the views over the southern alps. Best part, however, would have to be the hot pools (great after a hike up the Rob Roy glacier!). Would really recommend the one-bedroom apartment to couples wanting a relaxing, romantic holiday.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilSood, General Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, August 6, 2007
Dear Sir/ Madam,
I am delighted to read your review and thank you for the patronage extended.

It is so blissful to have customers respond positively about our product and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us.
Kind regards,

Anil Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

We booked this as we though it sounded a perfect place to spend a few days of our honeymoon – how wrong!
It is NOT quite and relaxing, it is FULL of children running around!!
We arrived to find a large group of 6 – 14 year olds on a school trip making a huge amount of noise and running and jumping in and out of every single pool, whilst in the restaurant where their teachers an extremely rowdy bunch of about 25 people. We were ready to walk back out the door but we were assured by the receptionist that this is not usually the case that it was the last day of school and that they would be gone soon, about 2 hours later things had quietened down – mostly.
We paid $372NZD for 2 nights and that did not include breakfast.
We were given a small bungalow type room – resort deluxe king is what it was described as, it wasn’t.
We were right next door to the kitchen and could hear every single noise coming from next door. We were woken up when the kitchen started for breakfast which is not what you want on your honeymoon! Also people from the restaurant could see right into our room so we had to keep the curtains pulled.
They advertise a Whirlpool in your bathroom, this was the worst effort of a whirlpool ever.
The pools are really nice when you finally get to use them (they are open to the public during the day and groups of kids/teenagers do make use of them), so its usually late in the evening by the time you get some quite time at the pool with just the other guests, however they do tend to close down half of the pools in the evening.
Overall I would not recommend this for a quite relaxing break for adults and luxury it is not.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilSood, Genral Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, August 6, 2007
Dear Sir/ Madam,
We thank you for your patronage extended to Oakridge Resort Grand Mercure !

I understand from your recent stay with us that there have been few areas where delivering of a kind of service expected from a good hotel has not been accomplished by us. I apologize for that in totality.

Wanaka is a great town but has its ups and down times. I am sorry that at the time you traveled and stayed with us, we were running in very busy times. This resulted in kids being there. In order to offset the pressure, if this makes any difference to the way you have perceived us, we are adding 02 more full length heated pools.

It will surely extend a little more space to our valued clients.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us.
Kind regards,

Anil Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2007

We stayed for 3 nights over New Year and had a large studio, clean, modern, good facilties, bit small, bed too near kitchen area, also terrace area. Hot tubs small and too many people, thought it was going to be a real pool! Had a superb New Year's Eve dinner in the restaurant. It's a bit motelish and on the road, out of town, not v good without a hire car but in the end we thought we'd stayed at the best place. Staff and reception v friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — modern, facilities
  • Disliked — bit small
  • Tips/Secrets — check location of room
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilSood, General Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, August 6, 2007
Dear Sir/ Madam,
I am delighted to read your review and thank you for the patronage extended.

It is so blissful to have customers respond positively about our product and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us.
Kind regards,

Anil Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2006

Just spent three nights here and really enjoyed it, got a deal for $120 per night on the web which was excellent value for money. Had the basic room, which another TA reviewer thought was tiny - but it was an average sized hotel room and fine if you are eating out. The brasserie foor was delicious and a lovely atmosphere, and the pool area great for relaxing, good service all round and can't fault it at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilSood, General Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, August 6, 2007
Dear Sir/ Madam,
I am delighted to read your review and thank you for the patronage extended.

It is so blissful to have customers respond positively about our product and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us.
Kind regards,

Anil Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2006

We stayed at the the Oakridge for Christmas, just gone-
we booked it from the internet-I have to say we found the room just like a holiday inn. We were expecting a total relaxing break. too many children for us, the hot pools were nice but it was hard find a quiet time. The whole idea of "resort" in our book wasn't Oakridge!!!
jackie&yuri
Holland

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilSood, General Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, August 6, 2007
Dear Sir/ Madam,
We thank you for your patronage extended to Oakridge Resort Grand Mercure !

I understand from your recent stay with us that there have been few areas where delivering of a kind of service expected from a good hotel has not been accomplished by us. I apologize for that in totality.

Wanaka is a great town but has its ups and down times. I am sorry that at the time you traveled and stayed with us, we were running in very busy times. This resulted in kids being there. In order to offset the pressure, if this makes any difference to the way you have perceived us, we are adding 02 more full length heated pools.

Oakridge has undergone hosts of changes in the last six months. We are adding another 112 rooms and apartments making a total of 189 rooms. This will allow us to extend better and newer rooms. Excepting the 08 old rooms the whole resort is virtually new. I encourage you to try us the next time and your observation may change completely.

It will surely extend a little more space to our valued clients.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us.
Kind regards,

Anil Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2006

Stayed at the Oakridge for 2 nights and it's a great hotel, we had a deluxe room with spa bath with a view of the stunning snow capped mountains. We were a bit worried that it's outside the town - about 3kms - but both nights we were driven courtesy of the hotel in to the town centre and had no problem getting a taxi home. Staff are friendly and helpful and had a lovely massage after lounging around in the outdoor hot tubs and pools - bliss. Didn't try the restaurant but the menu looked good, though generally the standard of food everywhere we went was high. Would love to go back in ski season as the lounge has a huge open fireplace which would be perfect after being out on the slopes.
Also recommend the skydive at Skydive Wanaka, nerve-wrecking but totally exhilarating and the scenery is unbeatable.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilSood, General Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, August 6, 2007
Dear Sir/ Madam,
I am delighted to read your review and thank you for the patronage extended.

It is so blissful to have customers respond positively about our product and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us.
Kind regards,

Anil Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Address: corner Cardrona Valley & Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.