We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, good value Korean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shinaburo Korean Eating House

Shinaburo Korean Eating House
34 Ardmore st, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
+64 4431777
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 65 Restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: One and only casual Korean cuisine in Wanaka. Korean food is becoming most popular choice of meal worldwide since it is recognised as "healthy", "nourishing", and yet "fun and tasty". The irresistible flavours will certainly grab your SEOUL!
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent, good value Korean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We visited the restaurant in late December when on holiday. Had a good meal, combination of a couple of different starters and a couple of mains, food was tasty and decent portion size, plus prices are very reasonable. The staff were great and very friendly and the place has a nice atmosphere. We took a bottle of our own wine as they allow BYO. Would recommend it to anyone looking for something a little different, in a central location.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Finally a Korean in Wanaka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I love my BiBimBab and finally there is a place in Wanaka that does good Korean food. Lunch dishes at $9.50 are a bargain in this expensive town.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What a gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We visit Wanaka annually and enjoy meals out; there are several good lunch spots, takeaways and smart restaurantsin the area. This year provided a bonus; the newly opened korean restaurant. the food was delicious, service exemplary and we just couldn't find enough days in the holiday to go any more!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Mah Sit Sso Yo (Delicious)!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We arrived in Wanaka hungry and tired in the evening. Though western food in NZ is generally good, we've been having it for several days. So we were hankering for warm Asian fare and decided to give Shinaburo a try. There was only a Caucasian couple dining when we poked our head through the door. Nevertheless we were undeterred.

As the previous reviewer said, the hostesses were very warm and friendly. And I liked that the restaurant is 1 level above the street. I don't know why but it works for me. The place is simply decorated, but more importantly the food was good. 3 of us had bibimbhap, Ginseng chicken soup, a bento set with cold noodles (can't recall the name). We spied the lone couple having fried noodle and decided to add that to our table. We left the Shinaburo happy and contented.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Friendly hostess. Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was our first "experience" of Korean food: there is no Korean restaurant in our city and as we are always keen to try something different, Shinaburo was our choice this midweek evening while we were in Wanaka on holiday. We received a very friendly and warm welcome from Monica. As we were the only diners in at the time, she spent some time with us explaining how she came to be operating a restaurant in Wanaka and some of the finer points of Korean food. I settled for a dosirak meal which looks similar to a Japanese bento box meal, and which contained a wide variety of traditional Korean dishes.
Vanessa had a dish called bibimbop which was a bowl of rice with minced beef, spicy mixed vegetables and came with a fried egg on top.
After ordering our mains Monica came out with 2 side dishes (gratis) as entrees: a seaweed salad and some spicy pieces of melt in your mouth squid. Thanks very much Monica.
The food was very tasty. Service was friendly without being overbearing. An enjoyable dining experience

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shinaburo Korean Eating House also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Shinaburo Korean Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shinaburo Korean Eating House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.