We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Douglas will look after you!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages to your Saves list
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 54 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Douglas will look after you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is a great place if you are looking for something small, cosy and intimate. The rooms are welcoming, clean and comfy. The lounge with its TV and refreshments in an oasis away from the hustle of outside. They have a couple of self-catering units which look good. The outdoor spa was enjoyed greatly by some other guests children. Carol, your host, will do all she can to make you visit excellent. Failing this you can always talk to Douglas!

Room Tip: You have either a 10 minute walk or s short drive to get to the centre of Wanaka.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    31
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
143
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed in the lodge (2 couples, 2 rooms) and it was lovely. The hosts and Douglas the dog were very sweet- they were helpful and happy to have a chat without being too in your face. Perfect.
Breakfast was great and a nice opportunity to meet other guests.
There was a lovely lounge with fireplace that was perfect for a quiet night cap. They also had some DVDs, books and magazines.
Rooms were clean with their own bathrooms. Sweet decor and gorgeous views. Very fresh air.
It was a little walk along the lake to get to the main shops etc, but not too far or expensive in a cab. Plus it was a lovely park along the lake with beautiful views so very pleasant.
They had a small communal fridge that you were able to stash a few things in.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The majority of the motels we had stayed in during our trip were of a very high standard. However, we thought they couldn't get any better until we arrived at Wanaka Homestead. We hired a cottage for 5 people (2 couples and 1 single person) . When we arrived we were shown to our cottage by Carol, the owner. She gave us an extra room for the other couple, which was part of the attached bed and breakfast, to make us more comfortable.. The facilities were excellent and in a beautiful location. The town was about 15/20 minutes walk, with good places to eat.
To summarise, first class accommodation, clean, comfortable, beautiful location close to the lake, welcoming owner and cute dog, Douglas, who paid us regular visits.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I spent one night on the way from Milford Sound to the glacier towns. Not right in town, but it was a quick drive to get there and would be a fairly easy walk. We were the only guests the night we were there, and Carol (and Douglas the dog) could not have been more friendly and hospitable. Free wifi and laundry facilities were a definite bonus, as was the lovely lodge area with the warm fire and comfy sofas. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Given all the amenities, it also was surprisingly affordable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Myself, my girlfriend and family stayed at Wanaka Homestead for 3 nights and thought it was fantastic.
The room we were given included a twin room, en-suite double room, living room/ kitchen/ dining area and a bathroom. All of the facilities were in fine working order and trouble free.
The highlight though was that me and my girlfriend were given a double en-suite room to ourselves as the owner felt we would be too cramped in the other room together which was a fantastic surprise and for no extra cost.
On top of all this there was free unlimited internet and a hot tub outside that is free to use all year round. There are also laundry facilities available.
The location of the Homestead is not bad, it is only a 5 minutes walk or so into town and is quite nice after eating the huge portions you're served in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Spent one night here when travelling around south island. On arrival had a warm welcome from the owner and a tour of the premises. Room was comfortable and well appointed, odge facilities were great, including the outside hot tub, and breakfast was excellent

Conveniently located far enough outside town to be quiet but close enough to be in easy walking distance of the centre the Homestead is highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights in April 2012, after two nights in the Glacier region and before our five days in Queenstown. Wanaka itself is delightful, and staying at the Homestead made it even better. Our room was lovely and comfortable, Douglas the dog was adorable and comforted us since we were missing our own dog, and the hosts and other guests were so nice! We loved our conversations over (the delicious) breakfast, and got excellent tips on hikes!
We loved staying here and recommend it without any hesitation!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Address: 1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Homestead Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.