We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Speights Ale House Wanaka

Speights Ale House Wanaka
93 Ardmore Street, Wanaka, New Zealand
03-443 5459
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 63 Restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: The Wanaka Speights Ale House is situated on Ardmore Street next to Bullock Creek and across the road from Lake Wanaka. The outdoor decks afford all day sun with a picturesque view of the lake. Indoor/Outdoor dining is available with a wide variety of gastromeals on the menu.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Food, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Came here to catch up with friends from overseas. Service was quick and efficient and our food and drinks arrived quickly. The servings were on the large side, but not ridiculously so. The food is very nice but not overly memorable, although my friends raved about the arancini balls. I had the beef ragout pie and it reminded me of a hearty home cooked meal. Being peak ski season and school holidays it was pretty packed when we arrived before 6pm, and there was not much room between tables. Still, we had six people at our table, including a highchair. Nice selection of drinks on tap (Speights of course). Overall pretty good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Winter time is certainly busy within the Wanaka Speights Ale House - so we are glad you were able to be seated and served promptly. The Arancini balls have certainly been a hit with diners since they were added to the menu. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Wanaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    74
    25
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Shank heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great bar with our kids for a meal and beer after skiing...I had the calamari starter ann Lamb shank main.....great beers on tap and great feel

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. The lamb shanks certainly do go down a treat after a day on the slopes. we are glad you and your family enjoyed dining at the Wanaka Speights Ale House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Large serves but not cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Speights Ale House is reminiscent of the taverns that used to be popular in Australia a few decades ago. Big, open dining areas, plenty of noise, hearty serves from the grill, plenty of beer and wine options. However, it's not romantic (or even peaceful) and it's not cheap.

The food was well cooked and very tasty, the serving sizes were quite large and the beer was good. Prices are around the $35 mark for a main course (evening meal) and I'd expect a "fine dining" experience for that sort of money when you can get a main course for $25 in most other restaurants.

Still, it was a good meal and, if you're looking for that "tavern-style" dinner that brings back memories of your younger days, then this might be what you're after.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for feedback. To address your comments on pricing - we feel our pricing is very reasonable and fair. Your comment of main meals costing $35 is incorrect. We have 1 dish only at that price which is a Fillet of Beef - which you would struggle to find anywhere for less. We pride ourselves in the quality of the meals, service and the surroundings inside and out. Hope you enjoy the rest of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradisical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

There are few places I've been to where I've eaten and drank this well and had such an incredible view. The whole town of Wanaka is a delight and as a Brit, I was pleasantly surprised by Speights Ales. If you're in town for a couple of days, you should definitely visit here at least once, we ended up eating here almost every night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the Wanaka Speights Ale House over a period of evenings and the rest of Wanaka also - and hope the sun shone on all the days you were in town. Enjoy our chilly winter ....as you will be off home to a lovely warm climate....safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average Pub Meals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

If you wanna go for a pub meal it's kind of alright but still pricey. Mind you this town is full of tourists so the prices are everywhere up there. Service was really good and we were nicely looked after. Salad as side dish is very poor - tasteless with no or maybe little dressing. What is beyond me are the oblong small plates which makes it hard to cut your meat on the plate and also by the time you are half trough you meal your fries are already soaked in sauce and quite soggy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback. Our kitchen staff take an incredible amount of pride in the food that leaves the kitchen. However your comments have been passed over to our Kitchen staff. We feel our prices are fair and reasonable - we do not put up our prices because of as I quote yourself "Mind you this town is full of tourists so the prices are everywhere up there." We are a town of locals too - who enjoy coming to the Wanaka Speights Ale House just as much as a visitor into town. I hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Wanaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speights Ale House Wanaka also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Speights Ale House Wanaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.