We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francesca's Italian Kitchen

Francesca's Italian Kitchen
93 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
+64 3-443 5599
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Excellent, affordable Italian food with a vibrant atmosphere and a real wood fired pizza oven. Lunch served from 12.00 Pm to 3 pm. Dinner served from 5.00 Pm to late. Bookings essential for dinner. Good for families and groups. We accept Cash, Eftpos, Visa, Mastercard and American Express only. Gift Vouchers available. No wifi. Open seven days a week. RESERVATIONS BY TELEPHONE ONLY PLEASE. PLEASE DO NOT EMAIL FOR A RESERVATION.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

amazing service, lovely staff helped me pick a bottle of wine for our friends who were celebtating their birthday there, thank you guys you were amazing.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi there, Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm so glad you enjoyed everything. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    97
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

What a memorable meal! All 6 of us had wonderful wine, food and service. Still talking about the food well over a week later. Can't recommend highly enough.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm so glad you all had a memorable evening. We hope to see you again soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The pizza was good, but rather small for the price. This is however a trend in all of the restaurants in Wanaka around this area which seem to have increased prices for a tourist market.? ... compared to some other places close by Francesca's is good value for money.

It is a very pleasant location, and the staff are friendly and efficient and all of the food was good quality.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi there, I'm glad you enjoyed dining with us. We do aim to keep our prices low, with nothing on the menu over $30, so that the locals as well as the tourists can dine with us frequently and enjoy our food. We do not increase our prices during the busy seasons as we do not want to alienate our very loyal local customers or rip off the tourists who contribute to our local economy. We offer the same reasonable prices and good quality food for everyone at any time of the year. Thank you for your review. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Italian food with a difference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Good food from a menu that was out of the ordinary. Try the polenta fries and the potato skins. They do a great coffee cocktail as an alternative to dessert.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi there, Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed dining with us. The espresso martini was put on the menu for that purpose - for those that want a little something sweet but don't feel like a dessert. It works very well and is delicious too. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pizza & Bruchetta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Called for the bruchetta and the polenta fries to begin with. The bruchetta was unusual as it did not have any tomatoes on it but mushrooms and must say it was just too good. The Polenta fries were also very nice but very filling. You would notice the Polenta fries being ordered on every table. Then we ordered a vegetarian pasta which was a little bland for the Indian taste buds. The Pizza on the other hand was nice, juicy and well done. Even the garlic bread (garlic baked on a pizza base) was nice.
All in all a good meal for us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi there, Thanks for your kind review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your food. As a side note, you can put any topping you like on bruschetta. It does not just have to be tomatoes :) Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francesca's Italian Kitchen also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Francesca's Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francesca's Italian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.