We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages to your Saves list
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 54 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Very close to the lake but not actually overlooking it, this is a beautiful purpose built B & B, a 20 minute stroll from the town centre along the lake shore that’s sure to impress. A very warm welcome from the host who ensured we were shown all the facilities. Our ground floor suite opened out through French doors to the delightful garden with outdoor table and chairs adjacent to our room which was nicely furnished in a contemporary style. The en-suite had quality fittings with a great shower although I found the washbasin far too small and strangely there was little room for toiletries etc. The absence of a fridge in the room was also unusual – all minor issues. There is a comprehensive laundry which is included in the tariff, as is Wifi (not used) as well as a number of trail bikes available for guest use. There is a very comfortable lounge and breakfast is around a very large table – ideal for meeting other guests and hearing of others experiences including someone who’d just come back from working in Antarctica. It was wonderfully quiet at night too – perfect. There’s no doubt this is at the top end of B & B’s – an impressive place. The only mistake we made was not to stay longer. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    31
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
143
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sutton
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Just the most beautiful lodge we stayed in during our month tour of NZ!
Charming and most helpful hosts, Ed and Carol. (My daughter and son in law stayed there a few days after us and they lent them their bikes to go riding!)

We only stayed one night but would happily have spent much longer!

Big thanks to Ed and Carol from not just me but my daughter Kate and her husband Nick too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I cannot tell you enough how beautiful this place is. The owners are extremely friendly and super nice! we were in the 2 bedroom cottage with my parents from Italy,and I can tell you that they were EXTREMELY IMPRESSED, not only by the cottage itself, but by the bed linen, services available, friendliness etc.
I will definitely recommend this to anyone and I will surely be back with my partner.
Thank you,
Francesca & Matt

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

What a great find!! a truly superb b&b with the most wonderful hosts. Ed and Carol really have got it right, a beautiful property with lovely spacious bedrooms, excellent bathrooms (ours had a double shower) and a lovely, relaxing guest lounge and dining room. There are so many extras free of charge including unlimited tea/coffee/cookies you can help yourself to any time of day, a hot tub, bbq, laundry room and bikes for your use. Breakfasts are fresh, delicious and plentiful. I musn't forget a mention for Douglas, their border terrier, what a delightful little character! The walk into the main part of town along the lake is beautiful it takes around 10-15 mins. Lake Wanaka is a great town we loved it, lots of really nice restaurants and cafe's it has a wonderful, relaxed feel to it.
We chose to spend my 50th birthday here with friends and what a great decision I had the most lovely, memorable day with a generous gift of bubbly from Ed and Carol, loan of their bikes for a cycle round the lake to Rippon Vineyard (well worth a trip to) use of the hot tub and use of the bbq for dinner that evening. Nothing was to much trouble for them, they supplied plates, cutlery, olive oil etc for us to use and we even used their outdoor fireplace.
Ed and Carol's relaxed, friendly manner along with such a beautiful, well kept property in a great location made this our favourite stay out of a six week holiday in New Zealand. It's the best b&b i've stayed in anywhere in the world, and I would love to stay here again. Thank you so much Ed and Carol for a wonderful stay, next time we'll stay longer than three nights!.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate just book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed two nights and really thought it was a lovely B&B. Ed and Carol were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed having the bikes to ride and all the facilities that were on offer. We did use the hot tub (which we must admit we wished was a bit hotter). The room itself was very, very good, spacious and with a very comfortable king bed. To be really spoilt it would have been great to have airconditioning as we got quite hot through the night (although we did find the fan in the cupboard). Overall excellent accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

The town of Wanaka sits on a lake and is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the South Island. The Wanaka Homestead is a lovely B&B with the most gracious hosts. Absolutely a great choice for anyone traveling throught the area

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed at the Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages as a family group and we really did have the best of both worlds.

The larger of our group were in the three bedroom cottage and another couple of us stayed in the main lodge. The accommodations in both the cottages and the Lodge are excellent. The Homestead is in a lovely spot straight across the road from a neighbouring park which has lovely grounds and swings which the kids could go over and play around in. It is a short walk through the park down to a lovely swimming spot in the lake.

Ed and Carol made us feel very welcome and the children loved playing with their awesome dog - Director of Public Relations - Douglas. I cannot recommend the Homestead highly enough. Free wi-fi internet, hot tub, free laundry facilities, BBQ and mountain bikes made this a wonderful experience for our families.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Address: 1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Homestead Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.